Common menu bar links

Jobs at Parks Canada

Selecting People for Jobs

In general, here's how the process works:

Job posting

At this stage, the Parks Canada manager works with Parks Canada Human Resources advisors to notify the public that a job is available. Depending on the type of job, it may be posted at the park or site, in the local or national newspaper, in association newsletters or on a job website with the Public Service Commission or Human Resources Development Canada Sites. This often takes the form of a competition poster that describes many aspects of the position:

  • Job Title and salary range
  • Selection process number (you will need to put this number on the application form.)
  • Eligibility (who can apply, including any geographic limitations)
  • Qualifications (education, skills, licences, language, certificates, experience, etc.)
  • Conditions of employment ( working conditions, security clearance, etc.)
  • Brief description of the work to be performed (you may want to review the Summary of Duties prior to submitting an application.)
  • Contact person for more information
  • Closing date and address for applications

Information on written tests and competency exams can be found at the Public Service Commission of Canada's Web site. If you earned a post-secondary degree outside of Canada, please contact one of the Credentials Evaluation Services organizations to inquire about obtaining a proof of Canadian equivalency.

Screening

The Human Resources advisor and/or the Parks Canada manager review applications submitted on or before the closing date. They assess all applications against the basic qualifications. Candidates meeting the screening criteria are notified and given further consideration for the job.

Interview

Applicants being interviewed are assessed using the same assessment tools. Based on these assessments, candidates are ranked starting with most competent to least competent. Candidates interviewed receive notification, most often by letter, informing them of the results.

Job offer

The top ranking candidates are offered the available positions in writing. Those who accept the job offer negotiate a work start date.

Emplois à Parcs Canada

Sélection des candidats

En général, voici comment cela fonctionne :

Affichage des postes

À ce stade, le gestionnaire de Parcs Canada responsable travaille avec des conseillers en Ressources humaines de Parcs Canada pour annoncer au public qu'un emploi est disponible. Selon le genre d'emploi, on pouvait l'annoncer au parc même, dans un journal local ou national, une revue professionnelle ou sur Internet en l'affichant à la Commission de la fonction publique et aux Sites de Développement des ressources humaines Canada pertinents. Cela prend souvent la forme d'une affiche de concours décrivant de nombreux aspects du poste :

  • Titre d'emploi et échelle salariale
  • Numéro du processus de sélection (Il vous faudra mettre ce numéro sur le formulaire de demande d'emploi)
  • Admissibilité (qui peut postuler, y compris les éventuelles limites géographiques)
  • Qualifications (études, compétences, permis, langues, certificats, expérience, etc.) 
  • Brève description du travail à accomplir (Il est conseillé d'étudier le Résumé des fonctions avant de présenter une candidature.)
  • Personne-contact pour avoir plus de renseignements
  • Date limite pour la présentation des candidatures
  • Où envoyer la demande

On peut trouver des renseignements sur les tests écrits et les examens de compétence sur le site Web de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada. Si vous avez obtenu un diplôme d'études postsecondaires hors du Canada, veuillez communiquer avec une des organisations des Services d'évaluation des titres pour vous informer sur l'obtention d'une preuve d'équivalence canadienne.

Présélection

Les conseillers en Ressources humaines et/ou le gestionnaire de Parcs Canada responsable examinent toutes les demandes reçues à la date de clôture. Ils évaluent celles-ci en fonction des qualifications de base. Seuls les candidats répondant aux critères de présélection sont avisés et font l'objet d'un examen plus poussé pour l'emploi.

Entrevue

Les candidats invités à une entrevue sont évalués à l'aide des mêmes outils d'évaluation. Sur la base de ces évaluations, les candidats sont classés, du plus compétent au moins compétent. Ceux qui se sont présentés à une entrevue recevront un avis, le plus souvent par lettre, les informant des résultats.

Offre d'emploi

Les candidats les plus qualifiés se voient offrir par écrit les postes disponibles. Ceux qui acceptent l'offre d'emploi négocient une date d'entrée en fonction.