Note: Only places administered by Parks Canada are offering free admission in 2017. Entry fees apply to sites managed by third parties.

Map

Day 1

Departure from Vancouver
Victoria 114 km from Vancouver (3.5 hours)

Leave the glittering skyscrapers of downtown Vancouver behind and head across the Salish Sea to Vancouver Island. Take it slow on the ferry or zoom across with a 30-minute seaplane or Helijet trip above the vivid green islands and clear waters of the Gulf Islands archipelago. Take your pick from grand historic hotels, modern funky boutiques or budget-friendly hostels in Victoria.



A couple hiking along a trail.

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve

Day 2

Victoria

Take in the beauty of the Inner Harbour on a ferry tour which shows off the city’s landmarks from the Parliament Buildings and quirky float homes to First Nations territories and maybe even a harbour seal or two.

Take a token from the captain and stop off at Fisherman’s Wharf to have fresh-cooked fish and chips for lunch. Once you’re back on dry land again, wander the narrow streets in the old part of town with its Victorian and Edwardian-era architecture, which seamlessly blends with the pagodas and dragons of the oldest Chinatown in Canada.




oldest Chinatown in Canada.

Victoria, British Columbia


Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse, 13 km from downtown Victoria (20-25 minutes)

Learn more about the area’s fascinating history at the Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites, with its secret bunkers and original buildings from the 19th century. Enjoy the beautiful seascape and breathe in the sea air. Soak up the sunshine on the area’s beaches and grassy hills.

Switching gears, go from chilled out to hyper-alert and sign up for a session in the shooting range and squeeze off a few rounds of an Airsoft gun! Spend the night in a cozy oTENTik in the grounds of this cool coastal artillery fort.



Four young people seated in a military jeep wearing military helmets taking a selfie.

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites

Day 3

Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site

Wake up to the sound of bird song then after breakfast meet with a naturalist to explore the Garry Oak Learning Meadow, a vivid oasis of wildflowers and a haven for bees and butterflies. Spend time hiking the newly built trails and spotting flora and fauna before returning to Vancouver.



A man and young boy explore nature with a Parks Canada guide.

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites


Steveston historic village, 110 km from Victoria (3.25 hours)

Back on the mainland, visit the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site in the scenic village of Steveston. This former salmon cannery will take you back to the era when the fishing industry flourished along the West Coast. From November to April, it’s home to an indoor winter market. If Steveston looks familiar, you may know it better as Storybrooke, the setting for the hit TV show Once Upon a Time. Take the time to walk around this pretty village and treat yourself to fish and chips on the waterfront and a fresh-made-to-order waffle cone.

Return to Vancouver (20 km – 40 minutes)


Shoppers browsing the wares at a farmers’ market inside an historic cannery.

Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site

Want more itineraries?

Download the visitor guide for Western Canada(PDF, 15.1 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Visitor Guides here.

Carte

Jour 1

Départ de Vancouver
Victoria à 114 km de Vancouver (trois heures et demie)

Laissez les gratte-ciel étincelants du centre-ville de Vancouver et traversez la mer des Salish jusqu’à l’île Vancouver. Prenez votre temps avec le traversier ou allez-y à toute vitesse en 30 minutes en hydravion ou en Helijet en survolant les îles vertes et les eaux claires de l’archipel des îles Gulf. Choisissez parmi les grands hôtels historiques, les boutiques modernes et branchées ou les auberges abordables de Victoria.



Un couple en randonnée le long d'un sentier.

Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf

Jour 2

Victoria

Admirez la beauté de l’arrière-port lors d’une visite en traversier d’où vous verrez les points d’intérêt de la ville, les édifices du Parlement, des maisons flottantes étranges dans les territoires des Premières nations et peut-être même un phoque commun ou deux.

Suivez les conseils du capitaine et arrêtez-vous au Fisherman’s Wharf (quai des pêcheurs) pour déguster un poisson-frites fraîchement cuit. Une fois revenus sur la terre ferme, promenez-vous dans les rues étroites du vieux Victoria. Son architecture victorienne et édouardienne s’intègre parfaitement aux pagodes et aux dragons du plus vieux quartier chinois au Canada.




plus vieux quartier chinois au Canada.

Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)


Fort Rodd Hill et Phare-de-Fisgard, à 13 km du centre de Victoria (20 à 25 minutes)

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’histoire fascinante de la région en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux de Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard, avec leurs bunkers secrets et bâtiments originaux du 19e siècle. Respirez l’air de la mer et de la vue magnifique sur le large, et profitez du soleil depuis les collines herbeuses ou les plages environnantes.

Puis, basculez dans une autre dimension en passant d’un mode détente à un état d’alerte maximale en tirant quelques coups de fusil Airsoft depuis le champ de tir ! Passez la nuit dans une confortable tente oTENTik sur le terrain de ce fort d’artillerie côtier le mieux conservé au Canada.



Quatre jeunes gens portant des casques militaires sont à l’arrière d’une jeep sans toit et se prennent en photo.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard

Jour 3

Fort Rodd Hill et Phare-de-Fisgard

Réveillez-vous au son de chants d’oiseaux, puis après le déjeuner, rencontrez un naturaliste pour explorer le pré à chênes de Garry éducatif, une oasis de fleurs sauvages et un paradis pour les abeilles et les papillons. Explorez les sentiers nouvellement aménagés avant de retourner à Vancouver.



Un homme et un jeune garçon explore la nature aux côtés d’un guide de Parcs Canada.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard


Village historique de Steveston, à 110 km de Victoria (trois heures et quart)

De retour sur le continent, visitez le lieu historique national Gulf of Georgia Cannery dans le pittoresque village de Steveston. Cette ancienne conserverie de saumon vous fera revivre l’époque où l’industrie de la pêche prospérait le long de la côte ouest. De novembre à avril, il abrite un marché intérieur d’hiver. Si le village de Steveston a l’air familier, c’est que vous le connaissez peut-être mieux sous le nom de Storybrooke, le lieu où se déroule l’émission de télévision à succès « Il était une fois ». Prenez le temps de vous promener dans ce joli village et gâtez-vous en dégustant un poisson-frites sur le bord de l’eau puis un cornet gaufré préparé sous vos yeux.

Retour à Vancouver (20 km — 40 minutes)


Des clients déambulent dans un grand marché couvert, une ancienne conserverie.

Lieu historique national Gulf of Georgia Cannery

Vous voulez plus d'itinéraires?

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur de l'Ouest canadien (PDF, 14,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides du visiteur