The park’s farmland and forests provide a lovely rural atmosphere and a sense that you are far away from the city. There are also few traffic lights to interrupt your ride, while the gentle rolling hills offer a nice workout.

Popular north-south roads for cycling include Meadowvale Road, Beare Road, 11th Concession, and Reesor Road. There is also a multi-use pathway that runs along the west side of Meadowvale Road near the Toronto Zoo. Reesor Road runs through a large portion of the park, from the Toronto Zoo area to just south of Stouffville, near the north end of the park. These north-south routes can be connected by east-west roads such as Old Finch Avenue, Plug Hat Road, and 14th Avenue. If you’re looking for a more remote experience, head to the far northeast corner of the park where many quiet country roads are waiting to be explored.

For a more relaxed ride, connect to the multi-use Waterfront Trail at Rouge Beach, which runs both east and west along the shore of Lake Ontario. This is a perfect place to take kids for a bike ride.

 

Safety

The park's road network offers excellent opportunities for cyclists to explore the area. However, many of the roads have narrow shoulders, so please use caution when cycling. Cycling is also a great way to reach the park. You can plan your route to the park using Ride the City, an online tool that helps cyclists find safer routes around Toronto.

 

Please note that cycling is not permitted on hiking trails in order to protect sensitive natural ecosystems and reduce trail erosion.

Veuillez donc circuler prudemment. Les terres agricoles et les forêts offrent un cadre rural charmant et procurent le sentiment d’être loin de la ville. Il y a peu de feux de circulation susceptibles d’interrompre votre promenade, et les douces collines onduleuses permettent de faire de l’exercice dans un environnement agréable.

Les routes nord sud populaires pour les cyclistes sont notamment le chemin Meadowvale, le chemin Beare, le chemin de concession 11 et le chemin Reesor. Il y a également un sentier polyvalent qui longe le côté ouest du chemin Meadowvale près du Zoo de Toronto. Le chemin Reesor traverse une bonne partie du parc, du Zoo de Toronto jusqu’au sud de Stouffville, près de l’extrémité nord du parc. Il est possible de rejoindre ces axes nord sud en empruntant des routes est ouest comme l’avenue Old Finch, le chemin Plug Hat et la 14e Avenue. Si vous désirez vous sentir encore plus loin de la ville, dirigez-vous vers le coin nord est du parc, où de nombreuses routes de campagne tranquilles attendent d’être explorées.

Pour une promenade plus relaxante, rejoignez le sentier polyvalent Waterfront à la plage de la Rouge, qui longe le lac Ontario vers l’est et vers l’ouest. C’est l’endroit idéal pour une promenade à vélo en famille.

 

Sécurité

Le réseau de routes du parc offre aux cyclistes d’excellentes possibilités d’exploration de la région. Toutefois, bon nombre des routes ont des accotements étroits. Le vélo est également un excellent moyen de vous rendre au parc. Vous pouvez planifier votre trajet en utilisant Ride the City, un outil en ligne qui aide les cyclistes à trouver les routes les plus sûres autour de Toronto.


Prenez note que les vélos ne sont pas admis sur les sentiers de randonnée pédestre; cette mesure vise à protéger les écosystèmes naturels vulnérables et à réduire l’érosion des sentiers.