We hate to say it, but blink and before you know it summer will be over. But there’s still time to make 2017 the Best Summer ever! See how many of these iconic Parks Canada summertime fun activities you can tick off before fall, from building a sandcastle on a pristine beach to waking up surrounded by wild natural beauty on an island. Don’t forget, this year with your Discovery Pass, entry is free!

So here’s to a few more weeks of summer lovin’!

1. Build a sandcastle in a national park

Canoeists take a rest on shore.

Is it the Caribbean? No! That white sand and turquoise water belongs to Kejimkujik National Park Seaside, a protected wilderness on the Atlantic coast that’s the picture-perfect spot to build your castle.


Pick your pleasure at Thousand Islands National Park! The traditional summer home of Haudenosaunee and Mississauga Anishinaabe First Nations is also the first national park east of the Rockies. Paddle in by kayak or hop on a water taxi to find a sandy beach lapped by emerald green waters.

2. Hitch a ride in the sun

Visitors take a ride on a horse-drawn wagon.

Climb on board and listen up to the fascinating stories of George Lane and his herd of ‘gentle giants’ —the beautiful Perchon draft horses —on a horse-drawn wagon ride back to the early 1900s at the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site.


Make it an eco-adventure at Lachine Canal National Historic Site when you set sail with the Petit Navire, an electronically powered pleasure boat which silently sails the calm waters of the Lachine Canal. Go back 150 years and imagine the time of the fur trade as you pass through this historic lock.

3. Eat just one more s’more next to the campfire

Visitors playing music around their oTENTik.

Book a night at Forillon National Park to sleep soundly in the funky two-person Micro-Cube at Des-Rosiers campsite, and enjoy late night treats as the wind gently sighs through the forest.


Five fabulous oTENTiks standing proudly within Fort Langley’s historic walls, all named after the diverse peoples who lived and worked here. Where will you stay? In the hǝn Ɂǝ́mǝt First Nations tent or the Stromness Scottish boat builder’s tent? Make a booking and enjoy the crackle of the flames and that ooey-gooey marshmallow bliss.

4. Take part in a BioBlitz!

Visitors take part in a BioBlitz event.

Want to learn something new about the natural world, and team up with scientists, and animal and plant experts? Then sign up and come take part in a BioBlitz in one of our National Parks or National Historic Sites. Make your visit really count and be part of the annual tally of marine life, birds, bugs, and plants in a fun, interactive and educational day with Parks Canada staff.

5. Wake up on an island!

A woman having breakfast by the shore.

After a blazing scarlet sunset, sleep soundly in a secluded campsite overlooking the tranquil shore of the world’s largest freshwater archipelago, where the rugged Canadian Shield meets the dense hardwood forest. Wake to the sound of bird song on Beausoleil Island in the inspirational landscape of Georgian Bay Islands National Park.


Covering 36sq km over 15 idyllic islands surrounded by the Salish Sea, discover West Coast heaven on a sunny shore in the protected Gulf Islands National Park Reserve. Brew cowboy coffee at first light over your camping stove as eagles soar overhead and whales play in the water. Magical!

6. Curl up on a blanket and stargaze

Visitors take in the Dark Sky from Red Chairs.

Enjoy the rare treat of seeing the night time sky shimmer in Nova Scotia’s only Dark Sky Preserve, at Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site. Rent a Dark Sky kit to brush up on your constellations, visit the Sky Circle to view twinkling celestial bodies through the on-site telescope and binoculars, hear Mi’kmaq stories and songs of the sky and the stars.


Those endless prairie skies blanket Canada’s darkest Dark Sky Preserve at Grasslands National Park. Head out on a self-guided night time adventure to feel close to the wonder of the universe. Download a stargazing app, use red cellophane over your flashlight and smartphone to retain your night vision and get ready to have your mind blown!

7. Challenge yourself to try a new water activity

Visitors paddling.

Grab an oar and step inside a replica Voyageur Canoe and get ready to paddle back to the days of the fur trade in Kouchibouguac National Park. Follow the same waterways as the Mi’kmaq First Nations and French fur traders paddled in the 1800s, visit a grey seal colony, spot bald eagles and osprey circling overhead.


Rent a stand up paddle board from the Pukaskwa National Park Kiosk and contemplate the beauty of Ontario’s only wilderness national park from the vantage point of a SUP as you sail across Lake Superior past near-endless stretches of spruce, fir, pine and hardwoods.

8. Sign up for that cool workshop at a national historic site

Children play in the dig tray.

When a historic site serves as a playground, it's impossible to get bored! Be charged with a mission of utmost importance: find traces of the past with an Archaeological Excavation at Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux! Armed with shovels and trowels, dig up the soil to unearth artifacts from another era - it’s an original way of playing in the sand, regardless of your age!

La fin de l’été arrive à grands pas. Ne soyez pas triste, il vous reste encore du temps pour vivre le plus bel été de votre vie!

Nous vous avons concocté une liste d’activités estivales divertissantes à expérimenter dans différents endroits emblématiques de Parcs Canada comme construire un château de sable sur une plage immaculée ou camper au cœur de la nature sauvage et paradisiaque d’une île. N’oubliez pas que cette année, votre carte d’entrée Découverte est gratuite!

1. Construire un château de sable dans un parc national

Des canoteurs prennent un repos sur la plage.

Êtes-vous aux Caraïbes? Non! Ce sable blanc et ces magnifiques eaux turquoise se trouvent au parc national Kejimkujik bord de mer , une zone sauvage protégée sur la côte atlantique. Ce décor digne d’un cliché de carte postale est l’endroit idéal pour construire votre château de sable!


Mille et une activités vous attendent au parc national des Milles-Îles, Lieu de résidence d’été traditionnel des Premières Nations Haudenosaunee et Mississauga Anishinaabe, c’est également le premier parc national à l’est des Rocheuses. En kayak ou en bateau-taxi, partez à la recherche d’une plage de sable baignée par des eaux vert émeraude.

2. Profiter d’une promenade au soleil

Des visiteurs apprécient une balade dans un chariot tiré par des chevaux.

Montez à bord d’un chariot attelé de magnifiques Percherons au lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U. Écoutez les histoires fascinantes de George Lane sur son troupeau de « gentils géants » et remontez jusqu’au début des années 1900.


Cap sur une éco-aventure au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine. Montez à bord du Petit Navire, une embarcation à propulsion électrique qui glisse silencieusement sur les eaux paisibles du canal de Lachine. Imaginez que vous remontez 150 ans en arrière alors qu’industries manufacturières et ouvriers s’installent sur ses berges.

3. Savourer un sandwich à la guimauve près du feu de camp

Des visiteurs jouent de la musique à leurs oTENTik.

Offrez-vous un séjour pour deux au parc national Forillon. Dormez paisiblement dans notre Micro-cube un hébergement au design contemporain situé au camping Des-Rosiers. Cédez à la gourmandise tout en écoutant le doux bruissement des feuilles dans les arbres.


Cinq fabuleuses tentes oTENTiks trônent fièrement dans l’enceinte historique du Fort-Langley et portent le nom des différents peuples y ayant vécu et travaillé. Choisirez-vous la tente hǝn Ɂǝ́mǝt des Premières Nations ou la tente « Stromness » du constructeur de bateau écossais? Réservez dès maintenant et profitez bientôt du crépitement des flammes et d’un délicieux sandwich à la guimauve.

4. Participer à un BioBlitz!

Des visiteurs participent à un événement Bioblitz.

Tissez des liens privilégiés avec la nature et faites équipe avec des spécialistes de la faune et de la flore. Inscrivez-vous et participez au BioBlitz de l’un de nos lieux historiques ou parcs nationaux. Une journée utile, éducative et agréable à inventorier des oiseaux, des insectes, des végétaux ainsi que des spécimens de la faune et de la flore marine.

5. Se réveiller sur une île!

Une femme prend son déjeuner au bord de l'eau.

Après avoir admiré un coucher de soleil flamboyant, passez une nuit sereine dans un camping isolé surplombant les plages paisibles du plus grand archipel d’eau douce au monde, à l’endroit où se rejoignent les rochers du Bouclier canadien et les denses forêts de feuillus. Réveillez-vous au chant des oiseaux sur l’île Beausoleil au cœur du paysage inspirant du parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne.


Découvrez les rives ensoleillées de ce véritable paradis de la côte ouest qui s’étend sur 36 km² et abrite plus de 15 îles idylliques bordées par la mer des Salish dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf. Aux premières lueurs du matin, alors que vous préparez un café de cowboy sur votre réchaud, admirez les aigles qui prennent leur envol et les baleines qui jouent dans l’eau. Magique!

6. Se blottir dans une couverture et observer les étoiles

Des visiteurs regardent le ciel étoilé.

Profitez du plaisir exceptionnel d’observer le spectacle de la nuit étoilée de l’unique réserve de ciel étoilé en Nouvelle-Écosse, au sein du parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik. Louez une trousse de ciel étoilé pour revoir vos connaissances sur les constellations. Rendez-vous au cercle céleste pour observer les astres scintillants grâce au télescope et aux jumelles offertes sur place et écoutez les récits et les chants des Mi’kmaq sur le ciel et les étoiles.


Le ciel infini du parc national des Prairies abrite la plus étoilée des réserves de ciel étoilé du Canada. Prenez part à une aventure nocturne autoguidée pour vous rapprocher des merveilles qu’offre l’univers. Téléchargez une application mobile d’observation des étoiles, recouvrez votre lampe torche et votre téléphone intelligent de cellophane rouge pour préserver votre vision nocturne et préparez-vous à être ébloui!

7. Se dépasser en essayant une nouvelle activité aquatique

Des visiteurs qui pagayent.

Saisissez une rame, montez à bord d’une réplique de canot voyageur et préparez-vous à revivre les temps forts de la traite des fourrures au parc national Kouchibouguac. Sillonnez les mêmes voies navigables qu’empruntaient les Premières Nations des Mi’kmaq et les commerçants de fourrure français dans les années 1800. Visitez une colonie de phoques gris et repérez les pygargues à tête blanche et les balbuzards pêcheurs qui tournoient dans le ciel.


Louez une planche de surf à pagaie au poste d’accueil du parc national Pukaskwa. Contemplez la beauté de l’unique parc national sauvage de l’Ontario debout sur votre planche, pagaie à la main, en glissant sur les eaux du lac Supérieur le long de forêts d’épinettes, de sapins, de pins et de feuillus s’étendant à l’infini.

8. S’inscrire à un super atelier d’un lieu historique national

Des enfants s'amusent dans le bac de fouille.

Quand un site historique fait office de terrain de jeu, impossible de s’ennuyer! Vous serez investis d’une mission de la plus haute importance : trouver des traces du passé lors d’une fouille archéologique aux Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis ! Munis de pelles et de truelles, vous creusez le sol pour dénicher des objets datant d’une autre époque; une manière originale de jouer dans le sable, peu importe votre âge!