Weather

Some factors will be ever changing, and you will want to talk to Kejimkujik staff for up-to-date information on weather and its effects on fire hazard, trail conditions, and canoeing conditions. We can also inform you of any recent animal sightings that you should be aware of. You can contact the Visitor Centre staff at (902) 682-2772. View the Kejimkujik weather forecast (Environment Canada).

Cold-related emergencies

A decline in core body temperature is a serious safety concern. Cold-related emergencies, such as hypothermia, can happen to anyone who is exposed to cold temperatures (or rain, wind, water or snow) for too long, and can be life threatening.
  • Bring extra clothing. Replace wet clothes with dry ones before you get chilled.
  • Dress in layers; adjust as you go to prevent overcooling or overheating.
  • Wear clothing that retains its insulating properties when wet (e.g. polypropylene, fleece, wool, gore-tex). Do not wear cotton, e.g. jeans.
  • Be alert to the first signs of hypothermia: shivering, difficulty using your hands, disorientation, and a drop in body temperature.
  • Drink plenty of water and snack throughout the day.
Learn more about the prevention and treatment of cold-related emergencies (Canadian Red Cross).

Ice Safety

Ice conditions on Kejimkujik's lakes and rivers can remain hazardous all winterLearn about ice factors and ice safety (Canadian Red Cross)

Heat-related emergencies

Heat-related emergencies occur when the body becomes dehydrated, which may result in an increased body temperature. Heat cramps, heat exhaustion, or heat stroke, can happen to anyone who stays in the summer heat and sun for too long. 

Young children, the elderly, those with chronic illnesses such as heart disease, and those taking certain medications can become ill in hot, humid weather faster than healthy adults. 

It is important for everyone enjoying the outdoors to know how to prevent heat emergencies, recognize when someone has been in the heat for too long, and be able to provide help when needed. Learn more about the prevention and treatment of heat-related emergencies (Canadian Red Cross).

Conditions météo

Certaines conditions varient beaucoup. Prenez donc soin de vous informer auprès du personnel de Kejimkujik pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la météo et son incidence sur les risques d'incendie, l'état des sentiers et les conditions de canotage. Nous pouvons également vous informer de la présence d'animaux aperçus récemment et pouvant présenter un danger. Vous pouvez appeler au centre d'accueil au 902-682-2772. Conditions météo à Kejimkujik (Environnement Canada).

Urgences dues au froid

La chute de la température corporelle est une grave menace. L’hypothermie peut se produire chez toute personne exposée trop longtemps à des températures froides (ou pluie, vent, eau ou neige). Elle peut aussi mettre la vie en danger.
  • Apportez des vêtements de rechange. Changez vos vêtements humides pour des secs avant d'avoir froid.
  • Portez plusieurs couches de vêtements, pour pouvoir en enlever ou en ajouter en fonction du temps.
  • Portez des vêtements faits de tissus qui, quand ils sont humides, conservent leurs propriétés isolantes (p. ex. : polypropylène, molleton, laine, Gore-Tex). Ne portez pas de coton, comme des jeans.
  • Soyez attentif aux premiers signes d'hypothermie : frissons, difficulté à vous servir de vos mains, confusion, chute de la température corporelle.
  • Buvez beaucoup d'eau et prenez des collations tout au long de la journée.
  • Apprenez plus sur la prévention et traitement des urgences dues au froid (La Croix-Rouge canadienne).

    Sécurité sur la glace

    L’état de la glace sur les lacs et les rivières de Kejimkujik représente un danger tout l’hiverApprenez plus sur les facteurs liés à la glace et la sécurité sur la glace (La Croix-Rouge canadienne).

    Urgences dues à la chaleur

    Les urgences dues à la chaleur se produisent lorsque le corps se déshydraté, ce qui peut entraîner une augmentation de la température corporelle. Toute personne qui reste trop longtemps à la chaleur et au soleil pendant l’été s’expose aux crampes de chaleur, à l’épuisement dû à la chaleur ou aux coups de chaleur. 

    Les jeunes enfants, les personnes âgées, les personnes souffrant d’une maladie chronique comme une maladie cardiaque, et les individus qui suivent un certain traitement peuvent avoir des troubles dus à la chaleur plus rapidement que des adultes en bonne santé. 

    Il est important que toute personne qui s’amuse à l’extérieur sache comment prevenir les urgences dues à la chaleur, reconnaisse les symptômes d’un individu ayant passé trop de temps à la chaleur, et puisse venir en aide le cas échéant. Apprenez plus sur les urgences dues à la chaleur (La Croix-Rouge canadienne).