Note: Only Parks Canada-administered sites will be offering free admission in 2017. Visitors must pay entrance fees in sites managed by third parties.

4 days - Vancouver to Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Map

Day 1

Depart from West Vancouver and take BC Ferries to Nanaimo - “Cruising” time 1 hr 40

Head to Tofino, Ucluelet and Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. Set up your camp at Green Point Campground. At Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, walk among large ferns rising from a bed of moss in an old-growth rainforest where the trees tower higher than you can see. Explore the endless sandy beaches. Watch the breakers roll in. Breathe in the salt air and experience paradise.


Young couple hiking in the forest.
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Day 2

Take a walk through the Rainforest! Look up…way up, to see the rainforest canopy that shelters you from the more than 300cm of rain that falls annually in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. This rain is needed to support the growth of the large trees and rich green undergrowth of this temperate rainforest. Follow the boardwalks that wind through the lush, misty rainforest, and identify strange and wonderful creatures and plant life like Old Man’s Beard, Deer Fern, and the impressive Banana Slug!

Man with a backpack standing on a boardwalk, looking up at tall trees along a trail.
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Day 3

Paddle through the Broken Group Islands, an archipelago of over 100 islands and islets in Barkley Sound. Glide past basking sea lions, check out the kelp forest and enjoy a picnic lunch on a quiet sand beach. Want a real adventure? Plan to camp overnight on the Islands!

Couple kayaking.
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Day 4

For that once-in-a-lifetime surfing experience, put on a wetsuit and spend the afternoon in the waves. Visit local outfitters in Tofino or Ucluelet for lessons or if you are an experienced surfer, to rent gear. Will you catch the perfect wave before you head back home?

Young woman with a surf board by the ocean.
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

Want more itineraries?

Download the visitor guide for Western Canada(PDF, 15.1 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Visitor Guides here.

4 jours - Vancouver à la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Carte

Jour 1

Partez de West Vancouver et prenez un traversier à destination de Nanaimo - croisière d’une durée de 1 h 40

Dirigez-vous vers Tofino, Ucluelet et la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Installez-vous au camping de la Pointe Green. À la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, marchez parmi les fougères imposantes émergeant d’un lit de mousse dans une ancienne forêt pluviale. Les arbres s’élèvent si haut dans les airs que vous ne pourrez en voir la cime. Explorez les plages sablonneuses qui se déroulent à l’infini. Regardez les vagues se briser sur la plage. Respirez l’air salé. Ça c’est le paradis!


Jeune couple en randonnée dans la forêt.
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Jour 2

Promenez-vous dans la forêt pluviale! Regardez en haut, tout en haut, pour voir le couvert forestier qui vous abrite des quelque 300 cm de pluie qui tombent chaque année dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. La pluie est nécessaire pour appuyer la croissance des grands arbres et du riche sous-bois vert de cette forêt pluviale tempérée. Suivez les promenades de bois qui serpentent à travers la forêt luxuriante et brumeuse, et identifiez des créatures et des plantes étranges et merveilleuses comme le chionanthe de Virginie, la blechne en épi et l’impressionnante limace terrestre!

Homme qui porte un sac à dos, debout sur une promenade de bois, et regarde les grands arbres le long d’un sentier.
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Jour 3

Pagayez dans l’archipel Broken Group et découvrez plus de 100 îles et îlots dans la baie de Barclay. Glissez près des otaries se prélassant au soleil, observez la forêt de varech et profitez d’un pique-nique sur une plage de sable tranquille. Vous voulez une vraie aventure? Planifiez une nuit sur l’île!

Un couple en kayak.
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Jour 4

Vivez l’expérience d’une vie. Enfilez une combinaison humide et passez l’après-midi à surfer dans les vagues. Rendez-vous à Tofino ou Ucluelet pour des leçons ou si vous êtes expérimenté, louer de l’équipement. Partez à l’assaut de la vague parfaite. Repartez comblés.

Jeune femme avec une planche de surf sur le bord de l’océan.
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Vous voulez plus d'itinéraires?

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur de l'Ouest canadien (PDF, 14,2 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides du visiteur