Note: Only Parks Canada-administered sites will be offering free admission in 2017. Visitors must pay entrance fees in sites managed by third parties.

Map

A map of the itinerary route

7 Days - Ottawa to Kingston via Thousand Islands National Park and Rideau Canal

Day 1

Thousand Islands National Park, Mallorytown Landing - 136 km from Ottawa

Escape from everyday life and enter into the heart of the wilderness only a few hours from the city. Lace up your running shoes and discover different paths that wind through the park on undulating hiking trails. Explore hemlock forests, walk through spectacular wetlands, reach wooded ridges and admire impressive rock walls covered with ferns. Discover a forest changed dramatically by the work of industrious beavers. Don’t forget your binoculars, the park is the ideal place to observe wildlife.

Spend the night in the heart of nature in your comfortable waterfront oTENTik. Stoke up your campfire, roast some marshmallows, take in thousands of stars and just relax.


Four friends sit around a picnic table laughing after dinner
Thousand Islands National Park

Day 2

Wake up to the sound of water lapping the shore. Walk on the wharf, coffee in hand, what a relaxing morning! Ready for adventure? Grab your kayak and explore the St. Lawrence River’s blue-green waters. Visit picturesque granite islands and admire iconic windswept pine trees. You will be fascinated at every turn by sunken ships, historic castles and a landscape steeped in First Nations history. You might be lucky enough to glimpse a soaring bald eagle or a family of turtles basking on a rock.

Two kayakers paddle past an island at Thousand Islands National Park
Thousand Islands National Park

Day 3

Ride the 40 km of paved bike path along the 1000 Islands Parkway and observe its stunning river views. Take a picnic break on the breezy banks of the St. Lawrence River. In the afternoon, relax by the waterside and take a refreshing dip in the water. Want to go fishing before dinner? Who knows, with a bit of luck, you will be frying what you caught today!

Couple sitting by the water.
Thousand Islands National Park

Day 4

Prescott - 45 km from Mallorytown Landing

Go to Fort Wellington National Historic Site and enlist in the Royal Artillery for a day! Recruits will spend their time training to be a member of the cannon crew. Feel the surge of adrenaline as you fire a 19th century muzzle-loading cannon.

Return to Thousand Islands National Park for a final night along the scenic County Rd 2. Stop in Brockville along the way to shop on the main street and maybe pick up a Thousand Islands souvenir.

Four uniformed interpreters fire a cannon for the Royal Artillery presentation
Fort Wellington National Historic Site

Day 5

Kingston - 45 km from Mallorytown Landing

Tour the restored home and gardens of Bellevue House National Historic Site, home of Sir John A. Macdonald. Wander through the family’s preserved kitchen garden, bite into an heirloom apple and watch costumed gardeners cut the lawn with scythes, just like in the 1840s.

Take a stroll through the charming Kinston streets. Explore the city’s defensive system at Kingston Fortifications National Historic Site – located by the Kingston Harbour – and discover the defensive heart of Canada’s first Capital.

Merrickville - 105 km from Kingston

Continue your journey all the way to Merrickville, a magnificent Victorian village along the Rideau Canal. Wander around the historic village and travel through time. Cozy up for the night in an oTENTik by the Rideau Canal.

Two people take a selfie with an interpreter in front of Bellevue House
Bellevue House National Historic Site

Day 6

Ottawa - 75 km from Merrickville

Discover the national capital in a different light! Paddle through the scenic countryside, historic towns and quaint villages of Eastern Ontario on one of the many lakes, rivers or canals that wind through the city. There is so much to see and do along the Rideau Canal National Historic Site. Create your team and join us for a Voyageur Canoe Sunset Paddle in Ottawa on the Rideau Canal!

People in a voyageur canoe paddle on the Rideau Canal
Rideau Canal National Historic Site

Day 7

Take time to explore the canal on foot! It is a perfect activity to immerse oneself in the Rideau Canal’s history and nature. Do not miss the lockstation in Ottawa, with its historical flight of eight locks.

On the way back home, stop at Laurier House National Historic Site. Enjoy a behind-the-scenes white glove tour: explore rooms usually off-limits to visitors and touch some of the artifacts in the collection. Enjoy afternoon tea served on the veranda before heading back home.

People bike and run down the path along the Rideau Canal
Rideau Canal National Historic Site

Want more itineraries?

Download the visitor guide for Ontario (PDF, 9.3 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Visitor Guides here.

7 jours - Ottawa à Kingston, en passant par les Mille-Îles et le canal Rideau

Carte

Jour 1

Parc national des Mille-Îles, Mallorytown Landing - 136 km d'Ottawa

Évadez-vous du quotidien, au cœur d’une nature sauvage à seulement quelques heures de la ville! Enfilez vos espadrilles et partez à la découverte des différents sentiers qui serpentent le parc. Explorez des forêts de pruches, traversez des milieux humides spectaculaires, atteignez des crêtes boisées et admirez d’impressionnantes parois rocheuses couvertes de fougères. Découvrez une forêt transformée de façon spectaculaire par les castors assidus. N’oubliez pas vos jumelles, le parc est l’endroit idéal pour observer la faune.

Passez la nuit au cœur de cette vie sauvage, sur les berges du fleuve, en tout confort dans une tente oTENTik. Allumez votre feu de camp, faites griller des guimauves, admirez les milliers d’étoiles et relaxez…


Quatre amis assis à une table de pique-nique discutent et rient autour d’un repas
Parc national des Mille-Îles

Jour 2

Réveillez-vous au son du clapotis de l’eau. Marchez sur le quai, café en main, quelle matinée relaxante. Prêts pour l’aventure? Pagayez sur les eaux turquoise du Saint-Laurent. Rendez-vous dans des îles pittoresques de granit et de pins balayés par les vents. Vous serez émerveillés à chaque détour par des épaves, des châteaux historiques et des paysages imprégnés de l’histoire des Premières Nations. Vous aurez peut-être la chance de voir planer un pygargue à tête blanche ou d’apercevoir une famille de tortues qui se chauffe au soleil sur une roche.

Deux visiteurs en kayak pagaient devant une île au parc national des Mille-Îles
Parc national des Mille-Îles

Jour 3

Partez en vélo sous un ciel radieux dans le décor enchanteur de la Promenade des Mille-Îles, vous serez charmés par les points de vue magnifiques sur le fleuve et les îles. Faites une pause pique-nique sur les berges du fleuve Saint-Laurent bercés par la brise. En après-midi, détendez-vous sur les plages sablonneuses du parc et faites une saucette pour vous rafraichir. Une partie de pêche avant le souper? Qui sait, avec un peu de chance vous ferez frire ce que vous avez pêché aujourd’hui!

Un couple admire le paysage assis sur un rocher sur le bord de l’eau
Parc national des Mille-Îles

Jour 4

Prescott - 45 km de Mallorytown Landing

Faites une escapade au lieu historique national Fort-Wellington et enrôlez-vous dans l’Artillerie royale pour une journée! Les recrues passeront la journée à s’entraîner pour devenir membres de l’équipage du canon. Ressentez une poussée d’adrénaline en tirant un coup de canon à chargement par la bouche, qui date du 19e siècle.

Revenez à Mallorytown Landing pour profiter d’une dernière nuit dans votre oTENtik dans le parc national des Mille-Îles. Empruntez la route panoramique et faites un arrêt à Brockville, le temps de flâner sur la rue principale pour découvrir les boutiques et les bistrots et peut-être acheter quelques souvenirs des Mille-Îles.


Quatre interprètes en uniforme tirent du canon lors de la présentation de l'Artillerie royale
Lieu historique national Fort-Wellington

Jour 5

Kingston - 45 km de Mallorytown Landing

Explorez la maison et les jardins restaurés du lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue, lieu de résidence de Sir John A. Macdonald. Promenez-vous dans le potager familial préservé, croquez une pomme dans le verger patrimonial et regardez les jardiniers en costume d’époque couper l’herbe à l’aide d’une faux, comme dans les années 1840.

Déambulez dans les charmantes rues de Kingston. Explorez le système défensif de la ville au lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Kingston situé autour du port de Kingston et découvrez l’importance stratégique de cette ancienne capitale du Canada.

Merrickville - 105 km de Kingston

Poursuivez ensuite votre route jusqu’à Merrickville, un magnifique village victorien bordant le canal Rideau. Déambulez dans les rues et faites un incroyable voyage dans le passé. Installez-vous confortablement pour la nuit dans une oTENTik sur le bord du canal Rideau.


Deux visiteurs prennent une égo-portrait avec un interprète devant la Villa Bellevue
Lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue

Jour 6

Ottawa - 75 km de Merrickville

Découvrez la capitale nationale sous un autre jour! Traversez des paysages bucoliques, des petites villes historiques et des villages au charme vieillot de l’est de l’Ontario en pagayant sur l’un des nombreux lacs, rivières ou canaux qui serpentent la ville. Il y a tant à voir et à faire le long du canal Rideau. En fin de journée, formez votre équipe et faites une promenade au crépuscule en canot voyageur à Ottawa sur le canal Rideau!

Des visiteurs en canot voyageur pagaient sur le canal Rideau
Lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau

Day 7

Prenez le temps d’explorer le lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau à pied! Une véritable immersion dans l’histoire et la nature du canal vous attend. Ne manquez pas le poste d’éclusage d’Ottawa, avec son échelle de huit écluses, qui présente un grand intérêt sur le plan historique.

Sur le chemin du retour, faites un arrêt au lieu historique national de la Maison-Laurier. Profitez d’une visite en coulisse avec des gants blancs : explorez des pièces dont l’accès est habituellement interdit aux visiteurs et touchez à certains des artéfacts de la collection. Prenez le thé en après-midi sur la véranda de la maison Laurier avant de prendre le chemin du retour.

Des gens font du vélo et d’autres courent le long du canal Rideau
Lieu historique national du Canal-Rideau

Vous voulez plus d'itinéraires?

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur d'Ontario (PDF, 8,8 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides du visiteur