Common menu bar links

Service Standard for the Issuance of Parks Canada Agency Business Licences in National Parks (excluding guides and outfitters)

Service Standard

Successful applicants will receive their business licence or a reason for its refusal within 15 working days of receipt of the application and all documents required.

In the following cases, the time limit for responding to business licence applicants will be within 15 working days of the date of the review by the responsible park management board or committee, or the decision of the Agency, or upon completion of additional required processes :

  • A park establishment agreement or an impact benefit plan requires review by a Park Management Board or Committee;
  • A park establishment agreement or an impact benefit plan contains right of first priority procedures for Aboriginal groups associated with the park;
  • An Act of Parliament or a land claim agreement requires a decision to be made before a licence is issued or refused, for example the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 and the Species at Risk Act.

Performance target

The target for achieving this standard is set at 90 per cent.

Performance information

Service performance will be reported annually beginning in
June 2015.

Applying for a Business Licence

National Parks of Canada Business Licence Application (not applicable to guides and outfitters) information@pc.gc.ca

Service feedback

For more information or to make a complaint about the service provided, please contact:

Your local national park Superintendant; or
1-888-773-8888 or information@pc.gc.ca to be directed to your local national park Superintendant.

National Parks of Canada Business Licence Application

Anyone wishing to operate a business within a national park in Canada is required to apply to Parks Canada for a Business Licence with the following exceptions:

  • Businesses operating exclusively within the Town of Banff must obtain a licence from the Town of Banff. Businesses operating in Banff National Park both within and outside the Town of Banff must obtain a licence from both Parks Canada and the Town of Banff.
  • Businesses operating exclusively within the Municipality of Jasper must obtain a licence from the Municipality of Jasper. Businesses involving discretionary land use may require Parks Canada approval as part of the Municipal licensing process. Businesses operating in Jasper National Park both within and outside the Municipality of Jasper must obtain a licence from both Parks Canada and the Municipality of Jasper.

The National Parks of Canada Business Licence Regulations defines a "business" as "any trade, industry, employment, occupation, activity or special event carried on in a park for profit, gain, fund raising or commercial promotion, and includes an undertaking carried on in a park by a charitable organization, or by an organization or individual on a non-profit basis".

A separate Business Licence process is required for guiding/outfitting licences. For guiding/outfitting licences, please contact your local national park directly or via 1-888-773-8888 or information@pc.gc.ca to be directed to your local national park.

Business Licence Application Process

Step 1 - If you are a business operator wishing to conduct business within a national park, you require a Business Licence. An application form for a Business Licence can be obtained by contacting your local national park office or via 1-888-773-8888 or information@pc.gc.ca.

Step 2 - Complete the application form and return it to Parks Canada. Applications may be sent electronically, by fax, by mail or delivered in person. Additional information that may be required includes:

  • A brief written description of the business and the area of operation;
  • A copy of the business' certificate of incorporation or business registration;
  • For contractors, a copy of the applicant's journeyman certificate, or other documentations, relevant to the applicant's ability to carry on the proposed business activity;
  • For businesses operating from a leasehold for which they are not the lessee, a valid sub-lease agreement or written permission from the head lessee permitting them to offer their services;
  • Other information or documentation based on the type of business.

Step 3 - Parks Canada will issue a Business Licence or provide a rationale for its refusal of the application. The Superintendent may request that the applicant make changes to their application that may result in the application being approved.

Step 4 - Following the issuance of a Business Licence, the applicant must inform Parks Canada, in writing, of any of the following changes:

  • Transfer to another owner (a new Business Licence application must be completed by the new owner);
  • Change of business name or location;
  • Change to the nature of the business.

Business Licence Conditions

Parks Canada Business Licences are valid for one year from April 1st to March 31st of the following year, except in Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haïda Heritage Site, where licences expire at the end of the calendar year. The Superintendent may impose conditions on a Business Licence. These may include details about the business' hours of operation, equipment requirements, or health, safety and environmental protection requirements. The Superintendent may also impose conditions that are necessary for the protection, control and management of the natural or cultural resources of the park or to avoid interference with visitor experience or use by Aboriginal groups that have recognized rights or interests associated with the park.

Business Licence Fees

Annual Business Licence fees vary by type of business, and range from $3.90 - $294.40. Business Licence fees for the sale of alcohol are based on a percentage of the gross value purchased annually. Use this link to find the fee applicable to your business. Fees may be paid in cash, by credit card or cheque (payable to the Receiver General for Canada).

Business Licence Suspension

The Superintendent may suspend or revoke a Business Licence. Reasons that may result in the suspension of a Business Licence include, but are not limited to:

  • Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of the Business Licence;
  • Violation of the Canada National Parks Act or the National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations;
  • Activities carried out by the Business Licence holder which pose a serious threat to the safety of clients, park staff, or other park visitors; or
  • Activities carried out by the Business Licence holder that create unacceptable impacts on the park's natural or cultural resources, or interfere with visitor experience or use by Aboriginal groups that have recognized rights or interests associated with the park.

Norme de Service pour la Délivrance de Permis d’exploitation de Commerces (excluant les guides et les pourvoyeurs)

Norme de service

Les demandeurs recevront leur permis ou se verront communiquer la raison du refus de leur demande dans les 15 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la demande et de tous les documents requis.

Dans les cas suivant, le délai de réponse aux demandeurs de permis d'exploitation sera de 15 jours ouvrables suivant soit la date de prise de décision ou de révision par le conseil ou le comité de gestion d'un parc ou par l'Agence, soit la date de terminaison d'un processus additionnel requis:

  • Une entente visant la création d'un parc ou un plan sur des répercussions et avantages nécessite une révision par un conseil ou un comité de gestion du parc;
  • Une entente visant la création d'un parc ou un plan sur des répercussions et avantages confère un droit de priorité aux groupes autochtones associés au parc;
  • Une loi du parlement ou un accord sur les revendications territoriales exige une décision avant que le permis ne soit émis ou refusé, par exemple la Loi sur l'évaluation environnementale 2012 et la Loi sur les Espèces en péril.

Objectif de rendement

L'objectif lié au respect de cette norme est fixé à 90 pour cent.

Renseignements sur le rendement

Le rendement de ce service fera l'objet d'un rapport annuel à partir de juin 2015.

Faire une demande de permis d'exploitation de commerces

Demande de permis d'exploitation de commerces dans un parc national du Canada (non applicable aux guides et aux pourvoyeurs) information@pc.gc.ca

Rétroaction sur les services

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou pour formuler une plainte concernant le service fourni, veuillez contacter :

Le directeur du parc national de votre région; ou
1-888-773-8888 ou information@pc.gc.ca pour être dirigé vers le directeur du parc national de votre région.

Demande de permis d'exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada

Toute personne souhaitant exploiter un commerce à l'intérieur d'un parc national du Canada doit faire une demande de permis d'exploitation de commerces auprès de l'Agence Parcs Canada sous réserve des exceptions suivantes :

  • Les entreprises opérant exclusivement dans la ville de Banff doivent obtenir un permis de la ville de Banff (en anglais seulement). Les entreprises opérant tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de la ville de Banff doivent obtenir un permis de Parcs Canada et la ville de Banff.
  • Les entreprises opérant exclusivement dans la municipalité de Jasper doivent obtenir un permis de la municipalité de Jasper (en anglais seulement). Les entreprises dont les activités impliquent l'utilisation discrétionnaire de terres peuvent avoir besoin de l'approbation de Parcs Canada dans le cadre du processus d'autorisation municipale. Les entreprises opérant dans le parc national Jasper tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de la municipalité doivent obtenir un permis de Parcs Canada et de la municipalité de Jasper.

Le Règlement sur l'exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada définit le terme commerce : tout métier, industrie, emploi, profession, activité ou événement spécial exercé, exploité ou mené, dans un parc, à des fins lucratives ou pour une collecte de fonds ou une promotion commerciale, notamment une entreprise exploitée par une œuvre de bienfaisance ou une entreprise sans but lucratif exploitée par une organisation ou une personne.

Les permis de guide et de pourvoyeur sont délivrés dans le cadre d'un processus distinct. Pour obtenir ces permis, veuillez communiquer directement avec un parc national de votre région ou 1‑888‑773-8888 ou à information@pc.gc.ca pour être dirigé vers un parc de votre région.

Processus de demande de permis d'exploitation de commerces

Étape 1 - Si vous êtes un exploitant commercial et que vous souhaitez mener des activités à l'intérieur d'un parc national, vous avez besoin d'un permis d'exploitation de commerces. Vous pouvez obtenir un formulaire de demande en communiquant avec le bureau d'un parc national de votre région ou via 1-888-773-8888 ou à information@pc.gc.ca.

Étape 2 - Remplissez le formulaire de demande et envoyez-le à Parcs Canada. Les demandes peuvent être envoyées par voie électronique, par télécopieur, par la poste ou remises en personne. Voici les renseignements additionnels qui pourraient être requis :

  • une brève description écrite de votre commerce et du secteur dans lequel seront menées les activités commerciales;
  • une copie du certificat de constitution ou de l'enregistrement de l'entreprise;
  • lorsqu'il s'agit d'un entrepreneur, une copie de son certificat d'aptitude, ou tout autre document lié à la capacité du demandeur de mener les activités commerciales proposées;
  • les demandeurs voulant exercer leurs activités dans un domaine à bail dont ils ne sont pas locataires doivent fournir un sous-bail valide ou un document écrit du preneur à bail principal attestant qu'il autorise la prestation des services;
  • d'autres renseignements ou documents qui pourraient être demandés en fonction du type de commerce.

Étape 3 - Parcs Canada délivrera un permis d'exploitation ou fournira des raisons justifiant le rejet de la demande. Le directeur peut demander que le demandeur apporte des changements à sa demande, à la suite de quoi celle-ci pourrait être approuvée.

Étape 4- Suite à la délivrance d'un permis, le demandeur doit informer Parcs Canada par écrit de tout changement énoncé ci-dessous :

  • transfert du permis à un autre propriétaire (le nouveau propriétaire doit présenter sa propre demande de permis d'exploitation);
  • changement de la dénomination sociale ou du lieu d'exploitation;
  • changement de la nature du commerce.

Modalités du permis d'exploitation de commerces

Les permis d'exploitation délivrés par Parcs Canada demeurent valides pendant un an, soit du 1er avril au 31 mars de l'année suivante, sauf dans la Réserve à vocation de parc national et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas où les permis expirent à la fin de l'année civile. Le directeur du parc peut assortir le permis d'exploitation de conditions, notamment en ce qui a trait aux heures d'ouverture du commerce ou à des exigences visant les équipements, la santé, la sécurité ou la protection de l'environnement. Le directeur du parc peut également imposer des conditions nécessaires à la protection, au contrôle et à la gestion des ressources naturelles ou culturelles du parc ou pour éviter la perturbation de l'expérience des visiteurs ou de l'exercice d'activités par des groupes autochtones qui ont des droits reconnus ou intérêts liés au parc.

Droits exigés pour les permis d'exploitation de commerces

Les droits annuels des permis d'exploitation varient de 3,90 $ à 294,40 $, selon le type de commerce. Les droits pour la vente d'alcool sont établis en fonction d'un pourcentage de la valeur brute annuelle des achats. Utilisez ce lien pour déterminer les droits applicables à votre commerce. Les droits peuvent être payés en argent comptant, par carte de crédit ou par chèque (à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada).

Suspension d'un permis d'exploitation de commerces

Le directeur du parc peut suspendre ou révoquer un permis d'exploitation de commerces. Les motifs qui pourraient entraîner la suspension d'un permis d'exploitation de commerces incluent, sans s'y limiter:

  • le non-respect des modalités et des conditions du permis d'exploitation de commerces;
  • l'infraction à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada ou au Règlement sur l'exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada;
  • les activités menées par le titulaire du permis d'exploitation de commerces menacent gravement la sécurité des clients, du personnel du parc ou des autres visiteurs du parc;
  • les activités menées par le titulaire du permis d'exploitation de commerces ont une incidence inacceptable sur les ressources naturelles ou culturelles du parc, sur l'expérience des visiteurs ou sur l'exercice d'activités par des groupes autochtones qui ont des droits reconnus ou intérêts liés au parc.