Parks Canada's Honourary Guide announces the 2017/18 Canada's Coolest School Trip contest

Transcript

Hello everyone,

By now you’re back to school so I want to wish you all a wonderful start to the year. It will be filled with adventures and new experiences, and for one lucky class, memories that are guaranteed to last a lifetime.

I am very happy to tell you that this year’s Parks Canada Coolest School Trip contest is launching today! For the first time, Parks Canada and its partners are inviting grades 7, 8, and 9 classes to participate by making a difference in your communities and connecting with Canada’s rich history and amazing nature.

And here’s the grand prize!

An all-expenses paid trip for an ENTIRE class to Parks Canada sites in Ontario! So the winning class will travel to Ottawa next June to explore: Thousand Islands National Park, Fort Wellington National Historic Site, the Rideau Canal, and Laurier House National Historic Site. And of course, Parliament Hill and the ByWard Market – right in the heart of the capital!

So – tell your teachers, your parents, your fellow students, and your friends about this exciting contest and to learn how to enter, and what other prizes are up for grabs, visit myparkspass.ca. That’s myparkspass.ca

Good luck everyone!

Sophie Grégoire Trudeau has graciously accepted to be Parks Canada’s Honourary Guide for families. With a passion for nature and the outdoors, and a commitment to youth and their well-being, Parks Canada is pleased to have Sophie Grégoire Trudeau take on this important role. Throughout 2017, the Honourary Guide will celebrate Canada’s diversity and help more Canadian families to connect with Canada’s nature and culture through Canada’s national parks and national historic sites, encouraging families to experience the outdoors and learn more about our country and its history through Parks Canada’s Learn-to Camp program.

The focus of the Learn-to Camp program is to create a connection between first-time campers and the Canadian camping experience, to build awareness on family health and wellness, to introduce families to a lifetime of outdoor activities and encourage them to visit Parks Canada’s special heritage places.

Participants will learn practical skills like how to set up a tent, use a camp stove and light a campfire as well as important safety skills including wildlife safety, fire safety and water safety. Participants will also learn to appreciate the outdoors through hiking, photography, bird watching and star gazing and will be encouraged to explore other Parks Canada places across the country.

La guide honoraire de Parcs Canada annonce le concours La sortie scolaire la plus cool au Canada

Transcription

Bonjour tout le monde

En date d’aujourd’hui vous avez probablement tous fait votre retour à l’école, alors je vous souhaite une magnifique année scolaire! Et tout au long de l’année, vous allez vivre des aventures, des nouvelles expériences, et pour une classe en particulier, des souvenirs qui vont rester gravés à jamais.

Je suis heureuse aujourd’hui de vous annoncer que nous lançons le concours de Parcs Canada La sortie scolaire la plus cool au Canada! Pour la première fois, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires vous invitent les classes de secondaire 1, 2 et 3 (ou de 7e, 8e et 9e année) à participer à votre communauté en établissant un lien avec notre histoire et la magnifique nature de notre grand pays.

Et, y a un grand prix qui vient avec ça!

Un voyage toutes dépenses payées pour une classe dans les sites de Parcs Canada en Ontario! La classe gagnante va se rendre à Ottawa au mois de juin prochain pour explorer le parc national des Mille-Îles, le lieu historique national du Fort-Wellington, l’historique canal Rideau, et le lieu national de la Maison-Laurier. Vous ferez aussi une visite de l’incontournable marché By et, bien évidemment, la Colline du Parlement!

Alors – parlez du concours à vos enseignants, à vos parents, aux autres élèves et à vos amis! Et pour savoir comment vous y inscrire, et quels autres prix vous seront offerts, visitez concours.monpasseportparcs.ca. C’est concours.monpasseportparcs.ca.

Bonne chance à tous!

Sophie Grégoire Trudeau a cordialement accepté le rôle de guide honoraire de Parcs Canada pour les familles. Passionnée par la nature et le plein air et dévouée envers les jeunes et leur bien-être, l’Agence Parcs Canada est ravie que Sophie Grégoire Trudeau assume ce rôle important. Tout au long de 2017, la guide honoraire célèbrera la diversité du Canada et aidera davantage de familles canadiennes à créer un lien avec la nature et la culture du Canada par l’entremise des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux du pays. Elle incitera les familles à vivre des expériences de plein air et à apprendre davantage au sujet de leur pays et son histoire grâce au programme d’Initiation au camping de Parcs Canada.

Le programme d’Initiation au camping a pour objectif de favoriser la création d’un lien entre les nouveaux campeurs et l’expérience de camping canadienne, de sensibiliser le public au bien-être et à la santé des familles, d’initier les familles à une vie d’activités de plein air et d’encourager ces dernières à visiter les lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

Grâce au programme, les participants vont acquérir des habiletés pratiques quant à la façon de monter une tente, d’utiliser un réchaud de camping et d’allumer un feu de camp, ainsi que d’importantes compétences en matière de sécurité incendie, nautique et faunique. Les participants apprendront aussi à apprécier le plein air grâce à des activités comme la randonnée, la photographie, l’observation des oiseaux et des étoiles. Ils seront aussi invités à explorer d’autres endroits de Parcs Canada partout au pays.