Quarterly Financial Report

Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter ended September 2011

Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board.

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates (and Supplementary Estimates A as applicable) for which full supply was released on June 27th, 2011.

The report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

A summary description of the Parks Canada Agency's program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly financial report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Parks Canada Agency's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the performance reporting process, the Parks Canada Agency prepares its annual audited financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly financial report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net decrease in resources available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended September 30.Budgetay Authorities and Expenditures for the second Quarter of 2011-12 and 2010-11 ending September 30

The above chart outlines the total authorities available within the Agency as of September 30 of each year, the year-to-date expenditures as well as the expenditures during the quarter.

Significant changes to Authorities

As at September 30, 2011, total authorities available for the year are $183.4 million less than compared to the same quarter of the previous year.

The difference is primarily attributable to the end of funding under the Canada Economic Action Plan (CEAP). The major reductions are:

  • $142.6 million for improvements and upgrades to national historic sites and Parks Canada's visitor facilities (CEAP)

  • $16.6 million for the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites (CEAP)

  • $15 million for upgrading a section of the Trans-Canada Highway from a two-lane undivided highway to a four-lane divided highway in Banff National Park (CEAP and other)

  • $4.5 million for Budget 2010 - Cost containment measures

Significant changes to budgetary expenditures

Expended:
As per the Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table, the total expended in the second quarter ending September 30, 2011 decreased by $45.5 million compared to the previous year, from $248.8 million to $203.3 million. This represents an 18% decrease of expenditures recorded for the same period in 2010-11. The majority of the decrease between 2010-11 and 2011-12 relates to professional & special services, repair & maintenance, acquisition of land, buildings & works and is a result of the end of funding relating to the Canada Economic Action Plan for improvements and upgrades to national historic sites and Parks Canada's visitor facilities. All other expenditures are consistent with prior year spending trends.

Planned:
The decrease in planned expenditures for acquisition of land, buildings and works is also a result of the end of funding related to the Canada Economic Action Plan for improvements and upgrades to national historic sites and Parks Canada's visitor facilities.

Risks and Uncertainties

Parks Canada is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities appropriated over a 2 year period for program expenditures, including capital expenditures and transfer payments. Also, Parks Canada Agency is partially funded through respendable revenue which originates mainly from entrance and camping fees. These revenues are impacted by economic fluctuations, competition from other parks and cultural attractions and weather conditions. At the end of Quarter 2, the Agency's operational revenues (also referred to as expenditures equivalent to the revenues in the Statement of Authorities Table) were $4.8 million higher than at the same time last fiscal year. This is a result of an increase in Business revenues and to improvements made to revenue recording processes.

The Federal Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments/agencies would be frozen at their 2010-11 levels for the fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13. Parks Canada has put in place the following measures to contain costs:

  • A series of interim measures were initially put in place for a 6 month period and have now been extended into 2011-12. The interim measures include: operational cost controls and targeted restrictions on filling vacant positions.

  • The Agency will be monitoring closely its resources to ensure operating costs are contained, and reallocate throughout the year as necessary.

Budget 2011 announced that departmental budgets would be examined through a Strategic and Operating Review. Pursuant to this review, it is expected that future years' budgets will be reduced for fiscal years commencing in 2012-13. However, at this time, the nature and extent of any reductions are not known.

Over the past months, there were an unprecedented number of severe weather events that buried portions of 26 national parks and national historic sites under piles of debris and destroyed or damaged numerous visitor and operational facilities as well as several highways. The magnitude of damage and emergency response work has been and continues to be overwhelming both in respect to costs and timing, as these remedial works must be undertaken at the same time as the visitor season at parks and sites. On September 22, 2011, the Agency was successful in accessing the Treasury Board Management Reserve, to address the most immediate needs.

Parks Canada is responsible for 233 dams and 110 locks that control water levels along its nine historic canals. The replacement value of this infrastructure is estimated at approximately $4 billion. A preliminary vulnerability assessment has recently been carried out and in collaboration with Public Works and Government Services Canada, detailed inspections are now being carried out to determine short-term remedial measures to reduce risks and capital repairs to ensure compliance with safety codes.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

Although the Agency delivered on the majority of its Canada Economic Action Plan commitments in 2010-11, the program continues to have a significant impact on operations in 2011-12. The Agency announced a project list that exceeded its Canada Economic Action Plan funding to ensure that it could fully deliver this program commitment. As a result, it is the Agency's intention to continue to deliver on approximately $26 million of announced investments within its existing capital program.

In addition, the Agency continues to deliver on the twinning of the Trans-Canada Highway with an investment of $130 million over the next three years.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Alan Latourelle
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
November 28, 2011
Maria Stevens
Chief Financial Officer, Parks Canada
November 28, 2011



Statement of Authorities (Unaudited)
 Fiscal Year 2011-2012Fiscal Year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012*
(in thousands of dollars)
Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2011
(in thousands of dollars)
Year-to-date used at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011*
(in thousands of dollars)
Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2010
(in thousands of dollars)
Year-to-date used at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars)
- Vote 25 - Program expenditures 575,531 142,755 244,348 760,678 192,221 298,915
- Vote 30 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 500     500    
Budgetory statutory authorities            
- Employee benefit plans 47,942 11,986 23,972 46,229 11,557 23,114
- Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 111,000 48,569 71,319 111,000 44,978 66,554
Total Budgetary Authorities 734,973 203,310 339,639 918,407 248,756 388,583
* Includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

 

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Unaudited)
 Fiscal Year 2011-2012Fiscal Year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012*
(in thousands of dollars)
Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011
(in thousands of dollars)
Year-to-date used at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011*
(in thousands of dollars)
Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2010
(in thousands of dollars)
Year-to-date used at quarter end
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures:  
Personnel 338,000 111,282 203,752 338,000 111,437 203,444
Transportation and communications 41,000 6,957 11,185 41,000 5,764 10,498
Information 11,000 2,670 4,172 11,000 2,075 3,267
Professional and special services 149,985 22,718 35,057 159,100 39,972 51,078
Rentals 19,000 5,681 8,270 16,330 5,625 7,701
Repair and maintenance 50,000 24,277 32,269 57,330 37,866 49,281
Utilities, materials and supplies 72,000 10,545 16,560 63,720 10,806 16,997
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 22,726 2,505 3,731 204,157 10,523 11,814
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 13,000 3,761 6,232 10,400 4,590 7,943
Transfer payments 3,262 3,201 4,957 4,370 5,053 6,054
Other subsidies and payments 15,000 9,713 13,454 13,000 15,045 20,505
Total gross budgetary expenditures 734,973 203,310 339,639 918,407 248,756 388,582
* Includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Rapport financier trimestriel

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2011

Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor.

Le rapport reflète les résultats du premier trimestre de l'exercice financier en cours, en lien avec le Budget principal des dépenses (et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), le cas échéant) ayant fait l'objet d'une dotation totale des crédits le 27 juin 2011.

Le rapport doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme de l'Agence Parcs Canada se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité de caisse. L'état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l'Agence Parcs Canada accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l'Agence, en conformité avec le Budget principal et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre du processus de présentation de l'information sur le rendement, l'Agence Parcs Canada prépare ses états financiers vérifiés annuels en utilisant une comptabilité d'exercice intégrale, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) pour le secteur public au Canada. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en lumière les principaux éléments qui ont contribué à la réduction nette des ressources disponibles pour l'exercice et des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre.

 Autorisation budgétaires et dépenses pour le trimesre se terminant le 30 septembre de 2011-12 et 2010-11

Le tableau ci-dessus indique les autorisations totales disponibles au sein de l'Agence en date du 30 septembre de chaque année, les dépenses cumulées depuis le début de l'exercice, ainsi que les dépenses engagées au cours du trimestre.

Changements importants aux autorisations

Au 30 septembre 2011, le total des autorisations budgétaires utilisables pour l'exercice a diminué de 183,4 millions de dollars par comparaison avec le même trimestre de l'exercice précédent.

Cette diminution s'explique en bonne partie par la fin du financement accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada (PAEC). Les principales réductions sont les suivantes :

  • 142,6 millions de dollars consacrés à l'amélioration et à la modernisation des lieux historiques nationaux administrés par Parcs Canada et des installations destinées aux visiteurs (PAEC);
  • 16,6 millions de dollars consacrés à l'évaluation, à la gestion et à l'assainissement des sites contaminés fédéraux (PAEC);
  • 15 millions de dollars consacrés à l'élargissement d'un tronçon de la Transcanadienne afin de transformer une route à deux voies à chaussée unique en route à quatre voies à chaussées séparées dans le parc national Banff (PAEC et autres);
  • 4,5 millions de dollars en raison des mesures de limitation des coûts prévues au budget fédéral de 2010.

 

Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

Dépenses engagées :
Comme l'indique le tableau des dépenses budgétaires par article courant, le total des dépenses engagées au cours du deuxième trimestre, qui s'est terminé le 30 septembre 2011, a diminué de 45,5 millions de dollars par comparaison avec l'exercice précédent, passant de 248,8 millions de dollars à 203,3 millions de dollars, ce qui représente une diminution des dépenses de 18 % par rapport à la même période en 2010-2011. Cet écart s'explique en majeure partie par la diminution des dépenses en services professionnels et spéciaux, en réparation et en entretien, en achat de terrains ainsi qu'en acquisition de bâtiments et d'ouvrages qui résulte de la fin du financement accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour l'amélioration et la modernisation des lieux historiques nationaux et des installations destinées aux visiteurs. Toutes les autres dépenses ont été conformes aux tendances des dépenses de l'exercice précédent.

Dépenses prévues :
La diminution des dépenses prévues pour l'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages résulte également de la fin du financement accordé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour l'amélioration et la modernisation des lieux historiques nationaux et des installations destinées aux visiteurs.

Risques et incertitudes

L'Agence Parcs Canada est principalement financée par le biais d'autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement et accordées pour une période de deux ans afin de couvrir les dépenses de programme, notamment les dépenses en immobilisations et les paiements de transfert. En outre, l'Agence Parcs Canada est partiellement financée par le biais de recettes qui équivalent aux revenus qui proviennent principalement des droits d'entrée et de camping. Ces revenus varient en fonction des fluctuations économiques, de la compétition livrée par les autres parcs et attractions culturelles ainsi que des conditions météorologiques. Au terme du deuxième trimestre, les recettes d'exploitation de l'Agence (appelées dépenses qui équivalent au revenus dans le tableau État des autorisations) étaient 4,8 millions de dollars plus élevées qu'au même moment lors de l'exercice précédent. Cela s'explique par l'augmentation des recettes tirées des activités et par les améliorations apportées aux processus de comptabilisation des recettes.

Dans le budget fédéral de 2010, le gouvernement a annoncé que le budget d'exploitation des ministères et organismes serait gelé à son niveau de 2010-2011 au cours des exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. Parcs Canada a mis en place les mesures suivantes pour limiter les coûts :

  • Un ensemble de mesures, qui avaient d'abord été adoptées de manière provisoire pour une période de six mois, ont été prolongées en 2011-2012. Ces mesures comprennent le contrôle des coûts d'exploitation et des restrictions ciblées quant à la dotation des postes vacants.
  • Tout au long de l'exercice, l'Agence surveillera étroitement ses ressources pour voir à ce que les coûts d'exploitation soient réduits au minimum et à ce que les fonds soient réaffectés au besoin.

Dans le budget de 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé que le budget des ministères serait revu dans le cadre d'un examen stratégique et fonctionnel. On s'attend à ce que le budget des années à venir soit réduit à compter de l'exercice 2012-2013. Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, la nature et la portée des réductions qui pourraient être imposées sont difficilement identifiables.

Au cours des derniers mois, un nombre sans précédent de phénomènes météorologiques violents se sont produits dans 26 parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux. Ces événements ont laissé certains secteurs enfouis sous des montagnes de débris et ont endommagé ou détruit de nombreuses installations destinées aux visiteurs, bâtiments administratifs et routes de transit. Les ressources en temps et en argent qui ont dû et qui doivent toujours être consacrées aux interventions d'urgence et aux travaux de remise en état sont immenses, d'autant plus que ces travaux doivent être réalisés pendant la saison touristique.
Le 22 septembre 2011, l'Agence a obtenu l'accès à la réserve de gestion du Conseil du Trésor, ce qui lui a permis de répondre à ses besoins les plus urgents.

L'Agence Parcs Canada est responsable de 233 barrages et de 110 écluses qui contrôlent le niveau de l'eau le long des neufs canaux historiques qu'elle administre. La valeur de remplacement de ces infrastructures pourrait s'élever à environ 4 milliards de dollars. Une évaluation préliminaire de la vulnérabilité de ces installations a récemment été effectuée.  En collaboration avec TPSGC, Parcs Canada mène actuellement des inspections approfondies dans le but d'établir les mesures correctives à apporter à court terme pour réduire les risques et pour déterminer les réparations importantes devant être effectuées pour que ces installations répondent aux codes de sécurité.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Bien que l'Agence ait utilisé la majorité des fonds consentis par le Plan d'action économique du Canada en 2010-2011, ce programme continue d'avoir une incidence considérable sur les activités opérationnelles en 2011-2012. L'Agence a fait l'annonce d'une série de projets dont les coûts dépassent les sommes accordées par le Plan d'action économique du Canada afin d'exploiter au maximum les engagements du Plan. Ainsi, l'Agence à l'intention de réaliser des projets totalisant des investissements annoncés d'environ 26 millions de dollars dans le cadre de son programme d'immobilisations actuel.

En outre, l'Agence poursuit le projet d'élargissement de la Transcanadienne grâce à un investissement de 130 millions de dollars au cours des trois prochaines années.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs 

Approuvé par :

Alan Latourelle
Directeur général de l'Agence Parcs Canada
28 novembre 2011
Maria Stevens
Dirigeante principale des finances
28 novembre 2011



État des autorisations (non vérifié)
 Exercice 2011-2012Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*
(en milliers de dollars)
Crédit utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011*
(en milliers de dollars)
Crédit utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010
(en milliers de dollars)
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars)
Crédit 25 - Dépenses du Programme 575 531 142 755 244 348 760 678 192 221 298 915
Crédit 30 - Paiements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques  500      500    
Autorisations législatives budgétaires            
Contribution aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 47 942 11 986 23 972 46 229 11 557 23 114
Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la
Loi su l'Agence Parcs Canada
111 000 48 569 71 319 111 000 44 978 66 554
Autorisations budgétaires totales 734 973 203 310 339 639 918 407 248 756 388 583
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre



Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non-vérifié)
 Exercice 2011-2012Exercice 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
Cumul des crédit utilisé à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011*
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010
(en milliers de dollars)
Cumul des crédit utilisé à la fin du trimestre
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses:            
Personnel 338 000 111 282 203 752 338 000 111 437 203 444
Transports et communications 41 000 6 957 11 185 41 000 5 764 10 498
Information 11 000 2 670 4 172 11 000 2 075 3 267
Services professionnels et spéciaux 149 985 22 718 35 057 159 100 39 972 51 078
Location 19 000 5 681 8 270 16 330 5 625 7 701
Services de réparation et d'entretien 50 000 24 277 32 269 57 330 37 866 49 281
Services publics, fournitures et approvisonnements 72 000 10 545 16 560 63 720 10 806 16 997
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 22 726 2 505 3 731 204 157 10 523 11 814
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 13 000 3 761 6 232 10 400 4 590 7 943
Paiements de transfert 3 262 3 201 4 957 4 370 5 053 6 054
Autres subventions et paiements 15 000 9 713 13 454 13 000 15 045 20 505
Dépenses budgétaires totales 734 973 203 310 339 639 918 407 248 756 388 582
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre