Common menu bar links

Update on wireless (Wi-Fi) Internet access in our parks

Many things have been said about the possibility of providing Wi-Fi Internet access in our national parks and historic sites. That is why we would like to take this opportunity to set the record straight:

Parks Canada is indeed considering the possibility of offering this service in some national parks and national historic sites. This idea, still in development, is in response to visitor demand.

Without compromising the experience of visitors wishing to disconnect from their everyday life, these hotspots located, for example, at serviced campground loops or visitor centres, could make it easier to plan a trip, share beautiful images taken at our sites or even do some work for those who wish or need to do so. As of this summer, we are thinking of offering 25 to 50 hotspots in 15 or 20 parks or historic sites. This service will be entirely included in your entry fees.

We also want to reassure you: neither the backcountry nor wilderness will be covered by these possible hotspots. Thus, this is not about installing infrastructures on a mountain top or along a remote trail. You will have to wait to be back from your hike to update your Facebook page or add a squirrel selfie.

In closing, tourism trends evolve quickly and Parks Canada must adapt in order to attract new visitors who will come discover our nation’s natural and historical treasures that we have been protecting for over 100 years. As always, we will continue to honor our commitment to be responsible and respectful in our approach.

Mise-à-jour sur les zones d'accès Wi-Fi dans nos parcs

Bien des choses ont été dites à propos de la possibilité d’offrir des zones d'accès Internet sans fil (Wi-Fi) dans nos parcs et lieux historiques. C’est pourquoi, nous jugeons utile de rétablir les faits :

Parcs Canada réfléchit effectivement à la possibilité d’offrir ce service dans certains parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Cette idée, toujours à l’étape de projet, provient d’une demande de plusieurs de nos visiteurs.

Sans compromettre l’expérience de visiteurs désirant se débrancher de leur quotidien, ces zones d’accès situées, par exemple, sur des boucles de camping avec services ou aux centres d’accueil pourraient permettre de mieux planifier un voyage, de partager de belles images ou même de faire un peu de travail pour ceux qui le désirent. Dès cet été, nous pensons offrir de 25 à 50 zones d’accès dans 15 ou 20 parcs ou lieux historiques. Ce service sera entièrement inclus dans vos droits d’entrée.

Nous tenons aussi à vous rassurer : l’arrière-pays et les milieux sauvages ne seront pas couverts par ces possibles zones d’accès. Il n’est donc pas question de mettre en place des infrastructures sur le sommet d’une montagne ou le long d’un sentier éloigné. Vous devrez attendre d’être de retour de votre randonnée pour mettre à jour votre page Facebook et y ajouter un selfie d'écureuil.

En terminant, les tendances en tourisme évoluent rapidement, et Parcs Canada doit s’ajuster afin d’inciter de nouveaux visiteurs à venir découvrir les trésors naturels et historiques de notre pays que nous protégeons depuis plus de 100 ans. Nous avons toujours été responsables et respectueux dans notre approche et nous continuerons d’honorer cet engagement.