Young Canada Works

Program Advantages

Work Experience

YCW student conducting wildlife survey & habitat evaluation.
YCW student conducting wildlife survey & habitat evaluation.
© Parks Canada / 06.64.09.11(18), 2000

The type of work experience may vary from student to student, depending on the work location needs. Here are some advantages that may be available to YCW Students:

  • Improve current skills or develop new ones, while belonging to a team of committed employees responsible for protecting and presenting our country's natural and cultural heritage on behalf of all Canadians.
  • Gain exposure to various career options by working on two or more projects during your employment.
  • Observe what various employees working in sciences, history, communications, visitor services, corporate services, and trades accomplish in a workday.
  • Enhance your knowledge of Parks Canada's operations to fully understand the significance of Canada's National Parks and National Historic Sites.
  • Participate in career development activities.
  • Earn wages to help support your future studies.
  • Experience a dynamic environment of both indoor and outdoor work.
  • You may even have the chance to work in another part of Canada, as some post-secondary students may be considered for partial travel assistance to select work locations.
"The program offers students the opportunity to obtain specific skills and transfer knowledge to future work and scholastic pursuits, ultimately increasing their employability."- 2004 YCW Student

Development Activities

YCW student with warden in fire fighting gear
YCW student with warden in fire fighting gear.
© Parks Canada / Gélinas, L. / 05.51.09.11(77), 2001

Young Canada Works is a hands-on work experience that is further complemented with career development activities to expand a student's skill set. These activities are an integral part of the program and offer other growth opportunities. Development activities are scheduled throughout the student's work term, as part of the YCW experience.

YCW Students are expected to attend all YCW development activities. These activities can be offered both during and after regular work hours and might include guest lectures, enhanced training, career development workshops, job shadowing and mentoring.

Working For Young Canada Works and Parks Canada

YCW students serve tea to visitors
YCW students serve tea to visitors.
© Parks Canada / H.06.67.06.09(38), 2000

Working in one of Canada's National Parks or National Historic Sites is more than a nine-to-five-summer job - it's an experience. Interacting with the visiting public, gathering data on endangered species, and being part of historical re-enactments require commitment beyond the ordinary and enthusiasm for the task at hand. There are many benefits from acquiring hands-on experience, developing transferable skills, or gaining technical knowledge, such as how to use scientific equipment or handling artifacts.

You could be involved working in the local community organizing a special event, conducting field research, or as a development activity attend a workshop about preparing for a job interview. YCW offers unique and diverse work experiences to add to your resume and help you get started on your career path.

If you become a YCW student, you will be able to work with and learn from the various professionals and trades people who dedicate themselves to protecting, preserving and presenting Canada's National Parks and National Historic Sites to Canadians.

" YCW is a summer job that gives you a taste of a career, rather than simply a dead-end job you wouldn't pursue."- 2004 YCW Student

Explore where you might fit. Picture yourself informing people about the balance of preservation and visitor use, removing invasive plant species like purple loosestrife, re-enacting blacksmithing or cooking techniques. Or, envision yourself at the archives sleuthing out fascinating historical facts, or narrating an artillery demonstration of military music for the public. Use your imagination; these are some examples of experiences you could have.

Young Canada Works
Young Canada Works is a joint initiative of the Parks Canada Agency and the Department of Canadian Heritage

Jeunesse Canada au travail

Avantages du programme

Expérience de travail

Un étudiant JCT menant une enquête  sur la faune et une évaluation de l'habitat
Un étudiant JCT menant une enquête sur la faune et une évaluation de l'habitat
© Parcs Canada / 06.64.09.11(18), 2000

Le type d'expérience de travail que vivent les participants varie d'un étudiant à l'autre, selon les besoins de chaque lieu de travail. Voici quelques-unes des possibilités avantageuses qu'offre JCT aux étudiants :

  • Améliorer leurs compétences actuelles et en acquérir de nouvelles, tout en faisant partie d'une équipe d'employés dévoués qui ont la responsabilité de protéger et de mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada au nom de toute la population canadienne.
  • Être exposé à diverses options de carrière en travaillant à plus d'un projet pendant la période d'emploi.
  • Observer les tâches quotidiennes de divers employés dans les domaines des sciences, de l'histoire, des communications, des services aux visiteurs, des services de gestion et dans les métiers.
  • Mieux connaître les services de Parcs Canada afin de comprendre pleinement l'importance des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.
  • Participer à des activités de formation professionnelle.
  • Gagner un salaire pouvant contribuer à leurs frais d'études.
  • Travailler dans un milieu dynamique, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur.
  • Dans certains cas, avoir la chance de travailler dans une autre région du Canada. Certains étudiants du postsecondaire pourront obtenir un remboursement partiel de leurs frais de déplacement vers des lieux de travail sélectionnés.
« Le programme offre la chance aux étudiants d'acquérir des compétences spécifiques et d'utiliser plus tard ces connaissances au travail ou dans leurs études, ce qui améliore leur employabilité. » - Étudiant de JCT  2004

Activités de formation

Un étudiant JCT avec un garde de parc en tenue de lutte contre l'incendie
Un étudiant JCT avec un garde de parc en tenue de lutte contre l'incendie
© Parcs Canada / Gélinas, L. / 05.51.09.11(77), 2001

Jeunesse Canada au travail est une expérience de travail pratique, qui comprend également des activités de formation professionnelle visant à élargir le champ de compétences des étudiants. Ces activités font partie intégrante du programme et offrent d'autres possibilités de croissance. Elles s'échelonnent sur toute la période d'emploi de l'étudiant et s'inscrivent dans l'expérience JCT .

Les étudiants de JCT sont tenus de participer à toutes ces activités de formation. Elles ont lieu pendant ou après les heures normales de travail et peuvent prendre la forme de conférences, de formation approfondie, d'ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel, de jumelage au travail et de mentorat.

Travailler pour Jeunesse Canada au travail et Parcs Canada

Des étudiants JCT servent le thé aux visiteurs
Des étudiants JCT servent le thé aux visiteurs
© Parcs Canada / H.06.67.06.09(38), 2000

Travailler dans un parc national ou un lieu historique national du Canada signifie bien plus qu'occuper un simple emploi d'été de neuf à cinq - c'est une expérience. La communication avec les visiteurs, la collecte de données sur des espèces menacées et la participation à des reconstitutions historiques exigent un dévouement hors du commun et un grand enthousiasme. En outre, il est très profitable pour les étudiants d'acquérir de l'expérience pratique, des compétences polyvalentes et des habiletés techniques, par exemple d'apprendre à utiliser des instruments scientifiques ou à manipuler des artefacts.

Vous pourriez être appelé à participer à l'organisation d'un événement spécial dans une collectivité locale, à effectuer des recherches sur le terrain ou encore, dans le cadre d'une activité de formation, à assister à un atelier sur la façon de préparer une entrevue de sélection. JCT offre des expériences de travail uniques et diversifiées que vous pourrez ajouter à votre curriculum vitæ et qui vous aideront à démarrer votre carrière.

En participant à JCT , vous aurez la chance de travailler auprès de divers professionnels et spécialistes qui se consacrent à la protection, à la préservation et à la mise en valeur des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada, et vous apprendrez beaucoup en côtoyant ces personnes.

«  JCT est un emploi d'été qui vous donne le goût d'une carrière, et non un emploi sans avenir que vous ne voudriez pas poursuivre. » - Étudiant de JCT  2004

Explorez les possibilités qui vous conviennent. Imaginez-vous en train de renseigner des visiteurs sur l'équilibre à assurer entre la préservation et la fréquentation des milieux naturels, d'extraire des plantes envahissantes comme la salicaire pourpre ou de participer à la reconstitution historique d'une forge ou d'une cuisine d'autrefois. Ou imaginez-vous en train de fouiller dans les archives à la recherche de faits historiques fascinants ou de commenter un spectacle de musique militaire de l'Artillerie pour le public. Il ne s'agit là que de quelques exemples de ce que vous pouvez vivre, imaginez le reste!

Jeunesse Canada au travail
Jeunesse Canada au travail est une initiative conjointe de l'Agence Parcs Canada et du ministère du Patrimoine canadien