Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Awareness Week 2014

Celebrating the Contributions of Aboriginal people to the Federal Public Service.

Program: May 20 to May 23

TUESDAY, May 20 - Treasury Board Secretariat and Parks Canada Agency

Opening Day: Launch of the Aboriginal Awareness Week Celebrations

Venue L’Esplande Laurier, 300 Laurier Avenue, West Lobby, Ottawa

  • 11:45 - Master of Ceremony - Serge Jetté
    Welcome and introduction of Métis Elder Jo Macquarrie and speakers and performers of the day
  • 11:50 - Opening prayer by Métis Elder Jo Macquarrie
  • 12:00 - Honour song by O-Town Boyz and First Nation Dancers Natasha Batt Troupe
  • 12:15 - Opening ceremony remarks: Parks Canada and TBS Senior Officials, Alan Latourelle, Daniel Watson, Gavin Liddy
  • 12:25 - Keynote Speaker: Aboriginal Women and Leadership – Cindy Gaudet
  • 12:45 - Inuit Children Performance
    - Inuit Throat Singers: Cynthia Pitsiulak and Charlotte Qamaniq-Mason
  • 1:00 - Closing prayer

    Arts and Crafts sales at various locations.
    * All Aboriginal attendees are welcome to wear their regalia throughout the week.

WEDNESDAY, May 21 - Health Canada
Respecting Mother Earth Today for Tomorrow

Venue - Events at Tunney's Pasture, Ottawa

  • 12:00 - Opening prayer by Métis Elder Lois McCallum
  • 12:10 - Opening honour song by Stormcloud Singers
  • 12:15 - RCMP Senior Officials Speech, Tyler Bates
  • 12:20 - Performance: Jamie Koebel and Fiddleground
  • 12:55 - Closing honour song by Stormcloud Singers

    Arts and Crafts sales at various locations.
    * All Aboriginal attendees are welcome to wear their regalia throughout the week.

THURSDAY, May 22 - Health Canada
Respecting Mother Earth Today for Tomorrow

Venue - Events at Tunney's Pasture, Ottawa

  • 12:00 - Opening Prayer By Inuit Elder Reepa Evic-Carleton
  • 12:10 - Opening honour song by Stormcloud Singers
  • 12:15 - HC Senior Officials Speech, Sonny Perron and Valerie Gideon
  • 12:20 - Inuit Children Performance (tentative)
  • 12:30 - Charlotte Carleton and Caveman Techno
  • 12:55 - Closing honour song by Stormcloud Singers

    Arts and Crafts sales at various locations.
    * All Aboriginal attendees are welcome to wear their regalia throughout the week.

FRIDAY, May 23 - Aboriginal Affairs Northern Development Canada and Parks Canada Agency
Closing Ceremony

Venue - 10 Wellington Ave, Gatineau, Main Floor Lobby

  • 11:45 - MC: Nadine Crookes Welcome and introduction of First Nation Elder Simon Brascoupé and speakers and performers of the day
  • 11:50 - Opening prayer by Elder Simon Brascoupé
  • 12:00 - Honour song by O-Town Boyz and First Nation Dancers Natasha Batt Troupe
  • 12:10 - Closing ceremony remarks: Parks Canada and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Senior Officials, Rob Prosper and Senior AANDC Official
  • 12:15 - Featured Performer: Joanne Shenandoah
  • 12:55 - Jaime and the Jiglets
  • 1:00 - Closing prayer Simon Brascoupé
  • 1:00 to 3:00 - Canada School of Public Service. Armchair discussion. Details to be provided on CSPS website.

    Arts and Crafts sales at various locations.
    * All Aboriginal attendees are welcome to wear their regalia throughout the week.

Presenters:

Jo MacQuarrie (Elder)

Jo MacQuarrie is a Registered Nurse with post graduate studies in psychiatric nursing and community development. She is a founding member of the Canadian Mental Health Association in the Northwest Territories and in Nunavut. She is a former Chief Coroner of the Northwest Territories. Jo is also a member of the following groups; COMPAC, (Community and City Police Committee) in Ottawa, Committee Against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children and Youth chaired by Senator Romeo Dallaire, the Admissions Committee of the University of Ontario, Gignul Aboriginal Housing Board of Directors and Co chair of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy Committee in Ottawa, and a member of the Ottawa Police Services Chaplain Spiritual Team. Recently, Jo was honoured to be recognized as a Métis Elder by the Métis Nation of Ontario. Currently Jo is the Knowledge Translation Consultant at the Métis Nation of Ontario in Ottawa.

Cindy Gaudet

Cindy Gaudet, a Métis woman from Saskatchewan. She is passionate about bringing balance into women’s lives through ceremony, knowledge, and teachings. Her gifts as a leader, facilitator, and educator have been cultivated through cross-cultural learning: earth-based wisdom, yoga, academic studies and her living experiences. She studies with Wise Women learning about women’s ways of leading and being in the world.

One of her projects involved bringing the message of The International Council of 13 Indigenous Grandmothers to Canada across Canada. In 2013, she worked with a group of women in Montreal to share women’s teachings and full moon ceremonies. She has written a children’s book and created a CD on the teachings of women’s rites of passage. She has taught yoga in Ottawa in community, individually and yoga studies. She sits on the Aboriginal Healing Foundation Board. She has completed her Masters in Canadian Studies at Carleton in 2009, and is currently working on her PhD researching the connection between cultural healing methods and the land. Cindy is a gifted leader, facilitator and teacher. She brings enthusiasm, relationship, and insight to everything she does.

Cindy will share how and what she has learned from her Grandmothers and the circles of women about leading in women's ways. She will share stories and ancient teachings to inspire a renewed thinking about balanced leadership in the modern world.

Gavin Liddy (Treasury Board)

Gavin Liddy was appointed as the Assistant Secretary of the International Affairs, Security and Justice Sector at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, effective March 4, 2013.

Prior, Mr. Liddy was Assistant Secretary of the Economic Sector and the Assistant Secretary of the Government Operations Sector. Mr. Liddy joined TBS from Parks Canada, where he held the position of Associate Chief Administrative Officer. In that role, Gavin was responsible for Agency Finances, Real Property, and Information Management. Prior to that, Gavin was the Superintendent of the Rideau Canal, where he played a key role in Canada’s successful bid to have the Canal designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. He has previously worked for the Treasury Board Secretariat, the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency and spent 20 years in the Canadian Forces.

Mr. Liddy is a graduate of the Royal Military College and holds an MBA from the University of Ottawa.

Daniel Watson (Treasury Board)

Daniel is a graduate of the University of British Columbia, (History and French Literature) and started his career as a supervisor at a Canada Employment Centre for Students in East Vancouver. He subsequently moved to the Policy and Research group of Saskatchewan's Department of Education, Training and Employment, then to British Columbia's Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs, where he was involved in all aspects of treaty negotiations.

Daniel returned to the federal government in 1999 as Director of Aboriginal and Territorial Relations at Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) in Yellowknife. Two years later, he became Director General of the Aboriginal Justice Directorate at Justice Canada in Ottawa. He was then appointed Assistant Deputy Minister at Western Economic Diversification Canada in Saskatchewan in 2003, and Senior Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for Policy and Strategic Direction at INAC in 2006. Daniel returned to Western Diversification as Associate Deputy Minister in March 2009, and on July 16 of that same year, was appointed Deputy Minister. Mr. Watson was appointed Chief Human Resources Officer on September 4, 2012.

Daniel enjoys sharing his enthusiasm about the Public Service of Canada, particularly about the role that human resources play in making our organization the exceptional institution that Canadians expect it to be. He never misses an opportunity to promote the public service and its great people, and to share his belief that it is truly a privilege to serve Canadians from within its ranks.

Alan Latourelle (Parks Canada)

Since joining the federal government in 1983, Mr. Latourelle has occupied positions of increasing responsibility in the field of corporate services, strategic planning, portfolio affairs, policy and operational program delivery.

In 1997, Mr. Latourelle was appointed Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Canadian Heritage. He then joined Parks Canada as Director General, Western and Northern Canada, where he led an operational service delivery unit of more than 2000 employees that serviced 12 million visitors annually. He ensured that federal government objectives were achieved by developing sound public policies and service delivery approaches within a multi-stakeholder environment. In this environment, Mr. Latourelle led national policy initiatives that are considered landmark decisions for the protection of national parks. They resulted in a legislated framework being established to limit commercial growth in the six national park communities. He also led the development of alliances with First Nations. In addition, he guided complex federal/provincial negotiations in support of the establishment of new national parks and national marine conservation areas.

In 1999, Mr. Latourelle became Chief Administrative Officer for the Parks Canada Agency. He gave direction on developing policy initiatives that resulted in limits to growth being established for outlying commercial operations and some of Canada’s most important ski resorts. He also led federal/provincial negotiations that resulted in an agreement with elected representatives of the Town of Jasper for the community to assume responsibility for municipal services.

Mr. Latourelle’s educational background includes a Bachelor of Commerce from the Université du Québec and a Master of Business Administration degree from Queen’s University. He is also a Certified General Accountant.

Rob Prosper (Parks Canada)

Mr. Prosper began his career in 1980 as a Park Warden at St. Lawrence Islands National Park in an Aboriginal trainee program sponsored by the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. He subsequently has held a variety of increasingly responsible field positions – Senior Park Warden, Chief Park Warden and Park Superintendent – in other locations including Georgian Bay Islands, Gros Morne and Nahanni national parks.

After 22 years in the field, Mr. Prosper moved to National Office as Chief of Ecosystem Protection, where he managed the National Fire, Law Enforcement and Public Safety programs and the Resource Conservation Training Unit. Mr. Prosper then became Director of the Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat and had been recently appointed Vice president of Natural Resource Conservation Branch at Parks Canada. He is also the Parks Canada Champion for Aboriginal Employees.

Mr. Prosper holds a Bachelor of Science and an Honours Degree in Biology from Carleton University and is among the growing number of Parks Canada employees whose work has been recognized through a prestigious Public Service Award of Excellence.

Performers:

Joanne Shenandoah

Joanne Shenandoah, Ph.D, is an internationally known Iroquois singer/songwriter and performer with over 40 music awards and 17 recordings. She has captured the hearts of audiences all over the world, from North and South America, South Africa, Europe, Australia and Korea, with praise for her work to promote universal peace.

  • “Joanne Shenandoah is one of the finest tributes to Native American Music and Culture” - Neil Young
  • "She weaves you into a trance with her beautiful Iroquois chants and wraps her voice around you like a warm blanket on a cool winter's night" - Robbie Robertson

O Town Boys

The O-Town Boyz, have performed together for a few years and started out as the O-Town Boys Drummers and Singers. They originally started out as volunteer drummers for various programs within the Aboriginal Service provider agencies in Ottawa. They quickly received the eyes and ears of many organizations and their drum and song now resonates in and around the Ottawa Carleton area.

Cynthia Pitsiulak and Charlotte Qamaniq-Mason

Timeless and beautiful traditional Inuit throat singing of Cynthia Pitsiulak and Charlotte Qamaniq-Mason seamlessly weaves in and out of the musical heritage of the Inuit people of Canada. Cynthia and Charlotte were acquaintances and knew of each other as most people from small towns do (Cynthia moved to Iqaluit from Kimmirut and Charlotte grew up in Iqaluit via Iglooik) but it's when they were both new to Ottawa when they became close friends. They share the same interests and began to learn and practice throat singing together which brought them closer as friends and as throat singing partners. The girls demonstrate “throat singing” which is a unique set of very high and low sounds that can simulate animals of the north or natural sounds.

Ottawa Inuit Children's Centre

Serving the largest urban Inuit population in Canada, the Ottawa Inuit Children's Centre provides education programming with additional cultural content. Children who attend the Ottawa Inuit Children's Centre not only follow the same curriculum as any other child in Ontario, but they also get the added benefit of learning their own culture and language. The children will demonstrate “throat singing” which is a unique set of very high and low sounds that can simulate animals of the north or natural sounds.

Natasha Batt and First Nation Dance Presentation

This is an Aboriginal cultural presentation showcasing traditional dancing, drumming and singing.

  • Men's Chicken Dancer – The moves of the Chicken Dance highlight movements of the Prairie Chicken mating dance.
  • Jingle Dress Dancer – Straight Dance: A very powerful healing dance that originates from the Anishinabe Nation.
  • Fancy Shawl Dancer – Fast paced competitive style dance that mimics the butterfly.

Jaime and the Jiglets - Métis Dance Group

Jaime and her three children have been dancing together as a group since 2008. Although she is from Lac La Biche, Alberta her children are Ottawa born and coincidentally, born to dance! Jaime has performed and competed locally, nationally and internationally for about 7 years and was a member of the professional dance group, Jig on the Fly. In the summer of 2010, the children competed at Batoche, Saskatchewan for the first time! Her twin daughters, Hunter & Riley were born in 2002 and Jacob in 2003. The goal of her group is to teach people about Metis culture in a fun, informative and interactive way. They aim to pass on the knowledge and joy of the dance to all generations in an exciting performance.

OTHER EVENTS:

TUESDAY, May 20 - Natural Resources Canada and Aboriginal Affairs & Northern Development Canada

Learning Event: Building Understanding – From Aboriginal Culture to Engagement

To celebrate Aboriginal Awareness Week 2014, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) has partnered with Aboriginal Affairs & Northern Development Canada (AANDC) to host a learning event on Building Understanding – From Aboriginal Culture to Engagement.

The objective of the event is to increase employees' awareness, knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal culture and issues. Specifically, this session will help participants to:

  • Gain an understanding of the diversity of Aboriginal cultures and values, and historical context;
  • Increase knowledge about the whole-government approach to Aboriginal consultation;
  • Get a perspective of NRCan and Sectors' role in consulting with and/or engaging Aboriginal participation in the natural resource sector.

Time: 9:00 – 4:00

Location: Camsell Hall, 588 Booth Street, Ottawa

Webcasting will be available using this link: http://s0-ott-webcast/

Language: Bilingual. Simultaneous translation will be available.

Coffee and beverages will be served as well as a traditional Bannock.

In order to participate, please register by Friday, May 16th with Jennifer Dean-Pyper at 613-947-1497 or via email at Jennifer.Dean-Pyper@NRcan.gc.ca

FRIDAY, May 23 – Health Canada

Respecting Mother Earth Today for Tomorrow

Venue - Events at Tunney's Pasture, Ottawa

  • 5:00 am – Sunrise ceremony with First Nations Elder Thomas Louttit at Remic Rapids
  • 11:45 – Opening ceremony with Elder Thomas Louttit
    – Opening and closing honour songs: Stormcloud Singers Community Drum
  • 12:05 – Aurora Jade Finkle contemporary First Nations music
  • 12:25 – Weaselhead contemporary First Nations music

For more information call 613-948-7609 or e-mail aboriginal.awareness.week@hc-sc.gc.ca

Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones 2014

Souligner la contribution des peuples autochtones à la fonction publique fédérale

Programme: Du 20 au 23 mai 2014

MARDI, 20 mai – SCT/PC
Jour d’ouverture: Lancement des célébrations de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones

Lieu - L’Esplanade Laurier 300, avenue Laurier. Hall d’entrée ouest, Ottawa

  • 11 h 45 - Animateur : Serge Jetté
    Accueil et présentation de l’aînée métisse Jo MacQuarrie et des conférenciers et artistes de la journée
  • 11 h 50 - Prière d’ouverture par l’aînée métisse Jo MacQuarrie
  • 12 h - Chant d’honneur par les O Town Boyz et la troupe de danseurs des Premières Nations de Natasha Batt
  • 12 h 15 - Mot d’ouverture de la cérémonie : cadres supérieurs de Parcs Canada et du SCT, Alan Latourelle, Daniel Watson et Gavin Liddy
  • 12 h 25 - Conférencière principale : leadership et femmes autochtones – Cindy Gaudet
  • 12 h 45 - Spectacle d’enfants inuits
    - Interprètes inuites du chant guttural : Cynthia Pitsiulak et Charlotte Qamaniq‑Mason
  • 13 h - Prière de clôture

    Vente d’objets d’art et d’artisanat à divers endroits
    * Tous les participants autochtones sont invités à porter leurs costumes traditionnels tout au long de la semaine.

MERCREDI, 21 mai - SANTÉ CANADA
Respecter aujourd’hui notre Terre mère pour demain

Lieu - Événements au Pré Tunney, Ottawa

  • 12 h - Prière d’ouverture par l’aîné métis Lois McCallum
  • 12 h 10 - Chant d’honneur d’ouverture par les Stormcloud Singers
  • 12 h 15 - Discours de hauts fonctionnaires de la GRC, Tyler Bates
  • 12 h 20 - Spectacle : Jamie Koebel et Fiddleground
  • 12 h 55 - Chant d’honneur de clôture par les Stormcloud Singers

    Vente d’objets d’art et d’artisanat à divers endroits
    * Tous les participants autochtones sont invités à porter leurs costumes traditionnels tout au long de la semaine.

JEUDI, 22 mai - SANTÉ CANADA
Respecter aujourd’hui notre Terre mère pour demain

Lieu - Événements au Pré Tunney, Ottawa

  • 12 h - Prière d’ouverture par l’aînée inuite Reepa Evic-Carleton
  • 12 h 10 - Chant d’honneur d’ouverture par les Stormcloud Singers
  • 12 h 15 - Discours de hauts fonctionnaires de SC, Sonny Perron et Valerie Gideon
  • 12 h 20 - Spectacle d’enfants inuits (essai)
  • 12 h 30 - Charlotte Carleton et Caveman Techno
  • 12 h 55 - Chant d’honneur de clôture par les Stormcloud Singers

    Vente d’objets d’art et d’artisanat à divers endroits
    * Tous les participants autochtones sont invités à porter leurs costumes traditionnels tout au long de la semaine.

VENDREDI, 23 mai - AADNC/APC
Cérémonie de clôture

Lieu - 10, av. Wellington, Gatineau. Hall d’entrée principal

  • 11 h 45 - Animatrice : Nadine Crookes
    Accueil et présentation de l’aîné des Premières Nations Simon Brascoupé et des conférenciers et des artistes de la journée
  • 11 h 50 - Prière d’ouverture par Elder Simon Brascoupé
  • 12 h - Chant d’honneur par les O Town Boyz et la troupe de danseurs des Premières Nations de Natasha Batt
  • 12 h 10 - Mot de clôture de la cérémonie : cadres supérieurs de Parcs Canada et d’Affaires indiennes et du Développement du Nord Canada, Rob Prosper et cadre supérieur d’AADNC
  • 12 h 15 - Artiste en vedette : Joanne Shenandoah
  • 12 h 55 - Jaime and the Jiglets
  • 13 h - Prière de clôture – Simon Brascoupé
  • De 13 h à 15 h - École de la fonction publique du Canada. Discussion informelle. Les détails figureront sur le site Web de l’EFPC.

    Vente d’objets d’art et d’artisanat à divers endroits
    * Tous les participants autochtones sont invités à porter leurs costumes traditionnels tout au long de la semaine.

Conférenciers :

Jo MacQuarrie (aînée)

Jo MacQuarrie est une infirmière autorisée avec des études supérieures en soins infirmiers psychiatriques et en développement communautaire. Elle est une membre fondatrice de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut. Elle est ancienne coroner en chef des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Jo fait aussi partie des groupes suivants : le CIPC (Comité d’intervention policière et communautaire) à Ottawa, le comité contre l’exploitation sexuelle commerciale des enfants et des jeunes présidé par le sénateur Roméo Dallaire, le comité d’admission de l’Institut université de technologie de l’Ontario, le conseil d’administration de la Gignul Aboriginal Housing Corporation, le comité de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain d’Ottawa (coprésidente) et l’équipe de santé spirituelle et d’aumônerie du Service de police d’Ottawa. Récemment, Jo a été honorée car elle a été reconnue à titre d’aînée métisse par la Nation métisse de l’Ontario. Elle est actuellement consultante en transfert des connaissances à la Nation métisse de l’Ontario, à Ottawa.

Cindy Gaudet

Cindy Gaudet est une femme métisse de la Saskatchewan. Elle se passionne par l’apport d’un équilibre dans la vie des femmes grâce aux cérémonies, aux connaissances et aux enseignements. Elle cultive ses talents de leader, d’animatrice et d’enseignante grâce à des apprentissages interculturels : sagesse de la Terre, yoga, études universitaires et expériences de vie. Elle étudie avec Wise Women et apprend sur les façons de diriger et d’être dans le monde des femmes.

Elle a travaillé à la transmission du message de l’International Council of 13 Indigenous Grandmothers dans tout le Canada. En 2013, elle a travaillé avec un groupe de femmes à Montréal pour partager les enseignements de femmes et des cérémonies de la pleine lune. Elle a écrit un livre pour enfants et créé un CD sur l’enseignement des rites de passage des femmes.

Elle a enseigné le yoga à Ottawa dans la communauté, en privé et dans le cadre d’études. Elle fait partie du conseil d’administration de la Fondation autochtone de guérison. Elle a terminé une maîtrise en études canadiennes, à Carleton, en 2009 et travaille actuellement à son doctorat, dans le cadre duquel elle étudie les liens entre les méthodes de guérison ancestrales et la terre. Cindy est une leader, une animatrice et une enseignante talentueuse. Elle apporte enthousiasme, échanges et introspection dans tout ce qu’elle entreprend.

Cindy partagera ce qu’elle apprend des grand-mères et des cercles de femmes sur le leadership dans la vie des femmes et nous dira comment elle l’apprend. Elle partagera des récits et d’anciens enseignements pour susciter une réflexion renouvelée sur le leadership équilibré dans le monde moderne.

Gavin Liddy (Conseil du Trésor)

Gavin Liddy assumera les fonctions de secrétaire adjoint, Affaires internationales, sécurité et justice, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada à compter du 4 mars 2013.

M. Liddy occupait auparavant les postes de secrétaire adjoint, Secteur des programmes économiques, et de secrétaire adjoint, Secteur des opérations gouvernementales. Avant de se joindre au SCT, il a assumé les fonctions de dirigeant principal administratif adjoint à Parcs Canada. Dans ce poste, M. Liddy était responsable des finances, dfres biens immobiliers et de la gestion de l’information au sein de l’organisme. Dans son précédent rôle de directeur du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau, M. Liddy a joué un rôle clé dans les efforts fructueux du Canada visant à faire inscrire le canal sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. M. Liddy a travaillé au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, à l’Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada, et a passé 20 ans dans les Forces canadiennes.

Il est diplômé du Collège militaire royal du Canada et possède une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Daniel Watson (Conseil du Trésor)

Daniel est diplômé de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (histoire et littérature française) et a débuté sa carrière en tant que superviseur dans un Centre d’emploi du Canada pour étudiants dans l’Est de l’île de Vancouver. Par la suite, il a fait partie du groupe des politiques et de la recherche du département de l’Éducation de la Saskatchewan, chargé de la formation et de l’emploi, et ensuite il a travaillé au ministère des Affaires autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique, où il a contribué à tous les aspects des négociations de traités.

Daniel est revenu au gouvernement fédéral en 1999 à titre de directeur des Relations autochtones et territoriales pour Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC), à Yellowknife. Deux années plus tard, il est devenu directeur général de la Direction de la justice applicable aux Autochtones du ministère de la Justice du Canada, à Ottawa. Il a été nommé sous-ministre adjoint pour Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada en Saskatchewan en 2003, puis sous-ministre adjoint principal responsable de Politiques et orientation stratégique à AINC, en 2006. Daniel est retourné à Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada à titre de sous-ministre adjoint en mars 2009 et, le 16 juillet de la même année, il a été nommé sous-ministre. Il a été nommé dirigeant principal des ressources humaines le 4 septembre 2012.

Daniel aime communiquer son enthousiasme au sujet de la fonction publique du Canada, en particulier au sujet du rôle que jouent les ressources humaines qui font que notre organisation est l’institution exceptionnelle dont souhaitent se doter les Canadiens. Il ne rate jamais une occasion de promouvoir la fonction publique et les gens formidables qui la composent ainsi que de partager sa croyance selon laquelle servir les Canadiens de l’intérieur est véritablement un privilège.

Alan Latourelle (Parcs Canada)

Depuis ses débuts au gouvernement fédéral en 1983, M. Alan Latourelle a occupé divers postes de responsabilités croissantes dans le domaine des services ministériels, de la planification stratégique, des affaires du portefeuille, de la politique et de la mise en œuvre de programmes opérationnels.

M. Latourelle a été nommé sous-ministre adjoint au ministère du Patrimoine canadien en 1997. Ensuite il s’est joint à Parcs Canada comme directeur général de l’Ouest et du Nord du Canada. À ce titre, il a dirigé une unité de prestation de services opérationnels comptant plus de 2000 employés qui desservait 12 millions de visiteurs par an. Il a veillé à l’atteinte des objectifs du gouvernement fédéral grâce à l’élaboration de politiques publiques et de modes de prestation de services judicieux dans un contexte présentant des partenaires multiples. Dans un tel contexte, M. Latourelle a dirigé la mise en œuvre d’initiatives stratégiques nationales, maintenant considérées comme des décisions marquantes pour la protection des parcs nationaux. Ces initiatives ont mené à l’établissement d’un cadre législatif visant à limiter la croissance commerciale dans les 6 communautés des parcs nationaux. Il a également mené l’établissement d’alliances avec les Premières Nations. Il a aussi mené des négociations fédérales-provinciales complexes à l’appui de la création de parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation.

En 1999, M. Latourelle est devenu le dirigeant principal administratif de l’Agence Parcs Canada. Il a dirigé l’élaboration d’initiatives stratégiques qui ont permis d’établir clairement des limites à la croissance pour les exploitations commerciales périphériques et pour certains des plus grands centres de ski du Canada. Par ailleurs, il a dirigé des négociations fédérales-provinciales ayant mené à une entente avec les élus de la Ville de Jasper afin que cette dernière ait la responsabilité des services municipaux.

M. Latourelle possède un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université du Québec et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Queen’s. Il est également comptable général agréé.

Rob Prosper (Parcs Canada)

M. Prosper a débuté sa carrière en 1980 comme garde de parc au parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent dans le cadre d’un programme de stagiaires autochtones parrainé par le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. Il a par la suite occupé sur le terrain divers postes assortis de responsabilités de plus en plus importantes, dont ceux de garde de parc principal, de garde de parc en chef et de directeur de parc, dans divers endroits administrés par Parcs Canada, notamment les parcs nationaux des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent, des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, du Gros-Morne et Nahanni.

Après avoir travaillé 22 ans sur le terrain, M. Prosper a occupé le poste de chef, Protection de l’écosystème, au Bureau national, où il était responsable de la gestion des programmes nationaux de gestion du feu, d’application de la loi et de sécurité du public, ainsi que de l’unité de formation sur la conservation des ressources. M. Prosper est ensuite devenu directeur du Secrétariat des affaires autochtones et a été récemment nommé vice-président de la Direction de la conservation des ressources naturelles à Parcs Canada. Il est également le champion de Parcs Canada pour les employés autochtones.

M. Prosper a un baccalauréat en sciences et un baccalauréat spécialisé en biologie de l’Université Carleton et compte au nombre des employés de Parcs Canada de plus en plus nombreux dont le travail est reconnu par le prestigieux Prix d’excellence de la fonction publique.

Artistes

Joanne Shenandoah

Joanne Shenandoah est titulaire d’un doctorat et est une auteure-compositrice-interprète iroquoise connue à l’échelle internationale avec à son actif plus de 40 prix en musique et 17 albums. Elle conquit le cœur de publics partout dans le monde, notamment en Amérique du Nord et du Sud, en Afrique du Sud, en Europe, en Australie et en Corée étant donné que son œuvre fait la promotion de la paix universelle.

  • « Joanne Shenandoah représente l’un des plus grands hommages à la musique et à la culture des Amérindiens » – Neil Young
  • « Elle vous fait entrer en transe avec ses beaux chants iroquois et vous enveloppe avec sa voix, comme une couverture chaude par une froide nuit d’hiver » – Robbie Robertson

O Town Boys

Les O Town Boyz chantent ensemble depuis quelques années et ont commencé sous le nom des O Town Boyz Drummers and Singers. À l’origine, ils étaient des joueurs de tambour pour divers programmes au sein des organismes de prestation de services aux Autochtones, à Ottawa. Ils ont rapidement été connus par de nombreuses organisations, et leur musique et leurs tambours sont maintenant entendus dans la région Ottawa-Carleton et ses alentours.

Cynthia Pitsiulak et Charlotte Qamaniq-Mason

Le superbe chant guttural intemporel de Cynthia Pitsiulak et de Charlotte Qamaniq-Mason émerge naturellement du patrimoine musical des Inuits du Canada. Cynthia et Charlotte se connaissaient un peu, comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des personnes habitant dans de petits villages (Cynthia est déménagée de Kimmirut à Iqaluit et Charlotte, de Iglooik à Iqaluit). Cependant, leur amitié ne s’est révélée qu’au moment où toutes les deux étaient nouvellement installées à Ottawa. Elles partagent les mêmes intérêts et ont commencé à apprendre et à pratiquer le chant guttural; ce qui les a rapprochées en tant qu’amies et partenaires pour ce chant. Elles présentent le « chant guttural », qui est un ensemble unique de sons très aigus et graves pouvant simuler des animaux du nord ou des sons naturels.

Centre des enfants inuits d’Ottawa

Au service de la plus grande population inuite urbaine du Canada, le Centre des enfants inuits d’Ottawa offre des programmes d’éducation auxquels s’ajoute du contenu culturel. Les enfants qui fréquentent le Centre des enfants inuits d’Ottawa ne suivent pas seulement le même programme scolaire que les autres enfants ontariens, mais ils profitent aussi de l’apprentissage de leur culture et de leur langue. Les enfants présenteront le « chant guttural », qui est un ensemble unique de sons très aigus et graves pouvant simuler des animaux du nord ou des sons naturels.

Présentation de danses de la troupe de Natasha Batt et des Premières Nations

Voici une présentation de la culture autochtone qui montre la danse, les tambours et le chant traditionnels.

  • Danse de la poule des hommes – Les mouvements de la danse de la poule imitent les mouvements de la parade nuptiale du tétras des prairies.
  • Danse de la robe à franges – Danse traditionnelle : danse de guérison très puissante qui provient de la nation Anishinabe.
  • Danse du châle d’apparat – Style de danse de compétition à mouvements rapides imitant le papillon.

Jaime and the Jiglets – troupe de danse métisse

Jaime et ses trois enfants ont formé leur groupe de danse en 2008. Bien qu’elle soit du Lac La Biche, en Alberta, ses enfants sont nés à Ottawa et, quelle coïncidence, ils sont nés pour danser! Pendant près de 7 ans, Jaime s’est produite sur la scène régionale, nationale et internationale; et elle a fait partie de la troupe de danse professionnelle Jig on the Fly. Au cours de l’été 2010, pour la première fois, les enfants ont participé à un concours à Batoche, en Saskatchewan! Ses jumelles, Hunter et Riley, sont nées en 2002, puis Jacob est né en 2003. L’objectif de la troupe est d’enseigner la culture métisse d’une façon plaisante, éducative et interactive. Par leur performance fascinante, Jaime et ses enfants visent à transmettre leurs connaissances et le plaisir de danser à toutes les générations.

Autres événements :

MARDI, 20 mai – Ressources naturelles Canada et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Activité d’apprentissage : Favoriser la compréhension – De la culture autochtone à l’engagement

À l’occasion de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones de 2014, Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) s’est associé avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) pour tenir une activité d’apprentissage intitulée Favoriser la compréhension – De la culture autochtone à l’engagement.

Cette activité vise à sensibiliser davantage les employés de RNCan à la culture et aux questions autochtones pour une meilleure compréhension et connaissance de celles-ci. Plus particulièrement, cette séance aidera les participants à:

  • mieux comprendre la diversité des cultures et des valeurs autochtones, ainsi que les contextes historiques correspondants;
  • mieux connaître la démarche pangouvernementale en matière de consultation des Autochtones;
  • obtenir une perspective générale du rôle de RNCan et des secteurs dans la consultation et/ou la participation des Autochtones dans le secteur des ressources naturelles.

Heure: De 9 h à 16 h

Lieu: salle Camsell, 588 rue Booth, Ottawa

Langue: Bilingue. La traduction simultanée sera disponible.

Une webdiffusion simultanée sera présentée au lien suivant: http://s0-ott-webcast/

Du café et des boissons seront servis, ainsi que du pain bannique traditionnel.

Pour participer, veuillez vous inscrire d’ici vendredi le 16 mai 2014 avec Jennifer Dean-Pyper au 613-947-1497 ou par courriel a: Jennifer.Dean-Pyper@NRcan.gc.ca.

VENDREDI, 23 mai - SANTÉ CANADA
Respecter aujourd’hui notre Terre mère pour demain

Lieu - Événements au Pré Tunney, Ottawa

  • 5 h - Cérémonie de l’aube avec l’aîné des premières nations Thomas Louttit aux rapides Remic
  • 11 h 45 - Cérémonie d’ouverture avec l’aîné Thomas Louttit
    - Chant d’honneur d’ouverture et de clôture - tambour communautaire Stormcloud Singers
  • 12 h 05 - Aurora Jade Finkle, musique contemporaine des Première nations
  • 12 h 25Weaselhead, musique contemporaine des Première nations

Pour plus d’information veuillez appeler 613-948-7609 ou envoyez un courriel à aboriginal.awareness.week@hc-sc.gc.ca