New Brunswick is out of this world

My favourite gem in Kouchibouguac National Park is the Bog Trail. The view from the observation tower is amazing, and walking through the bog almost makes you feel like you’re on another planet! It’s very unique. Love it!

André – Internet Content and New Media Officer
People look up at the starts from a white observation tower at the end of the bog trail
Sallikuluk, Newfoundland and Labrador

Rose Island, (Sallikuluk in Inuktitut) has been used by generations of Inuit who have lived, hunted, gathered, and used the island as a meeting place. Part of Torngat Mountains National Park, this small island located in Saglek Bay, is also a resting place for Inuit as there are over 600 traditional Inuit rock graves. When you step onto the island you know you have arrived at a truly special place.

Gary – Superintendant
A group of people listen to a Parks Canada employee on Rose Island.
Third Vault Falls, New Brunswick

Rugged and remote, this impressive waterfall plunges 16 m down a rocky ravine in its rush to join the Upper Salmon River. This is the largest waterfall in Fundy National Park and a perennial favourite destination amongst our staff.

Adam – Park Warden
A hiker appreciates the view at Third Vault falls.
Gibbet Hill Trail, Newfoundland and Labrador

This is one of the least used trails at Signal Hill National Historic Site, but the view at the top is spectacular. It offers stunning views of the city of St. John’s, the Narrows, and Quidi Vidi Lake.

Rich – Visitor Experience Team Leader
Two people appreciate the view of St. John's from the Gibbet Hill Trail
Greenwich Dunes Trail, Prince Edward Island

My favourite place in Prince Edward Island National Park is the Greenwich Dunes Trail. Despite having hiked it many times, my excitement always builds as I cross the floating boardwalk on Bowley Pond, climb the dune access and then turn around to see the most breathtaking views of the parabolic dune system. It’s unlike anything else on Prince Edward Island.

Janette – Promotions Officer
Five friends sitting on the Red Chairs smile for a selfie in the dunes
Meandering trails, Prince Edward Island

One of Prince Edward Island’s best kept secrets is Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst National Historic Site and its 5 km trail system. The trails meander through the terrain of an 18th century Acadian settlement and offers the best views of Charlottetown Harbour. I recommend packing a picnic and a kite!

Ocel – National Historic Sites Visitor Experience Manager
Family walking a trail at Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst
Nova Scotia is perfect for paddlers

The moment I climbed aboard the 10-person Voyageur canoe last summer for a guided tour in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site I was hooked! Meandering up the Mersey River to the Stillwater Orde, a rarely visited and pristine part of the park, I felt completely removed from civilization. As I dipped my paddle into the still waters while listening to captivating stories of the past, I knew I was in a special place.

Krista – Promotions Officer
A group takes part in a guided visit in a Voyageur canoe
Grand-Pré Theatre, Nova Scotia

I cannot visit Grand-Pré National Historic Site without watching the presentation in the multimedia theatre, designed like the hull of a ship. The state-of-the-art presentation depicts the story of the Acadian Deportation and helps you better understand your visit through the site. There is not a dry eye at the end!

Mireille – Promotions Officer
A father and son listen to a presentation at the theater
Alec and Mabel, Nova Scotia

Hidden in plain sight! A beautiful photo found at Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site; Alec watching Mabel pilot his speed record hydrofoil - the HD4. It tells so much about them: her adventurous spirit and his anxiety, caution and pride all at the same time. Leads to the story of the importance of Mabel’s role in Alexander Graham Bell’s life.

Donna – Heritage presenter
Black and white image of Alec watching Mable in the water
Wolfe’s Landing and Kennington Cove Beach, Nova Scotia

Part of the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, this serene place was once the scene of a smoky confrontation during the 1758 British siege of Louisbourg, when 200 ships surrounded the cove. Much of the landscape remains unchanged, sparking one’s imagination and spirit of this place adjacent to one of the most spectacular beaches on Cape Breton Island.

Lee Anne – Resource Conservation Technician
Aerial photo Wolfe’s Landing national historic site and the Kennington Cove

Un trésor venu d’ailleurs, Nouveau-Brunswick

Ce que je préfère dans le parc national Kouchibouguac, c’est le sentier de la tourbière. La vue depuis la tour d’observation est à couper le souffle et marcher sur le sentier donne presque l’impression d’être sur une autre planète! C’est vraiment unique. J’adore!

André – Responsable du contenu Internet et des nouveaux médias
Des gens observent les étoiles à partir d’une tour d’observation sur le sentier de la tourbière
Sallikuluk, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Depuis plusieurs générations, l’Île Rose, (Sallikuluk en Inuktitut) est occupée par des Inuits qui y vivent, chassent, s’y rassemblent et s’y rencontrent. Cette petite île, qui fait partie du parc national des Monts-Torngat, dans la Baie Saglek, tient également lieu de cimetière pour les Inuits, car elle abrite plus de 600 tombes en pierres traditionnelles. Lorsque vous posez le pied sur l’île, vous savez que vous débarquez dans un endroit unique en son genre.

Gary – Directeur
Un groupe de visiteurs écoutent un employé de Parcs Canada à Rose Island
Chutes Third Vault, Nouveau-Brunswick

Escarpées et reculées, ces chutes impressionnantes font une plongée de 16 m dans une ravine rocheuse avant de se précipiter vers la rivière Upper Salmon. Plus grosses chutes du parc national Fundy, il s’agit d’une destination très courue toute l’année et l’un des endroits favoris de notre personnel.

Adam – Gardien de parc
Un randonneur apprécie la vue des chutes Third Vault
Sentier de la Colline du Gibbet, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

C’est l’un des sentiers les moins fréquentés du lieu historique national de Signal Hill, mais la vue au sommet est exceptionnelle. Il offre une vue saisissante de la ville de St. John’s, du goulet et du lac Quidi Vidi.

Rich – Chef d’équipe, Expérience du visiteur
Deux personnes admirent la vue de St. John's à partir du  sentier de la Colline-de-Gibbet
Sentier des Dunes-de-Greenwich, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Mon endroit favori au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, c’est le sentier des Dunes-de-Greenwich. Bien que je l’aie emprunté un nombre incalculable de fois, mon excitation est toujours aussi grande lorsque je traverse le trottoir flottant sur l’étang Bowley avant de franchir l’accès à la dune et d’admirer la vue sensationnelle sur les dunes paraboliques. Ça n’a pas son pareil à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Janette – Agente de promotion
Cinq amis prennent une égo-portrait assis sur les chaises rouges dans les dunes
Des sentiers sinueux, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

L’un des secrets les mieux gardés de l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard est le lieu historique national de Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst et son réseau de sentiers de 5 km. Les sentiers serpentent sur un terrain où se sont établis les Acadiens au XVIIIᵉ siècle et offrent les meilleures vues du port de Charlottetown. Je vous conseille d’emporter un pique-nique et un cerf-volant!

Ocel – Gestionnaire, expérience du visiteur – lieux historiques nationaux
Une famille marche dans un sentier à Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst
Parfait pour les pagayeurs, Nouvelle-Écosse

Dès le moment où je suis embarquée dans un canot voyageur de 10 places l’été dernier pour une visite guidée au parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik, je suis devenue accro! En remontant la rivière Mersey jusqu’à Stillwater Orde, une partie rarement visitée et vierge du parc, je me suis sentie complètement en retrait de la civilisation. Tandis que je plongeais ma rame dans les eaux claires tout en écoutant les histoires captivantes du passé, j’ai compris que j’étais dans un endroit unique.

Krista – Agente de promotion
Un groupe participe à une visite guidée dans un canot voyageur
Théâtre de Grand-Pré, Nouvelle-Écosse

Je ne peux visiter le lieu historique national de Grand-Pré sans assister à la projection donnée dans le théâtre multimédia, conçu comme une coque de navire. Cette présentation captivante raconte l’histoire de la déportation des Acadiens et permet de mieux comprendre la visite sur le site. Sortez les mouchoirs!

Mireille – Agente de promotion
Un père et son fils écoutent une présentation au théâtre multimédia
Alec et Mabel, Nouvelle-Écosse

Cachée, mais bien visible! Une jolie photo trouvée sur le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell : Alec regardant Mabel aux commandes de son légendaire hydroptère, le HD4, qui lui a permis d’établir un record mondial de vitesse. Cette photo en dit tellement long sur eux : son esprit aventureux à elle et son anxiété à lui, empreinte à la fois de prudence et de fierté. Elle laisse entrevoir le rôle essentiel qu’a joué Mabel dans la vie d’Alexander Graham Bell.

Donna – Guide animatrice
Une photo en noir et blanc d’Alec qui regarde Mable dans l’eau
Débarquement-de-Wolfe et l’anse Kennington, Nouvelle-Écosse

Appartenant au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, cet endroit paisible a été le théâtre d’une bataille violente en 1758, lorsque 200 navires ont encerclé l’anse, lors du siège de Louisbourg par les Britanniques. Une grande partie du paysage n’a pas changé, stimulant l’imagination du visiteur ainsi que l’esprit de ce lieu qui se trouve à côté de l’une des plages les plus spectaculaires de l’île du Cap-Breton.

Lee Anne – Technicienne en conservation des ressources
Photo aérienne du lieu historique national du Débarquement-de-Wolfe et de l’anse Kennington