Note: Only Parks Canada-administered sites will be offering free admission in 2017. Visitors must pay entrance fees in sites managed by third parties.

Map

Day 1

From Halifax to Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site, 164 km (2 hours)

Walk in the footsteps of the generations who’ve hiked, paddled, camped, and connected with nature in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site. See the night sky twinkle with tens of thousands of stars in Nova Scotia’s only Dark Sky Preserve, rent a Dark Sky kit complete with binoculars and star finder to make the most of these brilliant celestial bodies. At night curl up in an oTENTik tent, a yurt or a rustic cabin and you’ll sleep like a baby lulled by the croaking song of frogs and sound of the waves lapping on the shores of Keji Lake.


Two campers observe the night sky with a telescope.
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Day 2

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

After a campfire-cooked breakfast, paddle back in time on a voyageur canoe up the tranquil Mersey River. Discover Mi’kmaq stories told through ancient petroglyph rock art or hike through awe-inspiring old-growth hemlock forest where some of the trees are over 400 years old.


A hand examining an ancient petroglyph.

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site


Annapolis Royal, 55 km from Kejimkujik (45 minutes)

Spend the afternoon in historic Annapolis Royal. Be sure to visit Fort Anne, which is celebrating 100 years as a national historic site. Explore four centuries of history in the Officers’ Quarters through a new, immersive exhibit. The fort grounds are the perfect place to fly a kite and offer a breathtaking view.

Indulge your senses with a trip to the nearby Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, a paradise for flower lovers with an intoxicating rose garden.

In the evening, decide if you’ll dive into seafood chowder and fresh-cooked local lobster on the Seafood Trail or raise a glass to the area’s innovative craft brewers, distillers and winemakers on the Good Cheer Trail. Spend the night in one of the many heritage inns and B&B’s in the Annapolis Royal Historic District.


Aerial view of the French star-shaped fortifications of Fort-Anne.

Fort Anne National Historic Site

Day 3

Port-Royal, 12 km from Annapolis Royal (15 minutes)

Plan ahead and pick up the ingredients for a perfect picnic at the Port-Royal Farmers’ market in the historic downtown core. Browse the artisans and makers for unique crafts and gifts to take home, from local honey and hand-made soaps to intricate quilts and tempting jewellery. Antiques fans should make time to drop in at North Hills Museum, home to an impressive collection of treasures.

Next stop: discovering one of the earliest European settlements in North America at Port-Royal National Historic Site. Kids can dress up in period costume complete with wooden shoes, as they learn about life was like for the early settlers and explore a replica of Samuel de Champlain’s home.


Man in a period costume at dusk holding a lit lantern.

Fort Anne National Historic Site


Valleyview Provincial Park, 35 km from Port Royal (30 minutes)

Time for lunch now in the woodland setting of the Valleyview Provincial Park in Bridgetown. Spread out your blanket and unpack that picnic to enjoy under a shady tree with a stunning view over the entire Annapolis Valley.

Port Williams, 86 km from Valleyview Provincial Park (1 hour)

Halfway home, don’t miss a stop in scenic Port Williams to enjoy local treats from sixth-generation farmers such as Cranberry Cheddar, smooth Italian-style gelato and creamy yoghurts. You can also take a guided tour of the local distillery and taste heady spirits including the “Tidal Run” made from molasses. Put the seal on the day with a few essentials at the nearby microbrewery.

Return to Halifax (97 km – 65 minutes)

A sturdy man wearing knee-high boots in front of a wooden structure and palisade.

Port-Royal National Historic Site

Want more itineraries?

Download the visitor guide for Atlantic Canada (PDF, 15.3 MB) or order your free copy by calling 1-888-773-8888.

See the other Visitor Guides here.

Carte

Jour 1

Départ de Halifax Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, à 164 km de Halifax (deux heures)

Comme les générations passées, faites de la randonnée, pagayez, campez au cœur de la nature dans le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik. Scrutez le ciel nocturne et voyez scintiller des dizaines de milliers d’étoiles dans la seule réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse, louez une trousse pour ciel étoilé comprenant des jumelles et un identificateur d’étoiles pour tirer le meilleur parti de ces corps célestes brillants. La nuit, recroquevillez-vous dans une tente oTENTik, une yourte ou une cabane rustique et dormez comme un bébé bercé par le croassement des grenouilles et le clapotis des vagues sur les rives du lac Keji.


Deux campeurs sous les étoiles regardent le ciel à l’aide d’un télescope.
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Jour 2

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Après un petit-déjeuner préparé sur un feu de camp, remontez le temps dans un canot de voyageur sur la tranquille rivière Mersey. Découvrez les histoires des Mi’kmaq racontées à travers les anciens pétroglyphes, une forme d’art rupestre, ou faites de la randonnée dans une forêt de pruche ancienne et impressionnante, où certains arbres ont plus de 400 ans.


Une main examinant un ancien pétroglyphe.

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik


Annapolis Royal, 55 km de Kejimkujik (45 minutes)

Passez l’après-midi à l’historique ville d’Annapolis Royal. N’oubliez pas de visiter Fort Anne, qui célèbre 100 ans en tant que site historique national. Explorez quatre siècles d’histoire dans les quartiers des officiers grâce à une nouvelle exposition immersive. Les terrains du fort sont l’endroit idéal pour faire voler un cerf-volant et offrent une vue imprenable.

Faites-vous plaisir en visitant les jardins historiques d’Annapolis Royal, un paradis pour les amateurs de fleurs où vous découvrirez un jardin de roses enivrant.

Le soir venu, choisissez de plonger dans la chaudrée de fruits de mer et savourer le homard local fraîchement préparé sur la Seafood Trail (sentier des fruits de mer) ou si vous préférez lever votre verre en visitant les brasseurs, les distillateurs et les vignerons artisanaux innovants de la région en prenant la Good Cheer Trail (sentier du verre de l’amitié). Passez la nuit dans l’une des nombreuses auberges patrimoniales et chambres d’hôte dans le quartier historique d’Annapolis Royal.




Vue aérienne des fortifications en pointe d’origine française du Fort- Anne.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne

Jour 3

Port-Royal à 12 km d’Annapolis Royal (15 minutes)

Planifiez un pique-nique parfait en achetant tous les ingrédients au marché fermier de Port-Royal dans le centre-ville historique. Flânez parmi les kiosques d’artisans et de fabricants et découvrez de l’artisanat et des cadeaux uniques à emporter, du miel local et des savons faits à la main aux courtepointes complexes et aux bijoux tentants. Les amateurs d’antiquités devraient prendre le temps de visiter le musée North Hills, où l’on trouve une impressionnante collection de trésors.

Prochain arrêt : découvrir une des premières colonies européennes en Amérique du Nord au lieu historique national de Port-Royal. Les enfants peuvent s’habiller en costume d’époque complet avec des chaussures en bois, ce qui leur permettra de mieux comprendre comment vivaient les premiers colons et explorer une réplique de la maison de Samuel de Champlain.


Au crépuscule, un homme en costume d’époque portant une lanterne allumée.

Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne


Parc provincial de Valleyview, à 35 km de Port-Royal (30 minutes)

Pour le déjeuner, rendez-vous dans la forêt du parc provincial Valleyview à Bridgetown. Étendez votre couverture et déballez vos victuailles de pique-nique que vous dégusterez sous un arbre ombragé avec une vue imprenable sur toute la vallée d’Annapolis.

Port Williams, à 86 km du parc provincial de Valleyview (une heure)

À mi-chemin de la maison, n’oubliez pas de vous arrêter dans le pittoresque village de Port Williams pour profiter des délices locaux des agriculteurs, les fromages tels que le cheddar aux canneberges, la glace italienne et le yogourt crémeux. Vous pouvez également faire une visite guidée d’une distillerie, déguster des spiritueux capiteux, y compris le « Tidal Run » fait de mélasse. Terminez cette journée en beauté avec quelques incontournables à la microbrasserie avoisinante.

Retour à Halifax (97 km — 65 minutes)

Homme costaud portant des bottes près d’un bâtiment entouré de palissades en bois.

Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

Vous voulez plus d'itinéraires?

Téléchargez le guide du visiteur de Canada atlantique (PDF, 14,4 Mo) ou commandez-en un exemplaire gratuit au 1-888-773-8888.

Consultez les autres guides du visiteur