Common menu bar links

Walking Together

Aboriginal Awareness Week

Inuit throat singers Inuit throat singers Charlotte Qamaniq and Cynthia Pitsiulak
© Charlotte Qamaniq

Gatineau, Quebec - May 19th - 22nd, 2015

Traditional hoop dancing Traditional hoop dancing at Museum of History during Aboriginal Awareness Week
© Parks Canada

Please join us in celebrating of our Aboriginal colleagues during Aboriginal Awareness Week (AAW) from May 19 to 22, 2015.

AAW was first introduced in 1992 with the purpose of increasing awareness of Aboriginal peoples within the federal public service. Since that time, it has evolved and grown into a government-wide celebration that gives federal public servants from across Canada the opportunity to participate in a week of interactive activities that honour the diverse cultures and traditions of the Métis, Inuit and First Nation peoples.

Throughout the week, within the National Capital Region, scheduled activities and events will build awareness by showcasing Aboriginal peoples' contributions to Canadian public service. We suggest you contact your employment equity Chair or Champion for Aboriginal Peoples for a list of activities that are being organised by your department.

This year's opening and closing ceremonies organized by Parks Canada are being held at the Parks Canada Place, 30 Victoria Street, main floor, Gatineau on May 19th starting at 10:30 a.m. and on May 22nd starting at 12 noon.

We encourage you all to join your Aboriginal colleagues throughout the week to learn by Walking Together!

Marchons ensemble

Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones

Chanteuses inuit de chant guttural Charlotte Qamaniq et Cynthia Pitsiulak, chanteuses inuit de chant guttural
© Charlotte Qamaniq

Gatineau (Québec) - du 19 au 22 mai 2015

Dance traditionnel du cerceau Dance traditionnel du cerceau au Musée de l’Histoire lors de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones
© Parcs Canada

Joignez-vous à nous pour célébrer les cultures et les contributions de nos collègues autochtones dans le cadre de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones (SSCA) du 19 au 22 mai 2015.

La SSCA a été instaurée en 1992 en ayant comme objectif de sensibiliser les employés de la fonction publique fédérale aux peuples autochtones. Depuis ce moment, elle a pris de l’ampleur et s’est transformée en célébration dans l’ensemble du gouvernement qui offre aux fonctionnaires de partout au Canada l’occasion de participer à une semaine d’activités interactives mettant en valeur les diverses cultures et traditions des Métis, des Inuits et des membres des Premières Nations.

Pendant toute la semaine, des activités et des événements auront lieu dans la région de la capitale nationale. Dans le cadre de ces activités, on présentera les contributions des employés autochtones à la fonction publique canadienne. Nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec le Champion ou le Président de votre groupe d’équité en matière d’emploi pour les employés autochtones afin d’avoir plus d’information sur les activités que votre ministère organise.

Cette année, les cérémonies d’ouverture et de clôture organisées par Parcs Canada auront lieux à la Place Parcs Canada, 30, rue Victoria, 1er étage, à Gatineau, le 19 mai à compter de 10 h 30 et le 22 mai à compter de 12 h.

Nous vous encourageons tous à vous joindre à vos collègues autochtones pendant toute la semaine afin de mieux Marcher Ensemble !