1. Pacific Rim 

On the bucket list of any serious hiker, the 75-kilometre West Coast Trail follows the one-time survival route of unlucky shipwreck victims through old-growth forests, past wide-open beaches and across suspension bridges spanning rivers and streams.

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve 

2. British Columbia

Experience the towering old-growth hemlocks and cedars of B.C.’s legendary old-growth forests with easy strolls along boardwalk trails. Transition to subalpine spruce and fir as routes lead you to mountain meadows offering sweeping panoramas of the Selkirk wilderness.

Glacier National Park

3. Waterton Lakes

Experience great wildlife viewing and scenic trails on a visit to stunning Red Rock Canyon. Then watch the stars come out from the comfort of a Blackfoot-style tipi at nearby Crandell Mountain Campground. 

Waterton Lakes National Park

4. Gulf Islands

Enhance a Gulf Islands National Park Reserve experience by following self-guided routes through the highlights of the islands’ natural landscapes, learning and gaining insights along the way by geocaching or using an Explora app. 

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve

5. Glacier National Park

Conquering a technical mountain ascent, traversing icefields with 1,500-metre descents, freewheeling past glaciers, waterfalls and rock canyons: this is all part of the high country adventure experience.

Glacier National Park

6. Banff

Among the best ways to experience the park’s Rocky Mountain scenery is on the trail. Whether on foot or by bike, visitors have access to hundreds of kilometres of trails.

Banff National Park

7. Yoho

With more than 400 kilometres of trails, Yoho is a backpacker’s paradise. Set out from Takakkaw Falls or Emerald Lake for Yoho’s most scenic and popular destinations, or head west for unmaintained trails in the Amiskwi Valley or Ice River.

Yoho National Park

8. Kootenay

Join a knowledgeable guide as you hike through a forest naturally regenerating after wildfire en route to the recently discovered Stanley Glacier fossil site. Here, the remains of unique and sometimes bizarre sea creatures reveal the mysteries of early life on Earth.

Kootenay National Park

9. Jasper

Jasper’s newly completed Easy Trail System offers twenty kilometres of bike-friendly, multi-use trails easily accessed right from your hotel doorstep… or tent flap! Visit lakes, beaches, and take in gorgeous mountain and valley views along the way.

Jasper National Park

10. Mount Revelstoke

Bike, hike or drive to the peak of Mount Revelstoke and celebrate the summit experience. Arrive to panoramic vistas, stroll the historic trails, take in the local art or find inner calm with a yoga workshop.

Mount Revelstoke National Park

1. Pacific Rim

Pour plusieurs randonneurs, parcourir le sentier de la Côte-Ouest est un rêve. Long de 75 km, il suit celui autrefois emprunté par les victimes de naufrage, serpentant dans les anciennes forêts, longeant les grandes plages et traversant les ponts suspendus surplombant rivières et ruisseaux.

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim  

2. Colombie-Britannique

Découvrez les pruches et les cèdres géants des forêts anciennes et légendaires de la Colombie-Britannique en marchant dans les sentiers munis de trottoirs en bois. Vous serez dirigés vers des prés montagneux dans un milieu subalpin d’épinettes et de sapins. Admirez des panoramas grandioses de la nature sauvage de la chaîne Selkirk.

Parc national des Glaciers

3. Îles-Gulf

Découvrez toute la magie de la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf, en effectuant des visites autoguidées des principaux attraits naturels que renferment les îles. Lors de votre excursion, vous apprendrez une multitude de choses, grâce au programme de géocachette ou à l’application Explora.

Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf  

4. Parc national des Glaciers

Réussissez l’ascension technique d’une montagne en traversant des champs de glace comprenant des descentes de 1 500 mètres de dénivelé et en circulant librement près des glaciers, des chutes d’eau et des canyons de roche : une expérience inoubliable dans les plus hautes altitudes du parc national des Glaciers.

Parc national des Glaciers

5. Banff 

L’une des meilleures façons de profiter des paysages grandioses des Rocheuses est d’emprunter les sentiers qui les sillonnent. À pied ou à vélo, les visiteurs ont accès à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres de sentiers.

Parc national Banff 

6. Yoho

Avec ses 400 km de sentiers, le parc Yoho est le paradis des randonneurs. Les chutes Takakkaw et le lac Emerald ne sont que le début de randonnées spectaculaires. Pour des coins reculés accessibles par des sentiers non entretenus, dirigez-vous vers l’ouest et explorez la vallée de l’Amiskwi ou les environs de la rivière Ice. 

Parc national Yoho

7. Kootenay 

Suivez un guide chevronné à travers une forêt qui se régénère naturellement après avoir été ravagée par le feu. Accédez au gisement fossilifère du glacier Stanley, découvert récemment. Là, les fossiles de créatures marines singulières, parfois même surprenantes, révèlent les mystères de l’apparition des premières formes de vie sur Terre.

Parc national Kootenay

8. Jasper

Explorez le tout nouveau réseau de « sentiers faciles » de Jasper qui offre 20 km de sentiers polyvalents sur lesquels vous pourrez faire du vélo à proximité de votre hôtel… ou de votre tente! Visitez des lacs et des plages et profitez des vues panoramiques sur les montagnes et les vallées en cours de route.

Parc national Jasper

9. Mont-Revelstoke

Rendez-vous tout en haut du mont Revelstoke, en vélo, à pied ou en voiture, et célébrez l’expérience du sommet. Admirez des vues panoramiques, promenez-vous sur des sentiers historiques, appréciez l’art local ou suivez un atelier de yoga pour retrouver le calme intérieur.

Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke