Quarterly Financial Report

Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board.

The report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

A summary description of the Parks Canada Agency’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation
This quarterly financial report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Parks Canada Agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As Part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year.  Budget 2012 was tabled on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012.  As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012.  In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

As part of the performance reporting process, the Parks Canada Agency prepares financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly financial report has not been subject to an external audit or review.


Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase in resources available for the year and net decrease in actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30.

Budgetary Authorities and Expenditures for the first quarter of 2012-13 and 2011-12 ending June 30

The above chart outlines the total authorities available within the Agency as of June 30 of each year, the year-to-date expenditures as well as the expenditures during the quarter.

Significant Changes to Authorities

As at June 30, 2012, total authorities available for the year are $14.1 million higher than compared to the same quarter of the previous year.

The differences are primarily attributable to the following:

  • $55 million increase to the Agency’s funds appropriated over a two year period
  • $7.5 million increase for emergency response to natural disasters, and unanticipated health and safety related capital repairs
  • $5.9 million increase for the assessment, management and remediation of federal contaminated sites
  • $4.5 million increase to support the building of the Trans-Canada Trail
  • $45 million reduction in funding as a result of completing the Trans-Canada Highway from a two-lane undivided highway to a four-lane divided highway in Banff National Park (Canada’s Economic Action Plan and other)
  • $15.7 million reduction for the transfer of e-mail, data center and telecommunications services to Shared Services Canada.

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

Expended:
As per the Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table, the total expended in the first quarter ending June 30, 2012 decreased by $15.7 million compared to the previous year, from $136.3 million to $120.6 million. This represents a 12% decrease of expenditures recorded as compared to the same period in 2011-12. The majority of the decrease between 2011-12 and 2012-13 relates to expenditures in transportation and communications, professional and special services, purchased repair and maintenance, other subsidies and payments. These decreases are mainly attributable to the transfer made to Shared Services Canada for e-mail, data center and telecommunications services, as well as lower expenditures recorded for the Trans-Canada Highway compared to the same period in 2011-12. All other expenditures are consistent with prior year spending trends.

Planned:
As per the Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table, the total planned expenditures as of the first quarter ending June 30, 2012 increased by $14.1 million compared to the previous year, from $735 million to $749.1 million. This represents a 2% increase in planned expenditures as compared to the same period in 2011-12. The increase in planned personnel expenditures is mostly attributable to the adjustment made to the Agency’s reference levels for personnel in order to reflect historical spending patterns. The majority of the increase to the transfer payment standard object is for the renewal of the Agency’s General Class Contribution Program. The other subsidies and payments standard object has also increased as the Agency is planning on investing a significant amount for the establishment and expansion of national parks and marine conservation areas. The decreases in standard object planned expenditures mostly relate to the transfer made to Shared Services Canada for e-mail, data center and telecommunications services and the decrease in the Trans-Canada Highway funding as a result of nearing completion of the project.

Risks and Uncertainties

Parks Canada Agency is primarily funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities appropriated over a two year period for program expenditures, including capital expenditures and transfer payments. Also, Parks Canada is partially funded through respendable revenue which originates mainly from entrance and camping fees.   These revenues are impacted by economic fluctuations, competition from other parks and cultural attractions and weather conditions.  At the end of the first quarter, the Agency’s operational revenues (also referred to as expenditures equivalent to the revenues in the Statement of Authorities Table) were $4.1 million higher than at the same time last fiscal year.  This is a result of an increase in real property and business fees as well as improvement in the recording of revenue in the financial system.

In addition to the Budget announcements, the Agency has also been undertaking a concerted review of its dams to determine short term remedial measures to reduce risks and capital repairs to ensure compliance with safety codes.  As part of ongoing due diligence in operations and maintenance, the Agency plans to complete dam safety reviews for 39 high risk dams at a cost of approximately $15.6 million.  This work began in 2011-12 and will be completed in 2014-15.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Parks Canada will achieve Budget 2012 savings of $29.2 million by fiscal year 2014-15 through both reductions and restraint to streamline and focus operations while ensuring continued quality delivery to Canadians on its important mandate.

The following are the major steps to implement:

  • Streamlining and consolidating technical and professional services.
  • Aligning the seasonality of our workforce to the work requirements.
  • Parks Canada will align the length of its season, hours of operation, and personal service at locks on those canals it operates to focus investments on the periods of highest requirements.

The 2012-13 Budget 2012 savings will be reflected later in the fiscal year.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

On November 15, 2011, along with 43 other departments and agencies, Parks Canada’s Information Technology (IT) services in the domains of e-mail, data centres, network and telecommunications support were transferred to Shared Services Canada. This represents a reduction to the Agency’s 2012-13 Authorities of $15.7 million.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Alan Latourelle
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
August 29, 2012
Lianne Wright
A/Chief Financial Officer, Parks Canada
August 24, 2012



Statement of Authorities (Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)Fiscal Year 2012-2013Fiscal Year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013*Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2012Year-to-date used at quarter endTotal available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012*Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2011
Year-to-date used at quarter end
- Vote 25 - Program expenditures 585,879 80,768 80,768 575,531 101,593 101,593
- Vote 30 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 500 0 0 500 0 0
Budgetory statutory authorities  
- Employee benefit plans 51,763 12,941 12,941 47,942 11,986 11,986
- Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 111,000 26,863 26,863 111,000 22,750 22,750
Total Budgetary Authorities 749,142 120,572 120,572 734,973 136,329 136,329
* Includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end


Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)Fiscal Year 2012-2013Fiscal Year 2011-2012
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013*Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012Year-to-date used at quarter endPlanned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012*Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011Year-to-date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 376,286 90,853 90,853 338,000 92,470 92,470
Transportation and communications 19,000 2,041 2,041 41,000 4,228 4,228
Information 12,000 1,547 1,547 11,000 1,502 1,502
Professional and special services 103,036 6,550 6,550 149,985 12,339 12,339
Rentals 15,000 2,233 2,233 19,000 2,589 2,589
Purchased Repair and maintenance 94,000 5,781 5,781 50,000 7,992 7,992
Utilities, materials and supplies 44,000 5,781 5,781 72,000 6,015 6,015
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 23,000 367 367 22,726 1,226 1,226
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 23,000 1,983 1,983 13,000 2,471 2,471
Transfer payments 13,820 2,323 2,323 3,262 1,756 1,756
Other subsidies and payments 26,000 1,113 1,113 15,000 3,741 3,741
Total gross budgetary expenditures 749,142 120,572 120,572 734,973 136,329 136,329
* Includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Rapport financier trimestriel

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre qui s'est terminé le 30 juin 2012

Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor.

Le rapport doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme de l’Agence Parcs Canada se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport
Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité de caisse. L’état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l’Agence Parcs Canada accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par cette dernière, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2012-2013. Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un cadre spécifique conçu afin de répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars,  après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l’intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Dans le cadre du processus de présentation de l’information sur le rendement, l’Agence Parcs Canada prépare ses états financiers en utilisant une comptabilité d’exercice intégrale, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) pour le secteur public au Canada. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou de quelconque examen.


Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les principaux éléments qui ont contribué à l’augmentation nette des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice financier en cours et la diminution nette des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin.

Autorisations budgédaires et dépenses pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2012-13 et 2011-12

Le tableau ci-dessus indique les autorisations totales disponibles au sein de l’Agence en date du 30 juin de chaque exercice financier, les dépenses cumulées depuis le début de l’exercice financier ainsi que les dépenses engagées au cours du trimestre.

Changements importants aux autorisations

Au 30 juin 2012, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponibles pour l’exercice financier
2012-2013 a augmenté de 14,1 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice financier précédent.

L’écart est principalement attribuable aux éléments suivants:

  • 55 millions de dollars d’augmentation aux fonds de l’Agence qui sont votés par le Parlement et accordés pour une période de deux ans;
  • 7,5 millions de dollars d’augmentation pour l’intervention d’urgence à la suite de désastres naturels et pour des réparations inattendues aux propriétés et ce, à des fins de santé et de sécurité envers la population;
  • 5,9 millions de dollars d’augmentation consacrés à l’évaluation, à la gestion et à l’assainissement des sites contaminés fédéraux;
  • 4,5 millions de dollars d’augmentation afin de soutenir la construction du sentier transcanadien;
  • 45 millions de dollars de réduction en financement pour finaliser l’élargissement d’un tronçon de la Transcanadienne afin de transformer, dans le parc national de Banff, une route à deux voies à chaussée unique en route à quatre voies à chaussées séparées (Plan d’Action Économique du Canada et autres);
  • 15,7 millions de dollars de réduction en raison du transfert des services de courrier électronique, de centres de données et de télécommunications à Services partagés Canada.

Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

Dépenses engagées :
Comme l’indique le tableau des dépenses budgétaires par article courant, le total des dépenses engagées au cours du premier trimestre, qui s’est terminé le 30 juin 2012, a diminué de 15,7 millions de dollars en comparaison avec l’exercice financier précédent, passant de 136,3 à 120,6 millions de dollars. À cet effet, cela représente une diminution des dépenses engagées de 12 % comparativement à la même période en 2011-2012. Cet écart s’explique en majeure partie par la diminution des dépenses en transport et en communication, en services professionnels et spéciaux, ainsi qu’en autres subventions et autres paiements. Ces réductions sont majoritairement attribuables au transfert des services de courrier électronique, de centres de données et de télécommunications à Services partagés Canada ainsi qu’à une diminution des dépenses enregistrées pour la Transcanadienne comparativement à la même période en 2011-2012. Enfin, toutes les autres dépenses ont été conformes aux tendances des dépenses de l’exercice financier précédent.

Dépenses prévues :
Comme l’indique le tableau des dépenses budgétaires par article courant, le total des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice financier au premier trimestre, qui s’est terminé le 30 juin 2012, a augmenté de 14,1 millions de dollars en comparaison avec l’exercice financier précédent, passant de 735 à 749,1 millions de dollars. En effet, cela représente une augmentation des dépenses prévues de 2 % comparativement à la même période en 2011-2012. L’augmentation des dépenses prévues pour le personnel s’explique en majeure partie par l’ajustement effectué des niveaux de référence de l’Agence pour le personnel afin de  refléter l’historique des dépenses antérieures. Ensuite, l’augmentation de l’article courant des paiements de transfert est principalement attribuable au renouvellement du Programme général de contributions par catégorie de l’Agence. De plus, l’article courant des autres subventions et des autres paiements a également augmenté, puisque l’Agence prévoit investir des sommes importantes pour l’établissement et l’agrandissement de parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation. Enfin, la diminution des dépenses prévues par article courant découle principalement du transfert effectué à Services partagés Canada pour les services de courrier électronique, de centres de données et de télécommunications, ainsi que de la diminution du financement de la Transcanadienne en raison de l’achèvement imminent du projet.

Risques et incertitudes

L’Agence Parcs Canada est principalement financée par le biais d’autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement et accordées pour une période de deux ans afin de couvrir les dépenses de programme, notamment les dépenses en immobilisations et les paiements de transfert. En outre, Parcs Canada est partiellement financée par le biais de recettes qui équivalent aux revenus provenant principalement des droits d’entrée et des droits de camping. Ces revenus varient en fonction des fluctuations économiques, de la compétition livrée par les autres parcs et les autres attractions culturelles ainsi que des conditions météorologiques. D’ailleurs, au terme du premier trimestre, les recettes d’exploitation de l’Agence (appelées dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus dans le tableau État des autorisations) étaient 4,1 millions de dollars plus élevées qu’à pareille date lors de l’exercice financier précédent. De fait, cela s’explique par l’augmentation des recettes tirées des droits immobiliers et des droits commerciaux ainsi que par une comptabilisation accélérée des recettes.

En plus des annonces du Budget, l’Agence mène actuellement des inspections de sécurité approfondies sur ses barrages dans le but d’établir les mesures correctives à apporter à court terme pour réduire les risques et pour déterminer les réparations importantes devant être effectuées afin d’assurer que ces installations soient conformes aux codes de sécurité. L’Agence, soucieuse de faire continuellement preuve de diligence raisonnable dans ses opérations et ses activités d’entretien, prévoit réaliser des inspections de sécurité sur 39 barrages à haut risque à un coût d’environ 15,6 millions de dollars. Ces inspections ont d’ailleurs commencé en 2011-2012 et seront achevés en 2014-2015.

Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Dans la foulée du Budget 2012, Parcs Canada réalisera des économies de 29,2 millions de dollars d’ici l’exercice 2014 2015 en appliquant des compressions et des réductions visant à rationaliser et à concentrer ses opérations, en vue d’assurer aux Canadiens et aux canadiennes une prestation de qualité continue de son important mandat.

Les principales mesures à mettre en œuvre sont les suivantes :

  • Rationaliser et regrouper les services techniques et professionnels.
  • Rajuster le caractère saisonnier de nos effectifs en fonction des exigences de travail.
  • Parcs Canada rajustera la durée de la saison d’activité, les heures d’ouverture et les services individuels aux écluses de ses canaux de manière à concentrer ses investissements au cours des périodes où les besoins sont les plus grands.

Les économies découlant du Budget 2012 qui seront réalisées au cours de l’exercice 2012-2013 seront exposées plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le 15 novembre 2011, comme pour 43 autres ministères et autres agences, les services de technologie de l’information (TI) de Parcs Canada en matière de soutien pour le courrier électronique, de centres de données et de réseau ont été transférés à Services partagés Canada, ce qui se traduit par une diminution de 15,7 millions de dollars des pouvoirs d’autorisation de l’Agence.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Alan Latourelle
Directeur général de Agence Parcs Canada
29 août 2012
Lianne Wright
Dirigeante principale des finances par intérim, Parcs Canada
24 août 2012


État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2012-2013Exercice 2012-2013
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013*Crédit utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreCrédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*Crédit utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses du Programme 585 879 80 768 80 768 575 531 101 593 101 593
Crédit 30 - Paiements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 0 0 500 0 0
Autorisations législatives budgétaires  
Contribution aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 51 763 12 941 12 941 47 942 11 986 11 986
Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 111 000 26 863 26 863 111 000 22 750 22 750
Autorisations budgétaires totales 749 142 120 572 120 572 734 973 136 329 136 329
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre


Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non-vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2012-2013Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013*Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012Cumul des crédit utilisé à la fin du trimestreDépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012*Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011Cumul des crédit utilisé à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:
Personnel 376 286 90 853 90 853 338 000 92 470 92 470
Transports et communications 19 000 2 041 2 041 41 000 4 228 4 228
Information 12 000 1 547 1 547 11 000 1 502 1 502
Services professionnels et spéciaux 103 036 6 550 6 550 149 985 12 339 12 339
Location 15 000 2 233 2 233 19 000 2 589 2 589
Achat de services de réparation et d'entretien 94 000 5 781 5 781 50 000 7 992 7 992
Services publics, fournitures et approvisonnements 44 000 5 781 5 781 72 000 6 015 6 015
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 23 000 367 367 22 726 1 226 1 226
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 23 000 1 983 1 983 13 000 2 471 2 471
Paiements de transfert 13 820 2 323 2 323 3 262 1 756 1 756
Autres subventions et paiements 26 000 1 113 1 113 15 000 3 741 3 741
Dépenses budgétaires totales 749 142 120 572 120 572 734 973 136 329 136 329
* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre