Note: Only Parks Canada-administered sites will be offering free admission in 2017. Visitors must pay entrance fees in sites managed by third parties.

6 days - Sault Ste-Marie to Thunder Bay

Map

Day 1

Sault Ste. Marie to Heron Bay - 405 km

Start at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site. Drive north through dramatic Lake Superior vistas to Pukaskwa National Park. Pitch your tent in Hattie Cove Campground, and take the boardwalk to Horseshoe Beach. Watch your first sunset over Lake Superior.

Day 2

Looking for a challenging and scenic day hike? An impressive view from high above a roaring river canyon? The White River Suspension Bridge Trail beckons – a natural escape with an adrenaline-pumping twist.

Day 3

Discover the Seven Grandfather Teachings of the Ojibway First Nations. Join the park’s Cultural Heritage Interpreter for a guided hike on Bimose Kinoomagewnan Trail - “The Walk of Teachings”. Afterwards, grab a coffee in the Visitor Centre and share your photos and stories with friends using the free wifi.

Day 4 - 6

Heron Bay to Rossport - 125 km

Drive to Rossport and enjoy the best of Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area. Start your trek in the town and follow the 1.5 km Rossport Coastal Trail along the coastline. More experienced hikers will want to try the challenging 9 km Nipigon River Recreation Trail that leads through woodland and wetland habitats, and in and out of ravines.

Ready to get on the water? Rent a kayak and head out onto the vast lake. Coves, bays and inlets are yours to explore. Pitch your tent on one of the islands and spend your final night under the stars.

Head to Thunder Bay to fly home or continue on the Lake Superior Circle Tour.

Want more itineraries?

Download the visitor guide for Ontario (PDF, 9.3 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Visitor Guides here.

6 jours - Sault Ste-Marie à Thunder Bay

Carte

Jour 1

Sault Ste. Marie à Heron Bay - 405 km

Votre point de départ: le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault-Sainte-Marie. Prenez la route vers le Nord pour une suite ininterrompue de points de vue époustouflants sur le Lac Supérieur jusqu’au parc national Pukaskwa. Montez votre tente au terrain de camping Hattie Cove. Empruntez les passerelles jusqu’à la plage Horseshoe. Admirez votre premier coucher de soleil sur le lac Supérieur.

Jour 2

Vous recherchez une randonnée sportive d’une journée offrant des points de vue exceptionnels et des chutes impressionnantes? Offrez-vous une escapade en pleine nature sur le sentier du pont suspendu de la rivière White. Montées d’adrénaline garanties.

Jour 3

Découvrez les sept enseignements ancestraux des Premières Nations Ojibways. Joignez-vous à un interprète du patrimoine culturel du parc à l’occasion de la «randonnée des leçons» sur le sentier Bimose Kinoomagewnan. Rendez-vous ensuite au centre d’accueil, avec accès Wi-Fi gratuit, pour déguster un café et partager vos histoires et photos avec vos amis.

Jour 4 - 6

Heron Bay à Rossport - 125 km

Conduisez jusqu’à Rossport pour découvrir ce que l’aire marine de conservation du Lac Supérieur a de mieux à offrir. Commencez votre randonnée dans le village et suivez la Piste côtière de 1,5 km qui longe la rive et permet aux randonneurs débutants d’apprécier l’immensité du lac Supérieur. Vous faites partie des randonneurs plus expérimentés? Empruntez le sentier récréatif de la rivière Nipigon de 9 km, qui traverse des bois et des zones humides, et surplombe des ravins.

Prêts à vous jeter à l’eau? Louez un kayak et prenez ce vaste lac d’assaut. Les anses, les baies et les bras de l’aire marine n’attendent que vous. Montez votre tente sur une des îles et passez votre dernière nuit sous les étoiles.

Prenez l’avion pour retourner à la maison à partir de Thunder Bay ou poursuivez votre boucle du lac Supérieur.

Vous voulez plus d'itinéraires?

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur d'Ontario (PDF, 8,8 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides du visiteur