Common menu bar links

Disclosure of Travel and Hospitality Expenses

Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Events Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Parks Canada Agency (PCA) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

In particular, for Parks Canada Agency this includes managing national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is a proud steward of these heritage places and protects and presents them for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations of Canadians.

PCA’s Mandate and Programs

Parks Canada Agency has the mandate to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The programs that support Parks Canada’s mandate include:

  • Heritage Places Establishment,
  • Heritage Resources Conservation,
  • Public Appreciation and Understanding,
  • Visitor Experience and
  • Townsite and Throughway Infrastructure.
Our national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas offer to Canadians a variety of recreational activities and learning experiences as well as a unique opportunity to personally connect with these heritage places. There are more than 20 million person-visits annually to the heritage places administered by Parks Canada.

Further information on Parks Canada’s mandate and programs can be found in the Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and in the Departmental Performance Report (DPR).

PCA’s Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

In line with the Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Events Expenditures, Parks Canada adopted a plan to manage these expenditures with prudence and probity. Enhanced controls and procedures were put into place to ensure that travel, hospitality and conference related expenses were reasonable, appropriate and supported the Agency objectives and priorities.

The Agency has reduced its travel, hospitality and conferences expenditures by 41% since 2009-2010 as a result of pro-active management of travel, hospitality and conference expenditures and will continue to monitor the rate of spending as part of its regular internal reporting process.

Total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of Parks Canada Agency are summarized below:


Expenditure CategoryExpenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013
(a)    
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012
(b)
Variance(a-b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel - Public Servants $8 633 $11,505 ($2,872)
Travel - Non public Servants $683 $933 ($251)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff* $0 $0 $0
Total Travel $9,316 $12,438 ($3,122)
Hospitalitiy $208 $321 ($113)
Conference Fees $124 $153 ($29)
Total $9,648 $12,912 ($3,264)
(*) Includes international travel that is part of a department's program.



Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

This section provides a brief explanation of significant variances from the previous year’s annual expenditures for each category.


Travel, Hospitality and Conferences expenditure trend
from 2009-2010 to 2012-2013

Graph of Travel, Hospitality, and Conferences expenditures trend, long description follows in the main text

[long description]

Travel

At the end of fiscal year 2012-2013, expenditures for travel decreased by 25% compared to 2011-2012. Since 2009-2010, the Agency has maintained a downward trend in travel expenditures of over 40%. The reduction is a result of pro-active expenditure reduction strategies implemented in 2008-2009 and a direct consequence of the Agency’s commitment to cost containment.

  • Public Servants : Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, travel expenditures by public servants have decreased by $2.9 million or 25%.
  • Non-Public Servants : Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, travel expenditures by non-public servants have decreased by $251 thousand or 27%.
  • Minister and Minister’s Staff : Expenditures by the Minister and his staff do not apply for Parks Canada as these expenditures are covered by Environment Canada’s budget.

Hospitality

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Agency’s hospitality expenditures have decreased by $113 thousand or 35 %. The reduction is a result of pro-active expenditure reduction strategies implemented in 2008-2009 and a direct consequence of the Agency’s commitment to cost containment.

Conference Fees

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, the Agency’s conferences fees expenditures have decreased by $29 thousand or 19%.

Divulgation des frais de voyage et d'accueil

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’évènements, du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l'Agence Parcs Canada (APC) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux appuient pour la plupart directement le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

En particulier dans le cas de Parcs Canada, ceci inclut la gestion des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation pour le compte des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Parcs Canada a pour mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux afin que les citoyens canadiens et les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent les apprécier et en jouir.

Mandat et activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et d’en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd’hui et de demain.

Les programmes qui soutiennent le mandat de Parcs Canada comprennent :

  • Création de lieux patrimoniaux ;
  • Conservation des ressources patrimoniales ;
  • Appréciation et compréhension du public ;
  • Expérience du visiteur ; et
  • Infrastructure des lotissements urbains et routes de transit.

Nos parcs nationaux, nos lieux historiques nationaux et nos aires marines nationales de conservation offrent à la population canadienne une variété d'activités récréatives et d'apprentissage, sans compter l'occasion unique de tisser un lien personnel avec ces lieux patrimoniaux. Chaque année, les lieux patrimoniaux administrés par Parcs Canada enregistrent plus de 20 millions de personnes-visites.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes et du mandat de Parcs Canada peuvent être trouvés dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités et dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’APC

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’évènements, Parcs Canada a adopté un plan pour gérer avec prudence et probité les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences. Des mesures de contrôle et des procédures améliorées ont été mises en place pour s'assurer que ces dépenses sont raisonnables, appropriées et conformes aux objectifs et aux priorités de l’Agence.

Depuis 2009-2010, les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence ont diminuées de 41% en raison d’une gestion proactive de ces dépenses. Parcs Canada continuera à surveiller la progression des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences dans le cadre de son processus internes régulier de production de rapports.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l'Agence Parcs Canada sont résumées ci-dessous:

Catégorie de DépensesDépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(a)
Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(b)
Écart
(a-b)
  (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 8 633$ 11 505$ (2 872$)
Voyages - Non-Fonctionnaires 683$ 933$ (251$)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre* 0$ 0$ 0$
Total des dépenses de voyages 9 316$ 12 438$ (3 122$)
Accueil 208$ 321$ (113$)
Frais de partipation aux conférences 124$ 153$ (29$)
Total 9 648$ 12 912$ (3 264$)

(*) Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme d'un ministère.

 

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

La présente section explique brièvement les écarts importants dans les dépenses annuelles de chaque catégorie par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Tendance des dépenses liées aux voyages, service d’accueil et conférences
de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013

Graphique de la Tendance des dépenses liées aux voyages, service d’accueil et  Conférence. La description détaillée suit dans le texte

[description longue]

Voyages

En 2012-2013, les dépenses de voyages de l’Agence ont diminué de 25% par rapport à 2011-2012. Depuis 2009-2010 l’Agence a maintenu une tendance des dépenses de voyages à la baisse de plus de 40%. Cette diminution est attribuable aux stratégies proactives de réduction des dépenses mises en place en 2008-2009 ainsi qu’à l’engagement de l’Agence en matière de restriction des coûts.

  • Fonctionnaires : Comparées à celles de l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyage de l’Agence par des fonctionnaires ont diminué de 2,9 millions de dollars, soit 25%.
  • Non-fonctionnaires : Comparées à celles de l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyage de l’Agence par de non-fonctionnaires ont diminué de 251 000 $, soit 27%.
  • Ministre et personnel du ministre : Les dépenses effectuées par le ministre et son personnel ne s’appliquent pas à  Parcs canada, car elles sont couvertes par le budget d’Environnement Canada.

Accueil

Comparativement à l’exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses du service d’accueil de l’Agence ont diminué de 113 000 $, soit 35%. Cette diminution est attribuable aux stratégies proactives de réduction des dépenses mises en place en 2008-2009 ainsi qu’à l’engagement de l’Agence en matière de restriction des coûts.

Conference

Comparativement à l’exercice 2011-2012, les frais de participation aux conférences de l’Agence ont diminué de 29 000$, soit 19%.