Common menu bar links

Environmental Stewardship

Innovation

From Waste to Fuel
Biodiesel at Riding Mountain National Park

A worker mows the lawn of the golf course with a lawnmower using biofuel in Riding Mountain National Park. The biofuel is used in the golf course's fleet of turf maintenance equipment.
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada has turned to biodiesel in order to reduce its environmental footprint at Riding Mountain National Park.

Covering 3,000 square kilometres of land in the heart of Manitoba, Riding Mountain National Park is a vast expanse with significant visitor facilities. In order to reduce waste and greenhouse gas emissions, Parks Canada is using biodiesel in equipment such as turf mowers, tractors and heavy trucks.

This alternative to diesel fuel is made from used vegetable oil, collected in bear-proof barrels, from restaurants in Wasagaming and other nearby towns. Not only does biodiesel produce fewer greenhouse gas emissions, it is very cost-effective. Parks Canada is testing different blends of biodiesel in its equipment to see how they perform at diverse temperatures.

A row of heavy machinery equipment that uses biodiesel in Riding Mountain National Park lined up along the far side of a dirt parking lot. The biofuel is used in the park's heavy equipment fleet.
© Parks Canada

Project Benefits

In partnering with local businesses, Parks Canada has helped raise public confidence and interest in the use of biodiesel, and the project has proven to be a cost-effective way to reduce emissions and waste.


A worker transferring waste vegetable oil from a transport truck to a more conventional fuel tank where it will be used as biodiesel in various vehicles at Riding Mountain National Park. The waste vegetable oil is transported by truck to a biodiesel refining plant and the finished fuel is hauled back to the park and stored in conventional fuel tanks.
© Parks Canada

Intendance de l’environnement

Innovation

Des déchets qui carburent
Le biodiesel au parc national du Mont-Riding

Un travailleur coupe le gazon du terrain de golf à l’aide d’une tondeuse alimentée au biodiesel dans le parc national du Mont-Riding. L’équipement d’entretien du terrain de golf fonctionne au biodiesel.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada s’est converti au biodiesel afin de réduire son empreinte écologique au parc national du Mont-Riding.

Le parc national du Mont-Riding couvre une vaste superficie de 3 000 km2 au cœur du Manitoba et compte de nombreuses installations pour les visiteurs. En collaboration avec Clear Lake Golf Course, Parcs Canada utilise le biodiesel dans ses équipements motorisés, comme les tondeuses, les tracteurs et les camions lourds, dans le but de réduire ses déchets et ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Ce carburant, qui vient remplacer le diesel pétrolier, est fait à partir de l’huile végétale usée recueillie dans des barils à l’épreuve des ours auprès des restaurateurs de Wasagaming et d’autres villages des environs. Non seulement le biodiesel produit moins de gaz à effet de serre, il est aussi très économique. Parcs Canada met à l’essai différents mélanges de biodiesel dans les équipements motorisés pour évaluer leur rendement à différentes températures.

Un ensemble de machines lourdes alimentées au biodiesel sont garées en ligne à l’extrémité d’un terrain en terre battue au parc national du Mont-Riding. La flotte de machines lourdes du parc fonctionne au biodiesel.
© Parcs Canada

Les avantages du projet

En partenariat avec les entreprises locales, Parcs Canada aide à susciter l’intérêt et la confiance du public envers l’utilisation du biodiesel, et le projet s’avère une solution rentable pour réduire les émissions de gaz et les déchets.

Un travailleur transfère l’huile végétale usée dans un réservoir conventionnel, où elle sera conservée et utilisée comme biodiesel dans divers véhicules du parc national du Mont-Riding. L’huile végétale usée est transportée par camion vers une usine de fabrication de biodiesel avant d’être réacheminée dans le parc, où elle sera entreposée dans des réservoirs conventionnels.
© Parcs Canada