Common menu bar links

Environmental Stewardship

Rejuvenation

Working Together!
Successful Contaminated Site Clean-Up in Ivvavik National Park

A worker is handpicking debris off-road and loading it onto an ATV at the site of the Main Landfill and Fuel Drum Cache South in Ivvavik National Park.  Handpicking debris off-road at the site of the Main Landfill and the Fuel Drum Cache South.
© Parks Canada

Stokes Point is located along the Yukon North Slope in Ivvavik National Park. Ivvavik is the first national park in Canada established through an aboriginal land claim agreement, and was created in part to protect the calving grounds of the world famous Porcupine Caribou Herd. Prior to the creation of Ivvavik in 1984, Stokes Point was the location of a short lived Cold War era Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line station known as BAR-B (1950s-1960s). In the 1980s, it was a Beaufort Sea offshore oil exploration camp.

When the community of Aklavik and the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation raised concerns about possible contamination at Stokes Point, Parks Canada worked closely with the Inuvialuit and other project partners on a five year investigation and clean-up of the site.

During the investigation stage of the project more than 1,600 samples were collected from soil, water, sediment, plants and berries, fish and ground squirrels, and building materials like paint and insulation. The wealth of knowledge from Inuvialuit Elders ensured that the field investigation team did not miss any potential source of contamination. Once collected, samples were tested in a laboratory to measure the extent of any contamination that compromised the safety of people and animals that use the site.

5 workers pose as they prepare to process waste fuel drums they’ve collected from around the site. Barrel team gets ready to process waste fuel drums collected from around the site.
© Parks Canada
Once the clean-up plan was developed, specific actions included removing soil, collecting and removing debris and demolishing the remains of the historic DEW Line station. No landfills were constructed at Stokes Point for this clean-up. All collected material was taken to approved landfill and treatment facilities in the Northwest Territories, Alberta and BC. Some areas of minor contamination were left untouched as more aggressive clean-up activities posed the risk of creating long-term damage to the permafrost, threatened to release contaminants to nearby water, or might compromise the integrity of archaeological resources. Long term monitoring is in place at the site to ensure the ongoing effectiveness of the clean-up.

Project benefits

This project was a huge success. It is the largest contaminated site clean-up project ever undertaken by Parks Canada, and it took place in one of the most challenging environments in the world. Moreover, it was successful largely as a result of the collaborative approach that brought Parks Canada, Inuvialuit and other Government of Canada departments together to develop solutions and implement the clean-up plan. By working together to restore the health of the land, water, animals and plants that are so important to the ecosystem, the Inuvialuit, and visitors to the park, Stokes Point is once again safe.

A bull caribou observes the clean-up team as they prepare to ship out from Stokes Point. Bull caribou watches as clean-up team prepares to ship out from Stokes Point.
© Parks Canada

Intendance de l’environnement

Revitalisation

Un travail d’équipe!
Nettoyage d’un site contaminé au parc national Ivvavik : mission accomplie

Un travailleur ramasse des débris et les charge sur un VTT à l’emplacement de la décharge principale et de l’entrepôt sud des fûts de carburant, au parc national Ivvavik.
Ramassage manuel des débris hors-route à l’emplacement de la décharge principale et de l’entrepôt sud des fûts de carburant.
© Parcs Canada

Stokes Point est situé sur le Versant nord du Yukon dans le parc national du Canada Ivvavik, qui est le premier parc national établi au Canada en vertu d’un accord sur les revendications territoriales des Autochtones. Il a notamment été créé pour protéger l’aire de mise bas de la très célèbre harde de caribous de la Porcupine. Avant la création du parc national Ivvavik en 1984, à l'époque de la guerre froide, Stokes Point avait brièvement (durant les années 1950 jusqu'au début des années 1960) accueilli une station du réseau d'alerte avancé (DEW), connue sous le nom de BAR-B . Puis, durant les années 1980, ce fut au tour d’un camp d'exploitation pétrolière en mer de Beaufort de s’y installer.

Lorsque la communauté d'Aklavik et l'Inuvialuit Regional Corporation ont exprimé leurs inquiétudes quant à une possible contamination à Stokes Point, Parcs Canada, en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires d’Inuvialuit et d’autres ministères, a mené une étude quinquennale et procédé à l'assainissement du site.
Cinq travailleurs se font prendre en photo avant de traiter les fûts de carburant résiduaire provenant du site.
Les membres de l’équipe affectée aux fûts de carburant sont prêts à traiter les fûts de carburant résiduaire provenant du site.
© Parcs Canada


Pendant l’étude, on a recueilli plus de 1 600 échantillons de sol, d’eau, de sédiments, de plantes et de petits fruits, de poissons, d’écureuils terrestres et de matériaux de construction, comme de la peinture et de l’isolant. Grâce à l’immense savoir des aînés d’Inuvialuit, l’équipe d’enquête sur le terrain n’a omis aucune source potentielle de contamination. Une fois ramassés, les échantillons ont été testés en laboratoire dans le but de mesurer toute contamination susceptible de menacer la sécurité des personnes et des animaux qui utilisent le site.

Une fois le plan de nettoyage établi, on a retiré le sol, recueilli et enlevé les débris, et démoli les vestiges de l’historique station du réseau d'alerte avancé (DEW). On n’a pas construit de site d’enfouissement à Stokes Point. Toutes les matières recueillies ont été transportées dans des sites d’enfouissement autorisés et dans des installations de traitement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique. Certaines zones de contamination mineure sont demeurées intouchées, car des activités de nettoyage plus agressives auraient pu endommager à long terme le pergélisol, libérer des contaminants dans des eaux environnantes ou compromettre l’intégrité des ressources archéologiques. Des mesures de surveillance prolongée sont en place afin d’assurer l’efficacité du nettoyage.

Avantages du projet

Ce projet a été une réussite sur toute la ligne. Il s’agit de la plus grande entreprise d’assainissement de site contaminé mise de l’avant par Parcs Canada jusqu’ici, et elle a eu lieu dans l’un des environnements les plus rudes du monde. De surcroît, cette réussite est largement attribuable à la démarche coopérative adoptée par Parcs Canada, l’Inuvialuit et d’autres ministères fédéraux pour trouver des solutions et exécuter le plan de nettoyage. Grâce à leurs efforts solidaires pour restaurer la santé de la terre, des eaux, des animaux et des plantes, qui sont si précieux tant pour l’écosystème que pour l’Inuvialuit et les visiteurs du parc, Stokes Point est redevenu un endroit sûr.

Un caribou mâle observe l’équipe de nettoyage qui s’apprête à quitter Stokes Point.
Un caribou mâle observe l’équipe de nettoyage qui s’apprête à quitter Stokes Point.
© Parcs Canada