Crisp icy mornings, fresh powder covering the ground, and a winter wonderland that’s all yours to explore when you wake to a world of snowy adventures. If you’ve never tried camping in the colder months before, you’re in for a real treat—try booking one of our canvas-sided oTENTiks for a dash of comfort to ease you into the winter camping vibe. So wrap up warm and start making plans right now.

Cooking while winter camping.

Backcountry camping on the Chilkoot Trail

Yukon

Are you an expert backcountry winter camper? Then prepare for self-sufficient good times in the unpatrolled wilderness of Canada’s largest national historic site. By day, enjoy the adventures that the fabled Chilkoot Trail has to offer. By night, it’s up to you to decide where you’ll pitch your tent. In the winter you don’t need to stay in designated campgrounds at this national historic site, so find your favourite spot.

Sweet dreams! Before you fall asleep, spare a moment to think about those who made camp in the snow before you—Chilkoot Tlingit Traders, and later the Klondike Gold Rush stampeders—all without modern thermal sleeping bags!

Reservations

Monday to Friday, 8 am to 4 pm (Pacific Time):

1-800-661-0486 Canada and U.S.
1-867-667-3910 Local and overseas

Visitors at a rustic shelter. A winter accommodation offered in the South Kouchibouguac campground.

Rustic winter shelters at Kouchibouguac National Park

New Brunswick

A cosy rustic winter shelter awaits those who make the trip to the South Kouchibouguac campground along the cross country ski trail. Come by snowshoe, ski, fat bike, or just take a walk and enjoy the blanketing silence of the snow, and beauty of the mixed-wood winter forest.

Top Tip: Make sure to bring your sleeping bag and best campfire stories. We’ll supply the wood stove, kindling and firewood.

Reservations

Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm: (506) 876-2443

A woman, going winter camping, pitching a tent in the snow.

Camping in Bruce Peninsula National Park

Ontario

Experience the pristine beauty of the traditional home of the Saugeen Ojibway First Nations, just a four-hour drive from downtown Toronto. Let the ancient cedars and rugged Georgian Bay shoreline work their timeless magic as you unwind and enjoy Bruce Peninsula’s winter activities at the Tamarack campground, or hike a little deeper to the Stormhaven and Highdump sites for a wintery backcountry adventure.

Top Tip: If the ground is frozen, use tent pegs packed down in snow, instead of driving them into the ground or ice to stake your tent out.

Reservations

All campers must self-register at the kiosk at P2 at Cyprus Lake.

Backcountry ski touring at Katleen Lake, Kluane National Park and Reserve.

Backcountry camping in Kluane National Park and Reserve

Yukon

Immerse yourself in a true winter wilderness in the inspirational surroundings of the Yukon and Canada’s largest icefield. You can camp permit-free in most areas of Kluane between mid-November and the end of March, but if you’re planning an overnight expedition within the icefields, then don’t forget to book a permit.

Top Tip: Keep your water bottle in your sleeping bag overnight, that way you’ll be able to have a drink in the morning as it won’t be frozen solid.

Reservations

You must register at the visitor centres for all overnight activities within the Kluane Icefields area of the park.

Young adults camping and relaxing  inside an oTENTik.

oTENTik tents in Riding Mountain National Park

Manitoba

Never tried winter camping before? No problem! Dip an experimental toe into the world of snow and canvas when you book a night in one of the five oTENTiks in Riding Mountain National Park. The perfect first step for wannabe winter campers, oTENTiks boast electric heat, lights, a wood stove (plus free wood!) and even USB outlets to keep you charged up for a day of snowshoe trail selfies!

Top Tip: Don’t forget the golden oTENTik rule: no food or drink allowed inside. Store food and drink in your vehicle, and always cook and eat outdoors or in the kitchen shelter. Fire up the grill and cook over the open fire or on the gas BBQ provided.

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391

View of the Bay of Fundy as seen from a yurt. Visitors and their winter recreational gear.

Yurts, oTENTiks and cabins in Fundy National Park

New Brunswick

Mix scenic and cosy when you stay in one of our accommodations with the world’s highest tides outside your door. Welcome to winter camping in Fundy National Park, where you can pick from four different kinds of accommodations: comfy yurt, cosy oTENTik, rustic cabin, or just BYO tent and camp like a pro.

Top Tip: Stay hydrated. It’s important to keep up your fluid intake in the winter, so bring a Thermos flask and supplies so you can sip on hot chocolate, tea or coffee and stay warm and hydrated!

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391

A young woman sits at a table inside of an oTENTik reading a map.

oTENTik tents in Point Pelee National Park

Ontario

Book a stay in a Point Pelee oTENTik under the overarching hickory and chestnut trees in the Carolinian Forest in Canada’s smallest and most ecologically diverse national park. Don’t forget to head out for a nighttime expedition to view the stars; Point Pelee is a designated Dark Sky Preserve and nothing pairs so well with twinkling celestial bodies as a hot thermos of cocoa!

Top Tip: Remember to pack extra gloves. There’s nothing worse than losing one glove and worrying about cold fingers!

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391

A family posing for the camera on the patio of the oTENTik tent.

Historic stays and oTENTiks in La Mauricie National Park

Quebec

It may be too cold to take a dip in the beautiful waterfalls here, but it’s the perfect weather to try a fun new activity like snow tagging or fat biking in the heart of the Laurentian forest, less than two hours from Montreal. Spend the night in one of La Mauricie’s winter accommodations, including oTENTiks for a camp experience without all the muss and fuss or try a dash of luxury in the historical buildings at the Domaine Wabenaki-Andrew, where the Kennedy Family used to stay.

Top Tip: Use lithium batteries in your electronics. They perform better in sub-zero temperatures.

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391


Domaine Wabenaki-Andrew
Reserve online
Telephone: 819 537-4555
Email: info@info-nature.ca

A man with a headlamp stands by his tent looking at the stars.

Historic stays and more in Jasper National Park

Alberta

As the largest national park in the Canadian Rockies and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, everyone knows that this park packs plenty of “wow!” But did you know that when it comes to picking accommodations for an overnight stay in Jasper, there’s everything from historic heritage buildings at the Palisades Centre to backcountry freestyle camping and frontcountry camping nestled next to the ski trails. Maybe mix it up and try all three this winter!

Top Tip: Always layer up in the winter with base layers of Merino wool or a synthetic insulating fabric.

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391

Young women playing hockey on Lake Louise

Camping in Banff National Park

Alberta

In peak season, there are 2,462 sites located within 14 campgrounds across Banff National Park, however during winter, year-round adventurers and hard-core campers can escape the crowds and have the run of the Tunnel Mountain Village II campsite. Imagine waking to the snowy, majestic Rocky Mountains to start a day packed with classic Canadian winter fun, such as an impromptu game of pond hockey, or cross country skiing through the pines. Breakfast over the fire pit never tasted so good!

Top Tip: Pack your last meal of the day with complex carbs and fat to stay warm throughout the night. Try a one-pot meal such as a hearty bison stew, inspired by the trappers and traders from the 1800s.

Reservations

1-877-RESERVE (737-3783)

Outside of North America: (519) 826-5391

Le froid vif du matin, une neige poudreuse fraîchement tombée et la féérie de l’hiver, c’est ce qui vous attend lorsque vous vous réveillez dans un monde d’aventures enneigées. Si vous n’avez jamais essayé le camping durant les mois les plus froids, voici une occasion formidable de le faire. Réservez l’une de nos tentes oTENTik offrant juste ce qu’il faut comme confort pour se sentir dans une ambiance de camping d’hiver. Alors, couvrez-vous bien, et commencez à planifier votre visite dès maintenant.

Cuisiner pendant un voyage de camping hivernal.

Camping dans l’arrière-pays sur la Piste-Chilkoot

Yukon

Êtes-vous un spécialiste du camping d’hiver dans l’arrière-pays? Alors préparez-vous passer de bons moments dans les régions sauvages non surveillées du plus grand lieu historique national du Canada. Le jour, profitez des aventures que la légendaire Piste-Chilkoot vous offre. Le soir, choisissez où vous planterez votre tente. En hiver, vous n’êtes pas obligé de rester sur des terrains de camping désignés, alors trouvez votre endroit favori.

Faites de beaux rêves! Avant de vous endormir, pensez à ceux qui dressaient leur campement sur la neige avant vous! Les commerçants Tlingit de Chilkoot, et plus tard les prospecteurs de la ruée vers l’or du Klondike, n’utilisaient pas de sacs de couchage modernes!

Visiteurs dans un camp rustique. Un hébergement d'hiver disponible dans le terrain de camping South Kouchibouguac.

Abris d’hiver rustiques au parc national Kouchibouguac

Nouveau-Brunswick

Un abri d’hiver rustique et douillet attend ceux qui se rendront au terrain de camping South Kouchibouguac situé le long d’une piste de ski de fond. Allez-y en raquettes, en skis, en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés ou simplement à pied et imprégnez-vous du silence absolu d’un décor enneigé et de la beauté des forêts mixtes d’hiver.

Conseil important : assurez-vous d’apporter un sac de couchage et les meilleures histoires à raconter autour d’un feu de camp. Nous fournissons le poêle à bois, le bois d’allumage et le bois de chauffage.

Une femme, qui fait du camping d'hiver, monte sa tente dans la neige.

Camping au parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce

Ontario

Découvrez la beauté intacte d’une demeure traditionnelle des Premières Nations des Ojibways Saugeen, à seulement quatre heures de route du centre-ville de Toronto. Rendez-vous au terrain de camping de Tamarack et laissez les vénérables cèdres et les côtes de la baie Georgienne exercer leur magie pendant que vous profitez des activités hivernales de la Péninsule-Bruce. Ressourcez-vous et réduisez votre stress.

Conseil important : si le sol est gelé, utilisez des branches enfouies sous la neige comme point d’ancrage pour la tente au lieu des piquets de tente.

Ski de randonnée hors piste au lac Katleen, Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane.

Camping dans l’arrière-pays au parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Yukon

Vivez une véritable expérience de nature sauvage en hiver dans le cadre inspirant du Yukon et des plus grands champs de glace du Canada. Vous pouvez camper sans permis dans la plupart des secteurs du parc entre la mi-novembre et la fin mars, mais si vous prévoyez passer la nuit sur place, vous devez obtenir un permis.

Conseil important : gardez votre bouteille d’eau dans votre sac de couchage pendant la nuit, pour que l’eau ne gèle pas et que vous puissiez boire le matin.

Des jeunes adultes qui relaxent et font du camping dans un oTENTik.

Tente oTENTik au parc national du Mont-Riding

Manitoba

Vous n’avez jamais essayé le camping d’hiver? Faites-en l’expérience en passant une nuit douillette dans l’une des cinq tentes oTENTik situées au parc national du Mont-Riding. Pour s’initier au camping d’hiver, les campeurs en herbe devraient séjourner dans une tente oTENTik, qui comprend un chauffage électrique, des lumières, un poêle à bois et même des prises USB pour charger les appareils électroniques après une journée passée à prendre des photos sur les sentiers de raquette!

Conseil important : n’oubliez pas la règle d’or à respecter dans une tente oTENTik : aucune nourriture ni breuvage ne sont permis à l’intérieur. Vous devez entreposer la nourriture et les boissons dans votre véhicule, et toujours cuisiner et manger à l’extérieur ou dans l’abri-cuisine. Cuisiner sur feu de bois ou sur un de nos barbecues au gaz installés sur la terrasse.

Vue de la baie de Fundy d'à côté d'une yourte. Des visiteurs et leurs équipements sportifs et récréatifs.

Yourtes, tentes oTENTik et chalets au parc national Fundy

Nouveau-Brunswick

Imaginez que vous vous réveilliez le matin et que vous regardiez, depuis l’entrée d’une yourte nichée dans la forêt, la baie de Fundy offrant les plus hautes marées du monde; un spectacle grandiose! Bienvenue en camping d’hiver au parc national Fundy, où vous pouvez choisir entre divers types d’hébergement : yourte confortable, tente oTENTik douillette, chalet rustique ou votre propre tente pour camper comme un pro!

Conseil important : restez bien hydraté. Il est important de maintenir l’apport en liquide pendant l’hiver, alors apportez une bouteille thermos remplie de chocolat chaud, thé ou café pour rester hydraté et au chaud!

Deux enfants s'amusent dans la neige près de la tente oTENTik.

Nouvelles tentes oTENTik au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée

Ontario

Réservez un séjour dans une oTENTik de la Pointe-Pelée plantée sous des caryers et des châtaigniers de la forêt carolinienne située dans le parc national le plus petit et le plus diversifié du point de vue écologique au Canada. Pensez à faire une excursion de nuit pour admirer les étoiles; Pointe-Pelée est désignée « réserve de ciel étoilé » et rien de mieux pour accompagner le scintillement des corps célestes qu’un thermos de chocolat chaud!

Conseil important : pensez à prendre des gants supplémentaires. Il n’y a rien de pire que de perdre un gant et d’avoir les doigts gelés!

Une famille, assis à l'intérieur de la tente oTentik, mange un repas.

Séjour historique et tente oTENTik au parc national de la Mauricie

Québec

Il fait peut-être un peu trop froid pour se baigner dans une des magnifiques chutes d’eau, mais c’est le temps parfait pour essayer une nouvelle activité amusante comme le graphineige ou le VPS (vélo à pneus surdimensionnés) en plein cœur de la forêt-laurentienne, à moins de deux heures de Montréal. Passez la nuit dans l’une des tentes oTENTik de la Mauricie pour vivre une expérience de camping en toute simplicité et sans tracas ou optez pour un peu du luxe et réservez l’un des bâtiments historiques du Domaine Wabenaki-Andrew, où la famille Kennedy avait l’habitude de séjourner.

Conseil important : utilisez les batteries au lithium pour vos appareils électroniques. Leur performance est supérieure à celles des autres modèles lorsque la température est inférieure à zéro.

Un homme portant une lampe frontale se tient debout près de sa tente et regarde les étoiles.

Séjour historique et plus encore au parc national Jasper

Alberta

Le plus grand parc national des Rocheuses canadiennes et un lieu inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, le parc national Jasper suscite l’admiration! Et lorsqu’il s’agit de passer la nuit à Jasper, un éventail de possibilités s’offre à vous: blotissez-vous dans un bâtiment historique au Centre des Palissades, vivez l’exaltation du camping en arrière-pays ou profitez d’agréables emplacements en avant-pays, à proximité des sentiers de ski de fond. Mieux encore, pourquoi ne pas tous les essayer cet hiver?

Conseil important : portez toujours plusieurs couches de vêtements, en optant pour de la laine mérinos ou un tissu isolant synthétique comme couche de base.

Une jeune personne sourit derrière son casque de hockey.

Camping au parc national Banff

Alberta

Durant la haute saison, on dénombre 2 462 emplacements situés dans 14 terrains de camping dans l’ensemble du parc national Banff; cependant, en hiver, les aventuriers et les campeurs endurcis peuvent échapper les foules et profiter du terrain de camping Tunnel Mountain Village en solitude. Imaginez… Vous vous réveillez au cœur des majestueuses montagnes Rocheuses enneigées prêt pour une journée remplie d’activités typiques de l’hiver canadien, telles qu'une partie improvisée de hockey à l’extérieur et du ski de fond au milieu des pins. Le déjeuner autour d’un foyer n’a jamais été aussi bon!

Conseil important : le dernier repas de la journée doit contenir des glucides complexes et des matières grasses pour rester au chaud toute la nuit. Optez pour un repas nourrissant comme un bon ragoût de bison, inspiré de ce que mangeaient les trappeurs et les commerçants au 19e siècle.