Dividing two of the largest bodies of freshwater in the world, the Bruce Peninsula offers some of the finest swimming in Ontario.  

On the Lake Huron side of the peninsula, Singing Sands is a great swimming destination for families with small children and the inexperienced swimmer. This sandy beach features shallow, warmer, water where groups can spread out on the shore to soak up some sun. 

On the other side of the peninsula, the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay at Indian Head Cove and Halfway Log Dump are an appealing draw to break the heat. You will quickly find out how cold the water is. Before taking the plunge into the gorgeous waters of Georgian Bay, it is recommended you take a moment to read our Swimming safety page. The deep water and cliff-like shoreline can provide difficulties to even the most experienced swimmers. It is susceptible to rough water conditions and powerful waves – ask park staff before your visit for current water conditions. 

All swimming in the Bruce Peninsula National Park is unsupervised. Visitors are responsible for their own safety. Children MUST be supervised near any waters. The rocky shoreline can become wet and extremely slippery, please take caution when walking on wet terrain. 

For more information about swimming safety in the Bruce Peninsula National Park please visit our Swimming safety page.

Bande de terre divisant deux des plus grands bassins d’eau douce de la planète, la péninsule Bruce offre des possibilités de baignade qui figurent parmi les meilleures en Ontario. 

Du côté du lac Huron, la plage Singing Sands est une excellente destination pour les jeunes familles et les nageurs inexpérimentés. Cette plage sablonneuse est baignée par une eau chaude et peu profonde. Les groupes peuvent s’éparpiller sur le rivage pour profiter du soleil. 

De l’autre côté de la péninsule, les eaux cristallines de la baie Georgienne, à la hauteur de l’anse Indian Head et de la passe à billes Halfway, sont particulièrement attrayantes par temps chaud. Vous constaterez vite à quel point l’eau est froide. Avant de plonger dans la magnifique baie Georgienne, nous vous recommandons de prendre quelques instants pour lire notre page Sécurité des nageurs. Les eaux profondes et les falaises du littoral peuvent créer des difficultés même pour les nageurs les plus chevronnés. L’eau peut devenir agitée et former de puissantes vagues. Renseignez-vous sur les conditions de l’eau auprès du personnel du parc avant votre séjour.

Dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, la baignade se fait sans surveillance, quel que soit le plan d’eau. Les visiteurs sont responsables de leur propre sécurité. Les enfants DOIVENT être supervisés lorsqu’ils se trouvent près d’un plan d’eau. Une fois mouillé, le littoral rocheux peut devenir extrêmement glissant. Redoublez de prudence sur du terrain mouillé. 

Pour en savoir davantage sur les mesures de sécurité applicables à la baignade dans le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, consultez notre page Sécurité des nageurs