Environmental Stewardship

Innovation

Planting the Seeds for a Greener Workplace
Parks Canada is doing its part to help green government operations

An employee emptying used coffee filters into the in-house composting bin at Parks Canada’s Western and Northern Service Centre Winnipeg An employee emptying used coffee filters into the in-house composting bin at Parks Canada’s Western and Northern Service Centre Winnipeg
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada is working towards meeting the targets set out by the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy as part of the Government of Canada’s commitment to shrinking the environmental impacts of day-to-day operations. In considering the way we purchase and dispose of supplies, the way we consume paper and other resources, and the way we plan meetings, it’s clear that there are plenty of things we can do to help reduce our environmental impact.

As part of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, Parks Canada is working towards minimizing paper use and reducing the production of electronic waste, and is committed to purchasing eco-friendly products. From switching to hybrid and electric vehicles in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, to adopting innovative renewable energy technologies and high building standards, Parks Canada has demonstrated its commitment to the environment at our national parks and historic sites across the country.

Parks Canada also supports the creation of “Green Teams”, groups of employees from all levels who work together to foster environmental change and awareness in workplaces across the country.

Parks Canada employee Ed Jager poses on his daily bike ride to work at the National Office in Quebec Parks Canada employee Ed Jager poses on his daily bike ride to work at the National Office in Quebec 
© Parks Canada

Additionally, Parks Canada participates in the Commuter Challenge, which takes place each year during Environment Week and promotes the use of sustainable ways of getting to and from work.

More and more employees are already making their own daily efforts to reduce their ecological footprint. They’re doing everything from printing less, to taking public transit or cycling to work, to recycling or bringing reusable mugs and food containers. When it comes to creating a greener workplace, both on the individual level as employees and on an organizational level as part of the federal government, every little bit counts!

Employees at Parks Canada’s Western and Northern Service Centre Winnipeg shovelling finished compost into bags to distribute and take home Parks Canada employees distributing the finished compost to take home to their gardens
© Parks Canada

Intendance de l’environnement

Innovation

Pour un lieu de travail plus écologique

Un employé vide des filtres à café usés dans un composteur au centre de services de l’Ouest et du Nord, à Winnipeg. Un employé vide des filtres à café usés dans un composteur au centre de services de l’Ouest et du Nord, à Winnipeg.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada fait sa part pour que les activités du gouvernement soient plus écologiques.
Parcs Canada travaille à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable dans le cadre de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada de réduire ses impacts environnementaux dans ses activités quotidiennes. Lorsque l’on examine la façon dont nous achetons les fournitures et nous en départissons, dont nous consommons le papier et dont nous planifions les réunions, il est clair que nous pouvons réduire notre impact environnemental de bien des façons.

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, Parcs Canada s’efforce de réduire sa consommation de papier et sa production de déchets électroniques, et s’engage à acheter des produits écologiques. Que ce soit par l’achat de véhicules hybrides et électriques afin de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, ou par l’adoption de technologies de pointe en matière d’énergie renouvelable et de normes élevées en matière de bâtiment, Parcs Canada démontre son engagement en faveur de l’environnement dans les parcs et les lieux historiques nationaux du pays.

L’employé de Parcs Canada Ed Jager pose sur le vélo qu’il enfourche chaque jour pour se rendre au travail, au Bureau national. L’employé de Parcs Canada Ed Jager pose sur le vélo qu’il enfourche chaque jour pour se rendre au travail, au Bureau national.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada appuie aussi la création des « comités verts », des groupes d’employés de tous les niveaux qui travaillent de concert pour promouvoir une plus grande sensibilisation aux enjeux environnementaux sur les lieux de travail de l’ensemble du pays.

De plus, Parcs Canada participe au « Défi transport » dans le cadre de la Semaine de l’environnement et encourage l’utilisation de moyens de transport durable pour se rendre au travail.

De plus en plus d’employés font déjà leur effort quotidien pour réduire leur empreinte écologique, que ce soit en imprimant moins de documents, en utilisant les transports en commun ou leur vélo pour se rendre au boulot, ou encore en utilisant des tasses et des contenants à nourriture réutilisables. Tous les efforts comptent lorsque vient le temps de créer un lieu de travail plus écologique, que se soit sur le plan individuel ou sur le plan organisationnel dans le cadre d’initiatives gouvernementales!

Des employés du centre de services de l’Ouest et du Nord, à Winnipeg, remplissent et distribuent des sacs de compost fini qu’ils ramèneront à la maison. Des employés de Parcs Canada distribuent des sacs de compost fini qu’ils ramèneront à la maison.
© Parcs Canada