We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it’s important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimize the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

Grasslands National Park is a prairie wilderness environment with few services. Be prepared! Your safety depends on awareness of wild animals, such as bison and rattlesnakes, prairie wildfires and storms, and being able to find your way!

For important information about staying safe while enjoying Grasslands National Park, please explore the topics below:

EMERGENCY SERVICES
9-1-1 Police, Fire, Ambulance (Limited cell coverage)
Park Dispatch: 1-877-852-3100
(306) 298-2166 “press 2”
RCMP – West Block (306) 625-6400 Ponteix 24 hrs.
RCMP – East Block (306) 642-7110 Assiniboia 24 hrs.

Safety is everyone’s responsibility

At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor center to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Planning a safe visit to a national park

Bien que la plupart du temps les sorties en plein air se déroulent à merveille, il est essentiel de connaître les règles de sécurité et d’être bien préparé en cas de problèmes. Pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de pratiquer vos activités en toute sécurité, consultez le www.adventuresmart.ca

Le parc national des Prairies est un environnement sauvage dans la prairie où il y a peu de services. Préparez-vous en conséquence! Votre sécurité dépend de votre sensibilisation aux animaux sauvages, tels le bison et le serpent à sonnettes, aux feux de prairie et aux orages, ainsi que de votre capacité à vous orienter pour trouver votre chemin!

Pour obtenir de l'information importante sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en visitant le parc national des Prairies, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

SERVICES D’URGENCE
9-1-1 Police, pompiers, ambulance (La couverture cellulaire est limitée)
Service de répartition : 1 877 852-3100
306 298-2166 (appuyez sur le 2)
GRC – bloc Ouest, 306 625-6400 (Ponteix), en tout temps
GRC – bloc Est, 306 642-7110 (Assiniboia), en tout temps 

La sécurité est l'affaire de tous

À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d'accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l'information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

Planification d'une visite sécuritaire dans un parc national