Canadians have always valued the vast green space that surrounds us. Our natural environment helps define who we are as Canadians and we are fortunate to have the most extensive network of protected areas in the world. As our environment is increasingly threatened by various factors such as climate change and development, there are little things that we can all do to make a difference.

So this year, as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of Confederation, we encourage you to plan to do something with family and friends that will help the environment while on vacation. Here are some suggestions of ways to do just that!

1. Participate in a BioBlitz Event

Parks Canada employees and visitors, young and old, take part in a Bioblitz on the beach in Gulf Island National Park.
Enjoy some hands-on experiences at a Parks Canada BioBlitz event!

Take part in a Parks Canada BioBlitz. You and your family team up with scientists to find as much wildlife as possible, in a short period of time. Spend time outside, discover wildlife and support the protection of Parks Canada’s special places.

Parks Canada will be hosting more BioBlitz events than ever in 2017 to contribute to the celebration of Canada 150 at various locations across the country. 

2. An Endangered Experience – Salmon monitoring

Two visitors with packs on their backs hike along a rocky shore of a river in Fundy National Park.
Hike along the Upper Salmon River and monitor endangered salmon in Fundy National Park.

Take a hike on the Upper Salmon River Trail in Fundy National Park and keep your eyes peeled for the endangered inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic salmon. Record it if you see one. This helps park biologists locate fish that have survived at sea and have returned to spawn.

3. Practice low impact camping - Leave no trace

A family of 4 sitting around a picnic table in Sidney Spit campground, next to a sandy beach with beautiful views in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve.
Practice low impact camping while camping as a family.

You can minimize your impact on the environment when you take the family camping by following a few simple guidelines….such as setting up camp in designated campsites, using non-toxic toiletries, sunscreen and bug spray, choosing reusable vs. dispensable containers and dishes, staying on designated trails and building safe campfires to name just a few. You can share the space with wildlife but don’t disturb them or their habitat.

Take the time to research ways to minimize your impact before you leave and teach these important tips to your kids. These are tips they’re likely to remember for a very long time.

4. Participate in a clean-up activity

A young boy volunteer holding a pale on a dock.  Behind him are the waters of Saguenay-Saint-Laurent marine park and a team of volunteers and Parks Canada employees helping divers with the water clean up efforts.
Parks Canada team members and volunteers clean up at Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park.

Every year, national parks and national marine conservation areas across the country organize volunteer shoreline, beach or dock clean-up activities along with their local communities in an effort to minimize the footprint visitors are having on our protected areas and to help clean up what is washed up on shore. Visit the volunteer pages of the website of the park or site you will be visiting this year to find out what dates have been set aside for these volunteer activities.

The before and after pictures are sure to make you proud.

5. Soar in Pukaskwa - Peregrine falcon monitoring

A visitor, in the front of a canoe, is stopped and looks through binoculaurs for peregrine falcon.  The water is calm and the scenery is beautiful.
A visitor scours the Pukaskwa coastline to find peregrine falcons and their nests.

Visit Pukaskwa’s coast by canoe, kayak or sailboat anytime between May 15 and July 15 and look for Peregrine Falcons! Your sightings can help us learn if breeding pairs have returned to old territories or are establishing new ones. For more information, ask the friendly park staff about the peregrine falcon citizen science monitoring program.

6. Leave only footprints, take only photos

Young girl using a camera.
Young visitor perfecting her photography skills in Pukaskwa National Park

Our great green spaces and National Parks are a treasure for us all to enjoy and hand on to the next generation. Make sure you adopt the practice of leaving that pristine wild nature exactly how you found it. Practice responsible hiking when you visit National Parks; stick to the trails, stay a safe distance from wildlife when photographing them and never leave anything behind or take anything with you.

7. Help your kids build a strong connection with nature

A Parks Canada guide along with parents and kids are looking at something up in a tree in a forested area in Rouge National Urban Park.
Get outside with the kids and enjoy one of Canada’s amazing protected areas.

Research has proven over and over again that getting outdoors and spending time in nature is good for all of us. It helps kids be healthier and happier and it can also encourage your kids to become protectors of green spaces and future stewards of our network of protected areas.

So get outside Canada and visit one of our National Parks in 2017 – Did you know we have 46 National Parks in Canada? The most extensive network of protected areas in the world. Now that’s something to be proud of.

8. Help restore an endangered ecosystem

Several volunteers kneeling down on the ground are busy planting various plants and trees.
Volunteer opportunities abound at Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site.

If you have a green thumb or just love the outdoors, join us at Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site and contribute to Parks Canada’s important work to restore the endangered Garry oak ecosystem. Pull invasive species, sow seeds, or pitch in thinning and planting bulbs grown in the site`s own nursery or learning meadow.

9. Get up close - Volunteer in Waterton Lakes National Park

Four volunteers kneeling down around a salamander byway with green garbage bags helping to clear and maintain this habitat protection structure.
Volunteers help clear a byway that directs migrating salamanders to the safety of tunnels passing under a road!

You can help out in a variety of ways by putting your counting or your hands to good use! Help out our scientists with their biological inventories, long-term monitoring and habitat restoration work – all while enjoying Waterton Lakes National Park.

Volunteer activities, including citizen science, take place in many of our National Parks. So, check out the website of the park you’ll be visiting this summer and get involved.

Les Canadiens et Canadiennes ont toujours aimé les grands espaces verts qui les entourent. Notre environnement naturel nous aide à nous définir en tant que Canadiens et Canadiennes et nous sommes chanceux de bénéficier du plus grand réseau d’aires protégées au monde. Puisque notre environnement est de plus en plus menacé en raison de différents facteurs tels que les changements climatiques et le développement, nous pouvons poser certains petits gestes qui contribuent à améliorer la situation.

Cette année, puisque nous célébrons le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, nous vous encourageons à planifier quelques activités en famille et avec vos amis qui aideront à protéger l’environnement pendant vos vacances. Voici quelques suggestions!

1. Participez à un événement BioBlitz

Des employés de Parcs Canada et des visiteurs (jeunes et vieux) participent à un BioBlitz sur la plage du parc national des Îles-Gulf.
Participez à des expériences pratiques lors d’un événement BioBlitz de Parcs Canada!

Participez à un événement BioBlitz de Parcs Canada. Avec votre famille, faites équipe avec des chercheurs pour trouver le plus d’espèces sauvages possible en peu de temps. Passez du temps dehors, découvrez des espèces sauvages et aidez à protéger les endroits spéciaux de Parcs Canada.

Il y a un plus grand nombre d’événements BioBlitz en 2017 dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada à différents endroits, partout au pays.

2. Une expérience en voie de disparition – Observation du saumon

Deux visiteurs avec sacs à dos qui marchent le long d’une plage de cailloux d’une rivière.
Faites une randonnée sur le sentier de la rivière Upper Salmon et observez le saumon, qui est une espèce en voie de disparition, dans le parc national Fundy.

Faites une randonnée sur le sentier de la rivière Upper Salmon dans le parc national Fundy et gardez l’œil ouvert, car vous pourriez apercevoir le saumon de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy, qui est une espèce en voie de disparition. Prenez-en note si vous apercevez un saumon. Ce petit geste aide les biologistes du parc à localiser des poissons qui ont survécu en mer et sont retournés pour frayer.

3. Pratiquez le camping écologique - Ne laissez aucune trace

Une famille de quatre personnes assises à une table de pique-nique du terrain de camping Sidney Spit, près d’une plage sablonneuse avec une vue magnifique de la réserve du PN des Îles-Gulf
Pratiquez le camping écologique en famille.

Vous pouvez réduire au minimum l’impact sur l’environnement lorsque vous faites du camping en famille en suivant quelques simples consignes... par exemple, s'installer sur les emplacements de camping désignés, utiliser des articles de toilette, de la crème solaire et de l’insecticide non toxiques, utiliser des contenants et de la vaisselle réutilisables plutôt que jetables, rester sur les sentiers officiels et faire des feux de camp dans un endroit sécuritaire. Vous pouvez partager l’espace avec la faune, mais évitez de déranger les animaux ou leur habitat.

Prenez le temps de trouver des façons de réduire au minimum votre impact sur l’environnement avant de partir et enseignez ces conseils importants à vos enfants. Ils vont certainement se souvenir de ces conseils pendant très longtemps.


4. Participez à une activité de nettoyage

Un jeune bénévole qui teint un seau sur le quai. Derrière lui, on aperçoit les eaux du parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent et une équipe de bénévoles et des employés de Parcs Canada en train d’aider des plongeurs à procéder au nettoyage des eaux.
L’équipe de Parcs Canada et des bénévoles prennent part à une activité de nettoyage au parc marin Saguenay-St-Laurent.

Partout au pays, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation organisent chaque année des activités bénévoles de nettoyage des rivages, des plages ou des quais en collaboration avec les collectivités locales pour réduire au minimum l’impact des visiteurs dans les aires protégées et nettoyer les détritus qui échouent sur les rivages. Visitez la page « bénévolat » du site Web du parc ou du lieu que vous prévoyez visiter cette année pour connaître les dates de ces activités bénévoles.

Les photos prises avant et après le nettoyage auront de quoi vous rendre fier.

5. Vers de nouveaux sommets à Pukaskwa - Observation des faucons pèlerins

Un visiteur debout dans un canot utilise des jumelles pour observer des faucons pèlerins. L’eau est calme et le paysage est magnifique.
Une visiteuse observe la côte de Pukaskwa pour repérer des faucons pèlerins et leur nid.

Visitez la côte de Pukaskwa en canot, kayak ou bateau à voiles entre le 15 mai et le 15 juillet et essayez de repérer les faucons pèlerins! Vos observations peuvent nous aider à comprendre si des couples reproducteurs retournent dans les mêmes lieux de nidification ou choisissent de nouveaux lieux. Pour plus de renseignements, informez-vous auprès des employés du parc sur le programme de science citoyenne pour la surveillance des faucons pèlerins.

6. Ne laissez aucune trace, ne prenez que des photos

Jeune visiteuse faisant la photographie.
Jeune visiteuse qui perfectionne ses talents de photographe dans le parc national Pukaskwa

Nos grands espaces verts et nos parcs nationaux constituent pour nous tous des trésors dont nous pouvons profiter et transmettre aux prochaines générations. Assurez-vous de toujours laisser cette nature parfaite exactement comme vous l’avez trouvée. Adoptez des pratiques responsables lors de vos randonnées dans des parcs nationaux; restez sur les sentiers, gardez votre distance quand vous prenez des photos et ne laissez jamais rien derrière vous et ne prenez rien non plus.

7. Aidez vos enfants à établir un lien solide avec la nature

Un guide de Parcs Canada et des parents et enfants observent quelque chose dans un arbre sur un terrain boisé du parc urbain national de la Rouge.
Sortez avec les enfants et visitez une superbe aire protégée du Canada.

Des recherches ont démontré au fil du temps que les activités de plein air et dans la nature sont bénéfiques pour tous. Elles aident les enfants à être en meilleure santé et plus heureux et les encouragent à protéger les espaces verts et à devenir les prochains responsables de notre réseau d’aires protégées.

Alors, sortez et visitez un de nos parcs nationaux en 2017 – Saviez-vous que le Canada compte 46 parcs nationaux? Il s’agit du réseau d’aires protégées le plus important au monde. Nous avons de bonnes raisons d’être fiers.

8. Aidez à restaurer un écosystème en péril

Plusieurs bénévoles travaillent agenouillés sur le sol à planter des variétés de plantes et d’arbres.
Les possibilités de bénévolat ne manquent pas au lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill.

Si vous avez le pouce vert ou si vous aimez seulement prendre une bonne bolée d’air, joignez-vous à nous au lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill et prenez part au travail important de Parcs Canada qui vise à restaurer les écosystèmes à chênes en péril de Garry. Extrayez les espèces envahissantes, plantez des espèces indigènes ou récoltez des bulbes pour la pépinière du lieu historique et le centre Learning Meadow.

9. Rapprochez-vous - participez à une activité bénévole dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Quatre bénévoles agenouillés autour d'un contournement munis de sacs à poubelle verts en train de nettoyer l'endroit et de participer au maintien de la protection de cet habitat pour les salamandres.
es bénévoles participent au nettoyage d'un contournement qui oriente la migration des salamandres vers des tunnels sécuritaires passant sous une route!

Vous pouvez aider de plusieurs façons en participant au recensement ou en utilisant vos deux mains! Aidez nos chercheurs avec les inventaires biologiques, la surveillance à long terme et le travail de restauration des habitats tout en vous amusant dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Des activités bénévoles, comme le programme de science citoyenne, auront lieu dans de nombreux parcs nationaux. Consultez le site Web du parc que vous voulez visiter cet été et participez-y.