Note: Only Parks Canada-administered sites will be offering free admission in 2017. Visitors must pay entrance fees in sites managed by third parties.

Map

Day 1

Departure from Ottawa to Ingleside, 85 km from Ottawa (1 hour)

Who knew that sandy beaches perfect for picnics and camping trips were just an hour away from the nation’s Capital? Take a break from the city and pitch your tent near the beaches on the St. Lawrence River near Ingleside, Ontario, sleep to the sound of surf breaking on the shores.


Four young women in bathing suits sit on a dock and look out over the Saint-Lawrence River.
Thousand Islands National Park

Day 2

Fort Wellington National Historic Site, 58 km from Ingleside (40 minutes)

Ever noticed how great food tastes outdoors? Have a slap-up breakfast at the water’s edge before heading to Fort Wellington, which played a pivotal role in both the War of 1812 and the raids that followed the 1837 Rebellion in Upper Canada. Upgrade your experience and make a booking to enlist as cannon crew in the Royal Artillery; dress up in military regalia and learn how to fire a 19th century muzzle-loading cannon!

After this adrenaline rush, take a stroll along the water to Prescott where you can grab a bite by the harbour or have a picnic in the park and plan your next stop: Thousand Islands National Park.


Four people in Royal Artillery military costumes firing a field gun.

Fort Wellington National Historic Site


Thousand Islands National Park, 73 km from Prescott (53 minutes)

Travel along the St Lawrence river, which neatly divides the USA from Canada to Gananoque, your launch point into the Thousand Islands National Park. Join a kayak expedition with a friendly guide along with one of Parks Canada’s travel adventure partners or go solo. Paddle through turquoise waters past a wonderland of carefully preserved treasures: shipwrecks, historic castles and wind-carved natural features.

Two kayakers paddling in the heart of the Thousand Islands.

Thousand Islands National Park

If you prefer a more leisurely pace step on board a cruise from Gananoque and let the area’s bucolic natural beauty and fascinating history unfold over an afternoon.

When it comes to bedtime, where will you sleep? Snug as a bug in your tent or maybe upgrade to a cosy Parks Canada oTENTik on an island or the banks? Make sure you book now so you don’t miss out. A shuttle will carry your belongings to the island.

A young man and woman seated in Adirondack chairs in front of an oTENTik along the water.

Thousand Islands National Park

Day 3

Kingston, 29 km from Gananoque (27 minutes)

Nothing tastes better than breakfast cooked over a campfire! Get some inspiration with our special camping recipes.

Afterwards, pack up and make tracks for Kingston, home of Ontario’s only UNESCO World Heritage Site, Fort Henry National Historic Site. Visit the fort and step back in time to the year of Confederation in 1867; take part in a class at a Victorian-era school, watch the daily Garrison parade, or sign up to learn to fire a musket. Back in town, explore Kingston’s charming streets and visit the excellent public market and browse local growers and artisan’s produce and crafts. Have a picnic on the waterfront or lunch at a local restaurant, or maybe stop by Bellevue House National Historic Site for a summer whisky tasting or guided tour.



A young couple take a selfie with an interpreter in 1840s period dress in front of Bellevue-House.

Bellevue House National Historic Site


Return to Ottawa, 178 km via Smith Falls (2.25 hours) or 200 km via Prescott (2.17 hours)

Not ready to head home? Camp overnight in a fully equipped oTENTik in Smith Falls on the Rideau Canal (1 hour from Ottawa) or book a stay in the historic town of Perth, just 10 minutes away by car.


A close-up image of a couple looking out over the Rideau Canal locks.

Rideau Canal National Historic Site

Bonus: Ottawa à la carte (1 day)

Looking for a romantic getaway?

Take a stroll or sail the scenic Rideau Canal all the way to Parliament Hill.

Is this your cup of tea?

Book afternoon tea on the veranda at historic Laurier House just ten minutes’ drive from Parliament, the former home of two Canadian prime ministers: Sir Wilfrid Laurier and William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Want to play spy?

The Diefenbunker is a huge underground atomic fallout shelter where you can relive the tension of the Cold War, play in the world’s largest escape room, and even celebrate your birthday in the bunker with secret missions, code cracking and adventure deep underground.

Carte

Jour 1

Départ d’Ottawa envers Ingleside, à 85 km d’Ottawa (une heure)

Qui aurait imaginé qu’il y a des plages de sable parfaites pour les pique-niques et le camping à une heure de la capitale nationale? Sortez de la ville et dressez votre tente près des plages du fleuve Saint-Laurent non loin d’Ingleside, en Ontario, et laissez le clapotis des vagues sur les rives vous bercer dans votre sommeil.


Quatre femmes vues de dos en costume de bain, assises sur un quai devant le fleuve St-Laurent.
Parc national des Mille-Îles

Jour 2

Lieu historique national du Fort-Wellington, 58 km d'Ingleside (40 minutes)

Avez-vous déjà remarqué combien tout goûte meilleur à l’extérieur? Dégustez un excellent petit-déjeuner au bord de l’eau avant de partir pour le Fort Wellington, lequel a joué un rôle central dans la Guerre de 1812 et les raids qui ont suivi la rébellion de 1837 dans le Haut-Canada. À votre arrivée, enrôlez-vous dans l’artillerie royale comme équipage de canons (sur réservation seulement) ; revêtez la tenue militaire et apprenez à tirer un canon à chargement par la bouche du 19e siècle!

Après cette montée d’adrénaline, promenez-vous sur le bord de l’eau jusqu’à Prescott, où vous pourrez casser la croûte au bord du port ou pique-niquer dans le parc et imaginer déjà votre prochain arrêt : le parc national des Mille-Îles.


Quatre hommes en costume militaire de l’Artillerie royale tirant le canon.

Fort Wellington National Historic Site


Parc national des Mille-Îles à Gananoque, 73 km depuis Prescott (53 minutes)

Voyagez le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, lequel divise soigneusement les États-Unis du Canada jusqu’à Gananoque, votre point de départ pour le parc national des Mille-Îles. Joignez-vous à une expédition guidée de kayak avec l’un des partenaires d’aventure de Parcs Canada ou allez-y en solo. Pagayer dans les eaux turquoise au cœur des îles est un émerveillement sans fin : les épaves, les châteaux historiques, les formations naturelles sculptées par le vent. Toutes ces merveilles sont précieusement conservées.

Deux personnes en kayak pagayant au cœur des Mille Îles.

Parc national des Mille-Îles

Si vous préférez moins vous presser, montez à bord d’un bateau de croisière de Gananoque et découvrez la beauté naturelle et l’histoire fascinante de la région au cours d’une après-midi.

Et où dormirez-vous? Bien au chaud dans votre tente ou peut-être voudrez-vous essayer une tente oTENTik confortable de Parcs Canada sur une île ou depuis la rive? Réservez dès maintenant, car les places sont limitées. Une navette transportera vos bagages sur l’île.

Deux jeunes gens, un homme et une femme, assis dans des chaises rouges devant une tente oTENTik, au bord de l’eau.

Parc national des Mille-Îles

Jour 3

Kingston, à 29 km de Gananoque (27 minutes)

Rien de meilleur qu’un petit-déjeuner préparé sur un feu de camp! Inspirez-vous de nos recettes de camping spéciales.

Ensuite, faites vos bagages et partez en direction de Kingston, où se trouve le seul site du patrimoine mondial UNESCO de l’Ontario, le lieu historique national du Fort Henry. Visitez le fort et remontez dans le temps jusqu’en 1867, l’année de la Confédération; participez à une classe dans une école de l’époque victorienne, regardez le défilé quotidien de la garnison ou inscrivez-vous pour apprendre à tirer un fusil. De retour en ville, explorez les rues charmantes de Kingston et visitez l’excellent marché public où vous découvrirez les produits des producteurs et les œuvres des artisans locaux. Pique-niquez sur le bord de l’eau ou prenez le déjeuner dans un restaurant local, ou encore arrêtez-vous au lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue pour une dégustation de whisky d’été ou une visite guidée.



Un couple fait un égo portrait avec une interprète en costume d’époque de 1840 devant la Villa-Bellevue.

Lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue


Retour à Ottawa, 178 km par Smith Falls (deux heures et quart) ou 200 km par Prescott (deux heures)

Vous n’êtes pas prêt à rentrer chez vous? Passez la nuit dans une tente oTENTik entièrement équipée à Smith Falls sur le canal Rideau (à 1 heure d’Ottawa) ou réservez un séjour dans la ville historique de Perth, à seulement 10 minutes en voiture.


Un couple en gros plan regardant les écluses du canal Rideau.

Rideau Canal National Historic Site

En prime : Ottawa à la carte (une journée)

Vous cherchez une escapade romantique?

Faites une promenade ou naviguez sur le panoramique canal Rideau jusqu’à la colline du Parlement.

Voua aimez prendre le thé?

Réservez votre place au thé de l’après-midi sur la véranda de la maison Laurier historique, à dix minutes de route du Parlement, l’ancienne maison de deux premiers ministres canadiens : Sir Wilfrid Laurier et William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Voulez-vous jouer à l’espion?

Le Diefenbunker est un immense abri antiatomique où vous pouvez revivre la tension de la Guerre froide, jouer dans la plus grande salle d’évasion du monde et célébrer votre anniversaire dans le bunker avec des missions secrètes, des codes à décrypter et en vous aventurant loin sous terre.