Sunwapta Falls - Alberta

Explore Lower Sunwapta Falls in Jasper National Park. It’s a short hike (2.6 km return) that is less travelled with stunning waterfall views. Make a day out of it and go for a bike ride to Big Bend (12.6 km return) to enjoy riverside and mountain views.

Pam – Visitor Experience Manager
A river separated by a small island rejoins and then pours down into a white and blue waterfall
Echo Harbour - British Columbia

When the salmon are running up the small creek in the back end of Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site, it is a pretty amazing place to be. There are bears, eagles and seals enjoying the huge schools of salmon milling about in the creek mouth and you can watch the salmon work their way up the small “falls” right from your boat.

Jay – Technical Services
A boat in the water, surrounded by forest
Tseshaht “First Man” - British Columbia

This house post on Benson Island in the Broken Group Islands of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is worth a visit. It’s located at Ts’ishaa; a great place to learn about Tseshaht cultural history.

Crystal – Promotions Officer
A wooden statue of a man holding a sword
Spring Gems - British Columbia

Spring in the Garry Oak Learning Meadow at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites is signalled by a white burst of fawn lilies in early March, soon joined by splashes of sea blush, buttercups, purple camas and chocolate lilies. A rare ecosystem and delicate landscape once cultivated by the Lekwungen people, who grew camas lilies for their edible bulbs.

Aimée – Species at Risk Communications Officer
Two white lilies
Harbour View - British Columbia

My favourite ‘hidden gem’ at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site is the view from our south harbour viewing deck. You can see all kinds of working fishing boats in Steveston Harbour, which is the largest commercial fishing harbour in Canada!

Mimi – Marketing & Visitor Services Manager
A ship-filled harbour with a white and red building  on the viewing deck
The Playhouse - British Columbia

Children love climbing the ladder into the loft of the playhouse at Fort Langley National Historic Site and peeking out. The walls of the playhouse are a model of post-on-sill construction, and kids and parents can build and dismantle the walls, like a giant lego house.

Hazel and Taylor – Heritage Interpreters
Two children playing with building boards as they build up a playfort
Winter Wonders - Alberta

My hidden gem is the lower boardwalk at Cave and Basin National Historic Site in winter. Around flowing warm springs frosty vegetation creates a winter wonderland. In silence, you can hear the sounds of running water flowing into the marsh.

Joanne – Interpretation Officer-Coordinator
A group of people at the end of a boardwalk on a snowy winter day
The Playfort - Alberta

If you are a first time visitor to the site, the playfort at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site is a lot of fun. Games for the kids, the David Thompson puppet show, a miniature example of a fur trade fort… this site engages the whole family!

Susan – Manager of Heritage Programs
A child looking out from a viewing station on a wooden fort
Unseen Sights - Alberta

Take a walk at Bar U Ranch National Historic Site along our viewpoint trail to the north to discover panoramic scenes of the Rocky Mountains, forgotten ranch buildings and spot the herd of cattle that still call the Bar U home. Wildlife and native plants abound along Pekisko Creek to the east of our Chuckwagon camp. Discover deer, hawks, eagles or you might happen across a cowboy proposing to his sweetheart. It’s happened before!

Travis – Site Manager
A brown and white spotted bull with large horns in a field
The Inspiration Woods - British Columbia

Located just past the visitor kiosk at the bottom of the parkway in Mount Revelstoke National Park, you will find an enchanting world full of beautiful cedar hemlock forests, thick moss carpets and hanging lichen. This little known wonder is especially beautiful in the spring and fall when the creeks are flowing.

Marta – Partnering and Engagement Officer
A person looking up and reaching up along the trunk of a tall tree

Chutes Sunwapta - Alberta

Découvrez les chutes Sunwapta inférieures dans le parc national Jasper. C’est une courte randonnée (2,6 km aller-retour) dans un sentier moins fréquenté, avec vue sur des chutes spectaculaires. Ou prenez la journée et promenez-vous en vélo jusqu’à Big Bend (12,6 km aller-retour) le long des eaux calmes de la rivière, tout en contemplant les montagnes.

Pam – Gestionnaire de l’expérience du visiteur
Une rivière séparée par un ilot se rejoint et forme une chute d’eau bleu et blanc
Echo Harbour - Colombie-Britannique

Lorsque les saumons remontent le petit ruisseau qui se trouve au fond de cette bale dales la réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation Gwaii Haanas, vous savez que c’est un moment unique. De plus, des ours, des aigles et des phoques profitent des épnormes bancs de saumons grouillant à l’embouchure du ruisseau. Vous pouvez voir les saumons remonter les petites chutes partir de bateau.

Jay – Services techniques
Un bateau dans l’eau, entouré de forêt
Le « premier homme » Tseshaht - Colombie-Britannique

Ce poteau de maison de l’île Benson, qui se trouve dans le secteur de l’archipel Broken Group de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim vaut la visite. Il est situé à C’isaa, un endroit extraordinaire pour découvrir la culture de la Première Nation Tseshaht.

Crystal – Agente de promotion
Une statue en bois d’un homme tenant une épée
Beauté printanière - Colombie-Britannique

Dans le pré à chênes de Garry éducatif, aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard, la floraison blanche des érythrones, au début de mars, annonce l’arrivée du printemps, suivie de près par celle du plectritis rosé, du bouton d’or, de la quamassie mauve et de la fritillaire chocolat. Un écosystème rare allié à la délicatesse du paysage, autrefois cultivé par le peuple Lekwungen, qui y faisait pousser des quamassies en raison de leur bulbe comestible.

Aimée – Agente de communication sur les espèces en péril
Deux lis blancs
Vue du port - Colombie-Britannique

Mon trésor caché préféré au lieu historique national Gulf of Georgia Cannery, est le point de vue que nous offre la terrasse d’observation sud du port. On peut y voir différents bateaux de pêche à l’oeuvre dans le port de Steveston, le plus grand port de pêche commerciale du Canada!

Mimi – Gestionnaire du marketing et des services aux visiteurs
Un port remplit de bateau avec un grand bâtiment blanc dans l’arrière-plan
La maison de jeu - Colombie-Britannique

Les enfants adorent grimper sur l’échelle jusque dans le loft de la maison de jeu et regarder dehors au lieu historique national du Fort-Langley. Les murs de la maison sont construits selon la technique appelée poteaux sur soles; enfants et parents peuvent monter et démonter les murs, comme s’il s’agissait d’une maison géante en Lego.

Hazel et Taylor – Interprètes du patrimoine
Deux jeunes qui jouent avec des planches pour construire un mini-fort
Merveilles hivernales - Alberta

Mon trésor caché est le sentier inférieur du lieu historique national Cave and Basin en hiver. Autour des sources d’eau chaude, les plantes givrées créent une féérie hivernale. Dans le silence, vous pouvez entendre le bruit de l’eau vive qui descend jusqu’au marais.

Joanne – Coordonnatrice et agente d’interprétation
Des gens sur un trottoir de bois entouré d’un paysage enneigé
Le fort d’amusement - Alberta

Le fort d’amusement du lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House est génial. On y retrouve des jeux pour les enfants, le théâtre de marionnettes de David Thompson, un exemple miniature d’un poste de traite des fourrures, du plaisir pour toute la famille!

Susan – Gestionnaire des programmes du patrimoine
Un jeune qui regarde dans un viseur à partir d’une tour en bois
Nature secrète - Alberta

Empruntez le sentier panoramique en direction nord au lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U pour admirer les merveilleux paysages qu’offrent les montagnes Rocheuses et les ranchs historiques et découvrez les troupeaux de bétail qui sont encore chez eux au ranch Bar U. Les animaux sauvages et les plantes indigènes abondent le long du ruisseau Pekisko, à l’est de notre camp de rassemblement. Voyez des chevreuils, des faucons, des aigles ou peut-être même un cow-boy demandant la main de sa bien-aimée. C’est déjà arrivé!

Travis – Gestionnaire du lieu
Un taureau brun et blanc avec de longue corne courbé dans un champ
Le sentier des Bois-de-l’Inspiration - Colombie-Britannique

Au bas de la promenade, près du centre d’accueil du parc national du Mont-Revelstoke, vous vous retrouverez dans un monde enchanteur, formé de magnifiques forêts de cèdres et de pruches, d’épais tapis de mousse et de barbes de lichen suspendues aux arbres. Cette merveille peu connue est encore plus belle au printemps et à l’automne, lorsque coulent les ruisseaux.

Marta – Agente des partenariats et de la mobilisation
Image d’une personne qui regarde en haut et étire sont bras le long d’un grand arbre