Environmental Stewardship

Conservation

Lights Off! Parks Canada’s Dark Sky Preserves

Parks Canada gives visitors the opportunity to enjoy the wonders of the night sky by taking part in the Dark Skies Initiative.

Parks Canada employee, Roxanne Lafontaine, observes the moon through one of Jasper National Park’s telescopes. Parks staff Roxanne Lafontaine observing the moon through one of Jasper National Park's telescopes.
© Parks Canada

Light pollution is an often overlooked aspect of environmental footprints; while the impact of artificial light may seem minor, issues such as energy waste, air and water pollution, and harm to nocturnal wildlife are things to consider.

One way of combating light pollution is through the establishment of Dark Sky Preserves. Designated by the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada, these preserves are established to reduce artificial light glare, increase the visibility of the night sky, and reduce energy consumption to benefit all life on Earth, while protecting nocturnal habitats and encouraging public enjoyment of the night sky.

Local youth take in the night skies both with telescopes and the naked eye at Annette Lake, Jasper National Park. Local youth take in the night skies at Annette lake, Jasper National Park.
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada currently manages a number of Dark Sky Preserves, and at each site strict guidelines are applied to help protect and preserve the night sky for the use of nocturnal wildlife in its natural habitat and for visitors who come to enjoy programming on astronomy and other dark sky themes.

Jasper National Park was named the world’s largest dark sky preserve in 2011- at 11,228 square kilometres, it is larger than the combined total of dark sky preserves around the world. Parks Canada’s other dark sky preserves are located at Fort Walsh National Historic Site, Elk Island National Park, Point Pelee National Park, Kouchibouguac National Park, Grasslands National Park, Bruce Peninsula National Park, and Kejimkujik National Park.

Project Benefits

Parks Canada’s commitment to darker skies allows exciting opportunities for visitors to enjoy and engage with the beauty of the natural night sky, while at the same time protecting unique ecosystems and promoting energy savings.

A park visitor stands outside his tent and observes the dark skies with his binoculars at one of Jasper National Observing the truly dark skies at one of Jasper's backcountry campgrounds
© Parks Canada

Intendance de l’environnement

Conservation

Que la nuit tombe… sur les réserves de ciel étoilé de Parcs Canada

Une employée de Parcs Canada, Roxanne Lafontaine, observe la Lune à l’aide de l’un des télescopes du parc national Jasper. Une employée de Parcs Canada, Roxanne Lafontaine, observe la Lune à l’aide de l’un des télescopes du parc national Jasper.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada offre aux visiteurs l’occasion d’admirer le ciel nocturne en prenant part à son initiative sur les réserves de ciel étoilé.

La pollution lumineuse est souvent un aspect négligé de l’empreinte écologique, mais si les impacts de l’éclairage artificiel peuvent sembler bénins, il faut quand même tenir compte du gaspillage d’énergie, de la pollution de l’air et de l’eau, et des effets néfastes pour la faune nocturne.

La création de réserves de ciel étoilé est une façon de combattre la pollution lumineuse. Désignées par la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada, ces réserves sont des endroits où les lueurs de la lumière artificielle sont réduites au minimum, où la visibilité du ciel nocturne est accrue au maximum et où la consommation énergétique est réduite au profit de toutes les formes de vie sur Terre; elles aident à protéger les habitats de la faune nocturne et encouragent le public à apprécier la beauté du ciel étoilé.

Des jeunes de la région observent le ciel nocturne à l’œil nu et à l’aide d’un télescope près du lac Annette, dans le parc national Jasper. Des jeunes de la région observent le ciel nocturne près du lac Annette, dans le parc national Jasper.
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada gère actuellement un certain nombre de réserves de ciel étoilé, et à chaque endroit des lignes directrices strictes sont appliquées afin de préserver l’obscurité du ciel pour que la faune nocturne continue de jouir de son habitat naturel et que les visiteurs puissent apprécier la programmation d’activités reliées à l’astronomie et à d’autres thèmes connexes.

Le parc national Jasper a été désigné comme étant la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde en 2011; avec sa superficie de 11 228 km2, cette réserve est plus vaste que la combinaison de toutes les autres réserves du genre au monde. Les autres réserves de ciel étoilé gérées par Parcs Canada se trouvent au lieu historique national du Fort-Walsh, ainsi que dans les parcs nationaux Elk Island, de la Pointe-Pelée, Kouchibouguac, des Prairies, de la Péninsule-Bruce et Kejimkujik.

Les avantages du projet

L’engagement de Parcs Canada pour la protection du ciel nocturne offre aux visiteurs des possibilités d’apprécier la beauté du ciel étoilé, tout en protégeant des écosystèmes peu communs et en favorisant les économies d’énergie.

Un visiteur se tient près de sa tente et observe le ciel nocturne à la jumelle dans l’un des terrains de camping de l’arrière-pays, dans le parc national Jasper. Un visiteur observe le ciel dans la nuit noire, dans l’un des terrains de camping de l’arrière-pays du parc national Jasper.
© Parcs Canada