Common menu bar links

2013 Fees Proposal

Frequently Asked Questions about proposed canal fees

Q1. When does the fee freeze for lockage take effect?
The fee frees applies to recreational lockage fees. For pleasure boaters, these fees would have increased in 2014. The freeze will now apply to fees for 2014 to 2016 as well.

Q2. Will freezing fees result in service reduction?
We are calling on community leaders and the tourism industry to collaboratively work with us to explore new opportunities to ensure the long term financial sustainability of the canals' operations. Parks Canada is already considering new visitor opportunities that will benefit a broad range of canal users, and create new sources of revenue.

Q3. What are the changes to the 2013 canal schedule?
For the canals 2013 navigation season, Parks Canada will align its hours of operation and service offer to better reflect patterns of use. Parks Canada will continue providing "upon arrival" services throughout the peak summer period, and offer a modified service seven days a week through scheduled lockages in the spring and fall period. In order to support the government in its deficit reducing efforts, the hours of operation through the navigation season will be reduced, offering between seven and nine hours of service per day, aligned with demand.

Q4. When will the new fee structure for mooring go into effect?
Mooring fees will increase after all approval processes are complete. Current fees will remain in effect until that time. Seasonal mooring passes for 2013 continue to remain available for purchase at the current fee and will be honoured throughout the season.

Q5. How did PC come up with the revised pricing structure for mooring?
Since the launch of national fee consultations Parks Canada carefully reviewed feedback from Canadians and subsequently began the reassessment of all information with the consideration that the day mooring fee be reinstated at national parks and a new day mooring fee be created at canals. It was also considered that the overnight mooring fee be lower than the original proposal and the seasonal pass be reinstated but at rates that represented higher multiples of previous single overnight costs. The proposed fee is consistent with the amount charged by other providers of similar services on the canals.

Q6. Why has Parks Canada proposed adjustments to user fees for mooring that are higher than the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?
After completing comparative market research, it became clear that Parks Canada national mooring services are currently undervalued with regard to the market and costs and need to be adjusted beyond the CPI to ensure sustainability of the offer and to stop providing an unfair competitive environment for private and municipal providers of the same service.

Q7. How much will a seasonal pass for mooring cost?
A seasonal pass for mooring is again being proposed where those mooring more than 16 nights will be getting their additional mooring for free. For a season pass for mooring, it has been valued at $20.00 a foot. This means that a 25 foot boat will have unlimited mooring at spectacular world class locations along Canada's historic canals, and in national parks which offer boat moorage, for the entire season for just $500. Nowhere else in Canada can you moor your boat at such amazing locations for $125 per month.

Q8. What comparisons were made for the proposed mooring fees?
Mooring offered by Parks Canada is at a service level comparable to many mooring services near Parks Canada locations along the canals or close to national parks. Depending on the location, private moorings might offer additional services at additional costs. Above and beyond the facilities found in the majority of mooring sites at Parks Canada locations, Parks Canada offers a unique experience for visitors at mooring locations that connect the visitor with the beauty of incredible natural surroundings or the history of a national historic site. Parks Canada considered comparisons with both public and private marinas and docking facilities.

Mooring at Parks Canada locations is often convenient as mooring is a contiguous portion of the canal or national park experience, with facilities often located right at lockstations for easy access and departure to the next destination.

Q9. What is the proposed cost for daytime mooring?
The current fee is $0.40 per foot at national parks, and the proposed fee at all Parks Canada locations along canals and in national parks is $0.50 per foot.

For a 25 foot boat, the cost for daytime mooring would be $12.50. There will be an end of day cut-off time determined at each location when the boater will have to leave the mooring facility.

Q10. What is the proposed cost for overnight mooring?
The current fee is $0.90 per foot and the proposed fee at all Parks Canada locations along canals and in national parks is $1.25 (2.5 times the daytime rate of $0.50).

For a 25 foot boat, the proposed cost for overnight mooring would be $31.25. This is an increase of just $8.75 per night.

Q11. What is the proposed cost for a seasonal pass for mooring?
Using the multiple of 16 times the overnight rate ($1.25), the proposed fee is $20.00/ft, for a 25 foot boat, a seasonal pass will cost $500, an average of $125/month for unlimited mooring in any Parks Canada location.

Proposition de droits pour 2013

FAQ au sujet des consultations concernant les droits en vigueur sur les canaux

Q1. Quand le gel des droits d'éclusage entrera-t-il en vigueur?
Le gel des droits s'applique aux droits d'éclusage imposés aux bateaux de plaisance. Pour les plaisanciers, ces droits auraient augmenté en 2014. Cependant, le gel s'appliquera maintenant aux droits de 2014 à 2016 également.

Q2. Le gel des droits résultera-t-il en une réduction de service?
Nous invitons les dirigeants de la communauté et de l'industrie du tourisme à collaborer avec nous pour explorer de nouvelles possibilités pour assurer la viabilité financière à long terme des opérations des canaux. Parcs Canada envisage déjà de nouvelles possibilités destinées aux visiteurs qui profiteront d'une vaste gamme d'utilisateurs des canaux, et qui créeront de nouvelles sources de revenus.

Q3. Quels sont les changements à l'horaire des canaux en 2013?
Pour la saison de navigation des canaux de 2013, Parcs Canada adaptera ses heures d'ouverture et son offre de services pour mieux refléter les profils d'utilisation. Parcs Canada continuera à offrir des services « à l'arrivée » tout au long de la période estivale, et offrira un horaire d'éclusage modifié sept jours par semaine par pendant le printemps et l'automne. Dans le cadre de soutenir les efforts visant à réduire le déficit gouvernemental, les heures d'ouverture pendant la saison de navigation seront réduites, offrant entre sept et neuf heures de service par jour, selon la demande.   

Q4. Quand la nouvelle structure tarifaire pour l'amarrageentrera-t-elle en vigueur?
Les droits d'amarrage augmenteront après que tous les processus d'approbation seront achevés. Les droits actuels demeurent en vigueur jusqu'à ce moment. Les permis saisonniers pour l'amarrage pour 2013 demeurent disponibles en achat au prix actuel et seront honorés tout au long de la saison.

Q5. Comment l'Agence Parcs Canada en est-elle venue à proposer la structure de prix révisée pour l'amarrage?
Depuis le lancement des consultations nationales sur les droits, Parcs Canada a soigneusement examiné les commentaires formulés par la population canadienne, puis a procédé au réexamen de toutes les données en tenant compte du rétablissement des droits d'amarrage quotidiens dans les parcs nationaux, ainsi que la création de nouveaux droits d'amarrage quotidiens pour les canaux. De même, nous avons envisagé de réduire les droits d'amarrage de nuit par rapport à la proposition initiale et de rétablir le laissez-passer saisonnier, mais à des taux calculés avec des multiples plus élevés qu'auparavant pour une nuit d'amarrage. Les droits proposés sont conformes au montant facturé par d'autres fournisseurs de services semblables sur les canaux.

Q6. Pourquoi Parcs Canada a-t-elle proposé des rajustements des droits d'utilisation pour l'amarrage qui sont plus élevés que l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)?
Après avoir réalisé une étude de marché comparative, il est devenu évident que les droits des services d'amarrage de Parcs Canada au pays sont actuellement inférieurs à ceux du marché et à d'autres coûts et doivent être ajustés au-delà de l'IPC pour assurer la durabilité des services et cesser une concurrence déloyale envers les fournisseurs privés et municipaux du même service.

Q7. Combien coûtera un laissez-passer saisonnier pour l'amarrage?
Un laissez-passer saisonnier pour l'amarrage est proposé de nouveau : l'amarrage de nuit sera gratuit après 16 nuits. Le laissez-passer saisonnier pour l'amarrage est évalué à 20,00 $ le pied. Cela signifie que les possibilités d'amarrage d'un bateau de 25 pieds seront illimitées dans les endroits spectaculaires de renommée internationale le long des canaux historiques du Canada, ainsi que dans les parcs nationaux offrant l'amarrage de bateaux, pendant toute la saison à compter de seulement 500 $. Nulle part ailleurs au Canada, vous ne pourrez amarrer votre bateau à des endroits aussi incroyables pour 125 $ par mois.

Q8. Quelles comparaisons ont été faites pourl'établissement des droits d'amarrage proposés?
Le service d'amarrage offert par Parcs Canada correspond à un niveau de service comparable à celui de nombreux services d'amarrage près des lieux administrés par l'Agence le long des canaux ou près des parcs nationaux. Selon l'endroit, les services d'amarrage privés peuvent englober des services supplémentaires moyennant des frais supplémentaires. Au-delà des installations se trouvant à la majorité des lieux d'amarrage dans les lieux administrés par Parcs Canada, nous offrons une expérience unique aux plaisanciers leur permettant d'admirer la beauté incroyable du paysage naturel environnant ou de découvrir l'histoire d'un lieu historique national. Parcs Canada a fait des comparaisons avec des marinas et des emplacements d'amarrage publics et privés.

Le service d'amarrage offert dans les lieux administrés par Parcs Canada est souvent commode, puisque les lieux d'amarrage sont au cœur de l'expérience proposée aux visiteurs des canaux ou des parcs nationaux, et les installations sont souvent situées directement aux postes d'éclusage pour faciliter le départ vers la prochaine destination, ainsi que l'accès à celle-ci.

Q9. Quel est le coût proposé pour l'amarrage de jour?
Les droits actuels sont fixés à 0,40 $ le pied dans les parcs nationaux, et les droits proposés dans l'ensemble des lieux administrés par Parcs Canada le long des canaux et dans les parcs nationaux sont fixés à 0,50 $ le pied.

Pour un bateau de 25 pieds, le coût pour l'amarrage de jour correspondrait à 12,50 $. Une heure de départ marquant la fin de la journée sera déterminée à chaque endroit, signalant au plaisancier qu'il devra quitter l'installation d'amarrage.

Q10. Quel est le coût proposé pour l'amarrage de nuit?
Les droits actuels sont fixés à 0,90 $ le pied et les droits proposés dans l'ensemble des lieux administrés par Parcs Canada le long des canaux et dans les parcs nationaux sont fixés à 1,25 $ (2,5 fois le taux de jour de 0,50 $).

Pour un bateau de 25 pieds, le coût proposé pour l'amarrage de nuit correspondrait à 31,25 $. Il s'agit d'une augmentation de seulement 8,75 $ la nuit.

Q11. Quel est le coût proposé pour un laissez-passer saisonnier pour l'amarrage?
En utilisant le multiple de 16 fois le taux de nuit (1,25 $), les droits proposés sont de 20,00 $ le pied. Pour un bateau de 25 pieds, un laissez-passer saisonnier coûtera 500 $, soit une moyenne de 125 $ par mois pour un nombre illimité d'amarrages dans tout lieu administré par Parcs Canada.