Common menu bar links

About the Parks Canada Agency

CEO's Message

Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada Agency
Mr. Alan Latourelle

Welcome to the Parks Canada Agency Web site. In keeping with our mission of protecting and presenting the precious natural and cultural treasures of Canada, we designed this site with you in mind. Here, you will discover a vast array of useful information to broaden your knowledge and appreciation of Canada's outstanding places and to help you experience them fully.

As the Parks Canada Charter stipulates, we are the guardians of Canada's cultural and natural heritage. In this Web site, you will discover the splendour of the national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas under our custodianship.

We are guides and, as such, we encourage you to journey with us to the most significant moments of our history, to visit those special places that witnessed them, and to learn about the special features that make them deserving of inclusion in the family of Canada's protected areas.

We are also endeavouring to present the rich tradition of our partners, Aboriginal peoples and ethnocultural communities, as well as the accomplishments of the many Canadians who shaped our country.

Finally, we are storytellers, and this role is expressed in the exploits and anecdotes you will find during your virtual visit.

We will continue to improve this Web site in order to provide you with information about Parks Canada and to fulfill your needs. Please, do not hesitate to contact us with your comments, suggestions or questions.

We hope that you will find all the information for which you are searching, and that you make interesting discoveries as you take time to admire our national treasures.

Alan Latourelle

À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada

Message du DG

Directeur général de l'Agence Parcs Canada
M. Alan Latourelle

Bienvenue au site Internet de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Fidèles à notre mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur les précieux trésors culturels et naturels dont regorge le Canada, nous avons conçu ce site en pensant à vous. Vous pourrez y découvrir une foule de renseignements utiles, qui souhaitons-nous, vous permettront de mieux connaître nos endroits exceptionnels, de les apprécier davantage et d'en profiter pleinement.

Comme le précise la Charte de Parcs Canada, nous sommes les gardiens des splendeurs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. Ainsi, vous découvrirez dans ce site les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation dont nous avons la garde.

Nous sommes aussi des guides et, à ce titre, nous vous invitons à parcourir avec nous les volets les plus marquants de notre histoire, à visiter les endroits qui en ont été le témoin et à mieux connaître leurs caractéristiques exceptionnelles, qui en font des endroits dignes de la grande famille des aires protégées du Canada.

Nous cherchons également à mettre en valeur les riches traditions de nos partenaires, les peuples autochtones et les communautés ethnoculturelles, de même que les réalisations des nombreux autres Canadiens et Canadiennes qui ont façonné notre pays.

Notre rôle de conteurs, enfin, se reflète par la richesse des exploits et des anecdotes que vous rencontrerez durant votre séjour virtuel chez nous.

Ce site Internet continuera d'être amélioré au fil du temps de manière à bien présenter Parcs Canada et à répondre adéquatement à vos besoins. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous afin de nous faire part de vos commentaires, suggestions et questions.

Nous espérons que vous trouverez toute l'information recherchée et que vous ferez d'intéressantes découvertes, tout en admirant la splendeur de nos trésors nationaux.

Alan Latourelle