The impressive natural landscape of Kluane is part of the traditional territory of the Southern Tutchone people represented in the Kluane region by the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and the Kluane First Nation. Today, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, Kluane First Nation and Parks Canada are jointly responsible for the management of the park’s natural and cultural resources.


Southern Tutchone culture

Showing youth how to identify animal tracks
Identifing animal tracks

Since time immemorial, the Southern Tutchone people, which include Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation, have lived throughout the area that is now Kluane National Park and Reserve. Over thousands of years dän (the people) have developed effective methods for living in this land of extremes. Elders recall a rich history which details events and places spanning many generations.

They once lived a nomadic lifestyle, travelling great distances, in order to take advantage of seasonal abundances of wildlife and plants throughout their traditional territory. This lifestyle required developing a superior skill set of hunting and travelling techniques in an area of harsh climatic and geographic variations.

 

Traditional knowledge and the Southern Tutchone language

Kluane First Nation elder
Kluane First Nation elder

The accuracy and depth of the Southern Tutchone language was key to the survival of the dän. Formal teachings as well as traditional stories told by Elders were and continue to be passed on orally. Place names and the stories associated with them were a source of critical knowledge; they identified where resources could be found, referred to past events, and described the terrain in a way that a traveller would have knowledge of a place without having been there before.

The Southern Tutchone name for Kluane Lake is “Łù’àn Män” meaning "big fish lake". The coastal Tlingits, who were trading partners, called the area “ùxh-àni” meaning "whitefish country". The name 'Kluane' (pronounced ‘Kloo-wah-nee’) was derived from these two names by early settlers.

Southern Tutchone place names now featured on highway signs
Next time you’re driving down the South Klondike, Haines or Alaska Highway from the south to the north boundary of Kluane National Park, have a look at Parks Canada’s new highway signs. Place names are now featured in the Southern Tutchone language as well as English.
Working together with Yukon Government Department of Highways, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, and Kluane First Nation, Parks Canada has installed four new signs around Log Cabin on the South Klondike Highway, as well as forty eight new signs along the Haines and Alaska Highways. These signs will offer residents and visitors alike an increased awareness of access to trails and amenities in Kluane National Park and Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site, as well as learning Indigenous place names while travelling through First Nations traditional territory.

Kluane Game Sanctuary

In 1943, the Kluane Game Sanctuary was established and First Nations were denied access to hunting, fishing and trapping in a significant portion of their traditional territory. This separation caused their special bond with those lands to break, resulting in a great cultural and personal loss that has now affected five generations. With the implementation of their land claim and the establishment of Kluane National Park and Reserve, they have reasserted their right to carry out traditional activities in the park and the surrounding Kluane Game Sanctuary lands.

Rediscovering dän keyi (Our people’s land)

Women showing youth how to identify plants
Teaching youth to identify plants

Today, the Southern Tutchone people continue to maintain a rich culture based on strong ties with the natural world. Renewing their relationship with their traditional territory within the park, and providing direction in the management of the natural resources are high priorities for both Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation. This cultural reintegration will also help ensure that the First Nations’ traditional knowledge of this region is recognized and carried forth into the future.

Cooperative management

The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement and the Kluane First Nation Final Agreement ushered in a new era in the management of Kluane National Park and Reserve. The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement established the creation of the Kluane National Park Management Board and the two final agreements identify specific rights and responsibilities of the two First Nations, the Board and Parks Canada in the management of the park – a cooperative management regime based on shared responsibility.

More Information

L’impressionnant paysage naturel de Kluane fait partie du territoire traditionnel des Tuchtones du Sud, qui sont représentés dans la région de Kluane par les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et par la Première nation Kluane. Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada et ces premières nations se partagent la responsabilité de la gestion des ressources naturelles et culturelles du parc.


Culture des Tutchonis du Sud

Montre à des jeunes à identifier des pistes d’animauxMontre à des jeunes à identifier des pistes d’animaux

Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les Tutchonis du Sud, qui comprennent les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et la Première nation Kluane, ont vécu dans la région qui est maintenant le parc national. Pendant des millénaires, dän (le peuple) a adopté un mode de vie efficace pour survivre sur ce territoire fait d’extrêmes. Les anciens racontent l’histoire passionnante de ce peuple et décrivent en détail des événements et des lieux qui remontent à de nombreuses générations.

Les Tuchtonis du Sud étaient autrefois un peuple nomade qui parcouraient de grandes distances pour profiter de l’abondance saisonnière de faune et de flore à travers leur territoire traditionnel. Ce mode de vie exigeait d’eux qu’ils soient maîtres de l’art de la chasse et des déplacements dans une région en proie à des variations climatiques et géographiques radicales.

 

Savoir ancestral et la langue

Ainé de la Première nation Kluane
Ainé de la Première nation Kluane

Ce sont la précision et la profondeur de leur langue qui ont permis aux Tuchtonis du Sud de survivre. Les anciens transmettaient oralement les enseignements officiels et les histoires traditionnelles, et cette pratique se poursuit encore aujourd’hui. Les toponymes et les histoires qui leur sont associés constituent une source de savoir essentielle: ils identifiaient les endroits où se trouvaient les ressources, faisaient références à des événements passés, et décrivaient le paysage de façon à ce qu’un voyageur ait connaissance d’un endroit sans y être allé auparavant.

Dans la langue des Tuchtonis du Sud, le lac Kluane se dit «Łù’àn Män», ce qui signifie lac où abonde le poisson. Les Tlingits du littoral, avec lesquels les Tutchonis faisaient du commerce, avaient surnommé la région « ùxh-àni », qui veut dire pays de corégones. Kluane (Kloo-wah-nee) nous vient de ces deux termes des premiers habitants.

Des panneaux routiers indiquent les noms de lieu dans la langue des Tutchonis du Sud

La prochaine fois que vous prendrez la route du Klondike du Sud, la route de Haines ou la route de l’Alaska, que ce soit de la limite sud ou de la limite nord du parc national Kluane, ne manquez pas les nouveaux panneaux routiers installés par Parcs Canada. Les noms de lieu sont désormais indiqués dans la langue des Tutchonis du Sud et en anglais.
Travaillant de concert avec le ministère des Transports du gouvernement du Yukon, les Premières Nations Champagne et Aishihik, et la Première Nation Kluane, Parcs Canada a installé quatre nouveaux panneaux à proximité de Log Cabin sur la route du Klondike Sud, ainsi que quarante-huit nouveaux panneaux sur la route de Haines et la route de l’Alaska. Grâce à ces panneaux, les résidents, tout comme les visiteurs, découvriront plus facilement l’accès aux sentiers et aux installations dans le parc national Kluane et au lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot. De plus, ils apprendront les noms, en langue autochtone, des lieux où ils passeront dans le territoire traditionnel des Premières Nations.


Le refuge de gibier Kluane

En 1943, le refuge de gibier Kluane a été créé et les Premières nations se sont vu interdire l’accès à une portion considérable de leur territoire traditionnel pour la pêche, la chasse et le piégeage. Le lien particulier qui les unissait à ces terres s’est donc rompu, ce qui a entraîné d’importantes pertes sur les plans culturel et personnel depuis cinq générations maintenant.
Aujourd’hui, grâce à la mise en oeuvre de leur revendications territoriales et à la création du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane, ces Autochtones ont recouvré leur droit de pratiquer leurs activités traditionnelles dans le parc et dans les terres avoisinantes du refuge de gibier Kluane.

Redécouvrir Dän Keyi (La terre de notre peuple)

Montre à des jeunes à identifier des plantes
Montre à des jeunes à identifier des plantes

Aujourd’hui, la culture des Tuchtonis du Sud est d’une grande richesse, et elle est solidement liée au monde naturel. Le renouvellement de ces liens avec le territoire traditionnel qui se trouve dans le parc et l’orientation à donner à la gestion des ressources naturelles constituent des priorités pour les Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et pour la Première nation Kluane. Cette réintégration culturelle permettra aussi de faire en sorte que le savoir traditionnel de ces Premières nations soit reconnu et transmis aux générations futures.

Cogestion

L’Entente définitive des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik et l’Entente definitive de la Première nation Kluane ont marqué le début d’une nouvelle ère pour la gestion du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane. L’Entente définitive des Premières nations Champagne et Aishihik a établi la création du Conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane (le Conseil), et les deux ententes définitives énumèrent les droits et les obligations spécifiques des deux Premières nations, du Conseil et de Parcs Canada en ce qui a trait à la gestion du parc – un régime de cogestion fondé sur le partage des responsabilités.

Renseignements

 

Kluane First NationKluane First Nation
(anglais seulement)