Quarterly Financial Report

Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended December 31, 2012

Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board.

The report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

A summary description of the Parks Canada Agency's program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly financial report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Parks Canada Agency's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As Part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal 2012-13, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

As part of the performance reporting process, the Parks Canada Agency prepares financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly financial report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase in resources available for the year and net decrease in actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31.

Comparison of Net Budgetary Authorities and Expenditures as of December 31, 2012 and December 31, 2011 (in millions of dollars)

The above chart outlines the total authorities available within the Agency as of December 31 of each year, the year to date expenditures as well as the expenditures during the quarter.

Significant Changes to Authorities

As of December 31, 2012, total authorities available for the year are $3 million higher compared to the same quarter of the previous year.

The differences are primarily attributable to the following:

  • $55 million increase in authorities available for use from the prior fiscal year
  • $11 million increase to severance and maternity reimbursement for costs incurred to date
  • $6.5 million advance for the move to a new building planned in 2013
  • $3.1 million increase for the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites
  • $1.5 million increase for the funding for Canada's fast start financing commitments under the Copenhagen Accord, which supports climate change adaptation and mitigation in developing countries. Additional funds will be sought through the Supplementary Estimates C
  • $45 million reduction in funding as a result of completing sections of the Trans-Canada Highway from a two-lane undivided highway to a four-lane divided highway in Banff National Park (Canada's Economic Action Plan and other)
  • $15.7 million reduction for the transfer of e-mail, data centre and telecommunications services to Shared Services Canada
  • $9.1 million reduction for emergency response to natural disasters, and unanticipated health- and safety-related capital repairs
  • $4.5 million reduction in funding reflecting measures announced in Budget 2012. The remainder of the savings measures in Budget 2012 will be reflected in the Supplementary Estimates C

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

Expended:
As per the Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table, the total expended in the third quarter ending December 31, 2012 decreased by $12.8 million compared to the previous year, from $159.8 million to $147 million. This represents an eight-percent decrease of recorded expenditures compared to the same period in 2011-12. Similarly, the year to date expenditures used at quarter end decreased by $34.2 million compared to the previous year, from $499.4 million to $465.2 million. This represents a seven-percent decrease of recorded expenditures compared to the same period in 2011-12. The majority of the decrease between 2011-12 and 2012-13 is related to our efforts to realign and streamline the operations in a transition period.

Planned:
As per the Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table, the total planned expenditures as of the third quarter ending December 31, 2012, increased by $3 million compared to the previous year, from $764.3 million to $767.3 million. This represents less than a 1-percent increase in planned expenditures compared to the same period in 2011-12. The increase in planned personnel expenditures is mostly attributable to the adjustment made to the Agency's reference levels for personnel in order to reflect historical spending patterns as well as funding received for increased costs incurred in severance resulting from the reduction of its workforce. The majority of the increase to the transfer payment standard object is related to the renewal of the Agency's General Class Contribution Program. The other subsidies and payments standard object has also increased as the Agency is planning on investing in the establishment and expansion of national parks and marine conservation areas.

The decreases in standard object planned expenditures for transportation and communication and professional and special services mostly relate to the transfer made to Shared Services Canada for e-mail, data centre and telecommunications services and the decrease in the Trans-Canada Highway funding as a result of nearing completion of the project.

Risks and Uncertainties

Parks Canada Agency is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities appropriated over a two-year period for program expenditures, including capital expenditures and transfer payments. Also, Parks Canada is partially funded through respendable revenue which originates mainly from entrance and camping fees. These revenues are impacted by economic fluctuations, competition from other parks and cultural attractions and weather conditions. At the end of the third quarter, the Agency's operational revenues (also referred to as expenditures equivalent to the revenues in the Statement of Authorities Table were consistent with the prior year's collections.

The Agency is reviewing dams on canals to determine their status, short term remedial measures needed to reduce risks, and recapitalization requirements to ensure compliance with industry standards. As part of ongoing due diligence in operations and maintenance of the dams, the Agency plans to complete dam safety reviews for 39 high risk dams at a cost of approximately $15.6 million. This work began in 2011-12 and will be completed in 2015.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 of $6.0 million for 2012-13, $19.7 million for 2013-14 and $29.2 million for 2014-15 and ongoing through both reductions and restraint to streamline and focus operations while ensuring continued quality delivery to Canadians on its important mandate.

The following are the major elements being implemented:

  • Streamlining and consolidating technical and professional services.
  • Aligning the seasonality of our workforce to reflect changed work requirements.

On October 18, 2012, the government announced the navigation season on canals for 2013 to provide a workable schedule going forward while minimizing the impact on the local economies and visitors.

Consistent with the Government of Canada's efforts to reduce the deficit, streamline government activities and ensure value to Canadians, Parks Canada has implemented national human resources strategies to build strong internal networks and focus on attracting, retaining and engaging its workforce. This is aimed at ensuring that Parks Canada's highly professional and dedicated workforce continues to provide quality services and programs to Canadians.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

On November 15, 2011, along with 43 other departments and agencies, Parks Canada's Information Technology (IT) services in the domains of e-mail, data centres, network and telecommunications support were transferred to Shared Services Canada. This represents a reduction to the Agency's 2012-13 Authorities of $15.7 million.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Alan Latourelle
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
March 1, 2013
Maria Stevens
Chief Financial Officer, Parks Canada
March 1, 2013



Statement of Authorities (Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2012-2013 Fiscal Year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2011
Year to date used at quarter end
- Vote 25 - Program expenditures 604,018 107,565 328,252 604,867 120,936 365,284
- Vote 30 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 500 0 0 500 0 0
Budgetory statutory authorities
- Employee benefit plans 51,763 12,941 38,822 47,942 11,966 35,938
- Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 111,000 26,460 98,105 111,000 26,849 98,168
Total Budgetary Authorities 767,281 146,965 465,179 764,309 159,751 499,390
* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end


Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2012-2013 Fiscal Year 2011-2012
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 394,437 86,944 300,122 345,631 87,801 291,553
Transportation and communications 19,000 3,585 8,784 41,000 4,448 15,633
Information 12,000 1,730 4,989 11,001 2,556 6,728
Professional and special services 103,024 20,698 44,012 150,134 25,506 60,563
Rentals 15,000 2,645 12,064 19,000 2,944 11,214
Purchased Repair and maintenance 94,000 15,482 42,545 50,000 17,413 49,682
Utilities, materials and supplies 44,000 7,766 22,801 72,000 9,407 25,967
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 23,000 606 1,533 38,151 4,221 7,952
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 23,000 3,190 7,682 13,000 4,218 10,450
Transfer payments 13,820 2,377 7,749 9,392 3,222 8,179
Other subsidies and payments 26,000 1,942 12,899 15,000 -1,985 11,469
Total gross budgetary expenditures 767,281 146,965 465,179 764,309 159,751 499,390
* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Rapport financier trimestriel

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2012

Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor.

Le rapport doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme de l’Agence Parcs Canada se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité de caisse. L’état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l’Agence Parcs Canada accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par cette dernière, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2012-2013. Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un cadre spécifique conçu afin de répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l’intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Dans le cadre du processus de présentation de l’information sur le rendement, l’Agence Parcs Canada prépare ses états financiers en utilisant une comptabilité d’exercice intégrale, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) pour le secteur public au Canada. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou de quelconque examen.


Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les principaux éléments qui ont contribué à l’augmentation nette des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice financier en cours et la diminution nette des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre.

Comparaison des authorisations budgétaires nettes et des dépenses au 31 décember 2012 et 31 décember 2011 (en millions de dollars)

Le tableau ci-dessus indique les autorisations totales disponibles au sein de l’Agence en date du 31 décembre de chaque exercice financier, les dépenses cumulées depuis le début de l’exercice financier ainsi que les dépenses engagées au cours du trimestre.

Changements importants aux autorisations

Au 31 décembre 2012, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponibles pour l’exercice financier 2012-2013 a augmenté de 3 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice financier précédent.

L’écart est principalement attribuable aux éléments suivants:

  • 55 millions de dollars d'augmentation des autorisations pouvant être utilisées par rapport à l'exercice précédent;
  • 11 millions de dollars d'augmentation pour le remboursement des indemnités de départ et des congés de maternité encourus jusqu'à ce jour;
  • 6,5 millions de dollars en avance de fonds pour le déménagement au nouveau bâtiment prévu en 2013;
  • 3,1 millions de dollars d'augmentation consacrés à l'évaluation, à la gestion et à l'assainissement des sites contaminés fédéraux;
  • 1,5 millions de dollars d'augmentation pour le financement des engagements financiers à court terme du Canada relativement à l'Accord de Copenhague, lequel soutien des activités d'adaptation aux changements climatiques et d'atténuation de son incidence dans les pays en voie de développement. Des fonds supplémentaires seront demandés par l'entremise du budget supplémentaire des dépenses C;
  • 45 millions de dollars de réduction en financement pour finaliser l'élargissement d'un tronçon de la Transcanadienne afin de transformer, dans le parc national de Banff, une route à deux voies à chaussée unique en route à quatre voies à chaussées séparées (Plan d'Action Économique du Canada et autres);
  • 15,7 millions de dollars de réduction en raison du transfert des services pour le courrier électronique, les centres de données, le réseau et les télécommunications à Services partagés Canada.
  • 9,1 millions de dollars de diminution au montant consacré aux interventions d'urgence à la suite de désastres naturels et aux réparations imprévues aux propriétés et ce, à des fins de santé et de sécurité du public;
  • 4,5 millions de dollars de diminution au financement, reflétant ainsi les mesures annoncées au Budget 2012. Le reste des mesures des économies du Budget 2012 sera indiqué dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses C.

Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

Dépenses engagées :
Comme l’indique le tableau des Dépenses budgétaires par article courant, le total des dépenses engagées au cours du troisième trimestre, qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2012, a diminué de 12,8 millions de dollars en comparaison avec l’exercice financier précédent, passant de 159,8 à 147 millions de dollars. À cet effet, cela représente une diminution des dépenses engagées de huit pourcent comparativement à la même période en 2011-2012. Pareillement, le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre a diminué de 34,2 millions de dollars par rapport à l'année précédente, passant de 499,4 millions de dollars à 465,2 millions de dollars. Cela représente une diminution de sept pourcent des dépenses enregistrées par rapport à la même période en 2011-2012. La diminution entre 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 est surtout attribuable à nos efforts d’harmonisation et de rationalisation des opérations durant la période de transition.

Dépenses prévues :
Comme l’indique le tableau des Dépenses budgétaires par article courant, le total des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice financier au troisième trimestre, qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2012, a augmenté de 3 millions de dollars en comparaison avec l’exercice financier précédent, passant de 764,3 à 767,3 millions de dollars. En effet, cela représente une augmentation des dépenses prévues de moins de un pourcent comparativement à la même période en 2011-2012. L’augmentation des dépenses prévues pour le personnel s’explique en majeure partie par l’ajustement effectué des niveaux de référence de l’Agence pour le personnel afin de refléter l’historique des dépenses, ainsi que par le financement reçu pour couvrir l’augmentation des coûts encourus pour les indemnités de départ découlant de la réduction des effectifs. Ensuite, l’augmentation de l’article courant des paiements de transfert est principalement attribuable au renouvellement du Programme général de contributions par catégorie de l’Agence. De plus, l’article courant des autres subventions et des autres paiements a également augmenté, puisque l’Agence prévoit investir des sommes pour l’établissement et l’agrandissement des parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation.

Enfin, la diminution des dépenses prévues par article courant, notamment aux transports et communications ainsi qu’aux services professionnels et spéciaux, découle principalement du transfert effectué à Services partagés Canada pour les services de courrier électronique, de centres de données et de télécommunications, ainsi que de la diminution du financement de la Transcanadienne en raison de l’achèvement imminent du projet.

Risques et incertitudes

L’Agence Parcs Canada est principalement financée par le biais d’autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement et accordées pour une période de deux ans afin de couvrir les dépenses de programme, notamment les dépenses en immobilisations et les paiements de transfert. En outre, Parcs Canada est partiellement financée par le biais de recettes qui équivalent aux revenus provenant principalement des droits d’entrée et des droits de camping. Ces revenus varient en fonction des fluctuations économiques, de la compétition livrée par les autres parcs et les autres attractions culturelles ainsi que des conditions météorologiques. D’ailleurs, au terme du troisième trimestre, les recettes d’exploitation de l’Agence (appelées dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus dans le tableau État des autorisations) étaient semblables aux entrées de l’exercice précédent.

L’Agence examine les barrages des canaux afin de déterminer leurs statuts, les mesures correctives nécessaires à court terme qui permettront de réduire les risques ainsi que les réfections devant être effectuées afin d’assurer la conformité de ces installations face aux standards de l'industrie. L’Agence, soucieuse de faire continuellement preuve de diligence raisonnable dans ses opérations et ses activités d’entretien de barrages, prévoit réaliser des inspections de sécurité sur 39 barrages à haut risque à un coût d’environ 15,6 millions de dollars. Ces inspections ont d’ailleurs commencé en 2011 2012 et seront achevées en 2015.

Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 lesquelles s’élèvent à 6 millions de dollars pour 2012-2013, 19,7 millions de dollars en 2013-2014 et 29,2 millions de dollars en 2014-2015 et les exercices suivants. Ces économies seront réalisées par des compressions et des réductions visant à rationaliser et à concentrer les opérations de l’Agence, tout en assurant aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes des services de qualité en tout temps, conformément au mandat important de l’Agence.

Les principales mesures mises en œuvre sont les suivantes :

  • Rationaliser et regrouper les services techniques et professionnels.
  • Ajuster la nature saisonnière des emplois afin de refléter les changements dans les exigences de travail.

Le 18 octobre 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé les dates de la saison 2013 de navigation sur les canaux afin de fournir un calendrier de travail qui permettra de faire des économies tout en réduisant les incidences sur les visiteurs et l'économie des collectivités locales.

Conformément aux efforts du gouvernement du Canada pour réduire le déficit, rationaliser les activités gouvernementales et assurer une utilisation efficace des fonds publics, Parcs Canada a mis en œuvre des stratégies de gestion des ressources humaines à l'échelle nationale, pour assurer la vitalité des réseaux internes en se concentrant sur le recrutement, le maintien en poste et la mobilisation des effectifs. Ceci assure que les employés de Parcs Canada, forts de leur professionnalisme et de leur dévouement, continueront de fournir des services et des programmes de qualité aux Canadiens.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le 15 novembre 2011, comme pour 43 autres ministères et autres agences, les services de technologie de l’information (TI) de Parcs Canada en matière de soutien pour le courrier électronique, les centres de données, le réseau et les télécommunications ont été transférés à Services partagés Canada, ce qui se traduit par une diminution de 15,7 millions de dollars des pouvoirs d’autorisation de l’Agence.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Alan Latourelle
Directeur général de l'Agence Parcs Canada
1 mars 2013
Maria Stevens
Dirigeante principale des finances, Parcs Canada
1 mars 2013


État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2012-2013Exercice 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013*Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreCrédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses du Programme 604 018 107 565 328 252 604 867 120 936 365 284
Crédit 30 - Paiements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 0 0 500 0 0
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contribution aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 51 763 12 941 38 822 47 942 11 966 35 938
Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 111 000 26 460 98 105 111 000 26 849 98 168
Autorisations budgétaires totales 767 281 146 965 465 179 764 309 159 751 499 390
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non-vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2012-2013Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013*Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreDépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:
Personnel 394 437 86 944 300 122 345 631 87 801 291 553
Transports et communications 19 000 3 585 8 784 41 000 4 448 15 633
Information 12 000 1 730 4 989 11 001 2 556 6 728
Services professionnels et spéciaux 103 024 20 698 44 012 150 134 25 506 60 563
Location 15 000 2 645 12 064 19 000 2 944 11 214
Achat de services de réparation et d'entretien 94 000 15 482 42 545 50 000 17 413 49 682
Services publics, fournitures et approvisonnements 44 000 7 766 22 801 72 000 9 407 25 967
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages 23 000 606 1 533 38 151 4 221 7 952
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 23 000 3 190 7 682 13 000 4 218 10 450
Paiements de transfert 13 820 2 377 7 749 9 392 3 222 8 179
Autres subventions et paiements 26 000 1 942 12 899 15 000 -1 985 11 469
Dépenses budgétaires totales 767 281 146 965 465 179 764 309 159 751 499 390
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre