Young Canada Works

Job Facts

Who Can Be Hired?


© Parks Canada / Gélinas, L. / 05.51.09.11(77), 2001

In accordance with the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy, YCW student jobs are available to secondary and post-secondary students. Check our Frequently Asked Questions for more information. A student is an individual who was enrolled in full time studies during the preceding academic semester and who intends to return to school full time in the upcoming academic semester.

Because a variety of jobs are available, various levels of education, skills, language ability and work experience is required. In addition, some YCW locations may be looking for Team Leaders. This specific job is designed for post-secondary students interested in the area of program coordination. A Team Leader is an assistant to the on-site YCW Coordinator. He or she helps to fulfill local YCW duties such as organizing development activities and managing program logistics.

Parks Canada is committed to being representative of the Canadian population. We actively recruit members of employment equity groups (women, member of a visible minority group, persons with disabilities, and Aboriginal peoples).

"YCW is a great program to further a students' learning abilities, to develop new skills and improve old ones." 2004 YCW Student

When Do Young Canada Works Students Work?

Visitor Centre, L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site
Visitor Centre, L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site © Parks Canada / Lynch, W. / 05.51.03.11(60), 1997
  • During the busiest period of Canada's National Parks and National Historic Sites operational year (May to September). Work terms vary between eight and 16 weeks.
  • Students might work weekday/weekend and day/evening shifts, depending on the needs of each YCW location.

Where Do They Work?

YCW Student Interpreters at Fort Langley National Historic Site
YCW Student Interpreters at Fort Langley National Historic Site © Parks Canada / H.10.105.06.09(66), 2000

YCW locations span the system of Canada's National Parks and National Historic Sites. Typically, you will find at least one YCW location in most provinces and territories. Many students will be selected for a location in close proximity to their home community. However, a small number of post-secondary students may have the opportunity to travel to work in another region of the country. YCW Students might work in one of Canada's National Parks, National Historic Sites, or at both.


YCW Students may work in:

  • Various outdoor environments and weather conditions
  • Office or indoor environment
  • Areas of high visitation by the general public
  • Special event venues
  • Bilingual environment (in some cases, students may be required to be bilingual)

Who Do Young Canada Works Students Work With?

Depending on the location of the YCW project, colleagues may include any of the following:

  • Full-time and seasonal Parks Canada field staff
  • Other Parks Canada student employees
  • Parks Canada cooperating associations
  • Parks Canada stakeholders

Work project supervisors are Parks Canada employees who organize specific jobs and work directly with YCW Students to train and guide their work. In some cases, local volunteer organizations may be involved in the design and delivery of work experiences.

Young Canada Works
Young Canada Works is a joint initiative of the Parks Canada Agency and the Department of Canadian Heritage

Jeunesse Canada au travail

Faits sur les emplois

Qui peut être embauché?



© Parcs Canada / Gélinas, L. / 05.51.09.11(77), 2001

En vertu de la stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada, les emplois de JCT s'adressent aux étudiants du secondaire et du postsecondaire. Veuillez consultez notre Foire aux questions pour plus d'information. Le terme « étudiants » désigne les personnes inscrites à des études à temps plein au trimestre précédent et qui ont l'intention de retourner aux études à temps plein au trimestre suivant.

Comme les emplois offerts sont très diversifiés, les exigences varient en ce qui concerne le niveau de scolarité, les qualifications, les connaissances linguistiques et l'expérience de travail. De plus, certaines unités participant à JCT recherchent des chefs d'équipe. Ces postes s'adressent aux étudiants du postsecondaire intéressés à la coordination du programme. Le chef d'équipe est l'adjoint du coordonnateur de JCT sur place, et son rôle consiste à collaborer aux tâches de JCT propres à son unité, telles que l'organisation d'activités de formation et la gestion de la logistique du programme.

Parcs Canada s'engage à refléter la population canadienne. Nous recrutons activement des membres des groupes visés par l'équité en matière d'emploi (femmes, membres de minorités visibles, personnes handicapées et Autochtones).

« JCT est un programme formidable pour améliorer ses facultés d'apprentissage, acquérir de nouvelles compétences et améliorer celles qu'on a déjà. » - Étudiant de JCT  2004

Quand les étudiants de Jeunesse Canada au travail travaillent-ils?

Centre d'information, lieu historique national de l'Anse-aux-Meadows
Centre d'information, lieu historique national de l'Anse-aux-Meadows
© Parcs Canada / Lynch, W. / 05.51.03.11(60), 1997
  • Pendant la haute saison des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada, soit entre mai et septembre. La période d'emploi peut durer de huit à seize semaines.
  • Les étudiants peuvent être appelés à travailler les jours de semaine, les fins de semaine ou pendant des quarts de jour et de soir, selon les besoins de chacune des unités participant au programme JCT .

Où travaillent-ils?

Des étudiants interprètes du lieu historique national Fort-Langley
Des étudiants interprètes du lieu historique national Fort-Langley
© Parcs Canada / H.10.105.06.09(66), 2000

Les unités qui participent au programme JCT sont réparties dans tout le réseau de parcs nationaux et de lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. Généralement, la plupart des provinces et des territoires comptent au moins une unité engagée dans le programme. La majorité des étudiants obtiendront un emploi dans une unité située à proximité de leur domicile. Cependant, un petit nombre d'étudiants de niveau postsecondaire auront la chance d'aller travailler dans une autre région du pays. Les étudiants de JCT peuvent travailler dans un parc national ou un lieu historique national du Canada, ou parfois dans les deux.

Les étudiants de JCT peuvent travailler :

  • dans des milieux extérieurs et des conditions climatiques variées;
  • dans un bureau ou un autre lieu de travail intérieur;
  • dans des endroits très fréquentés par le public;
  • sur des sites d'événements spéciaux;
  • dans des milieux bilingues (dans certains cas, on exigera des étudiants bilingues).

Avec qui les étudiants de Jeunesse Canada au travail travaillent-ils?

Selon le lieu de travail de chaque étudiant de JCT , ses collègues peuvent être :

  • des employés à temps plein et saisonniers de Parcs Canada;
  • d'autres étudiants employés par Parcs Canada;
  • des associations coopérantes de Parcs Canada;
  • des partenaires de Parcs Canada.

Les superviseurs des projets de travail sont des employés de Parcs Canada. Ils planifient des tâches spécifiques et travaillent directement avec les étudiants de JCT afin de les former et de les guider. Dans certains cas, des organismes locaux participent bénévolement à la conception et à la réalisation des projets de travail.

Jeunesse Canada au travail
Jeunesse Canada au travail est une initiative conjointe de l'Agence Parcs Canada et du ministère du Patrimoine canadien