Torngat Mountains National Park is the traditional homeland of the Inuit of Labrador and Nunavik. Inuit have travelled and lived among the deep fjords, towering mountains and wide valleys of this land for centuries, following the migratory paths of the whale, polar bear, and caribou.

Visitors to the park have the opportunity to experience this breath-taking landscape together with Inuit. Excursions into the park by air, by sea or on foot deepen visitors’ understanding of the connections between the majestic wild nature of this special place and the enduring cultural traditions of its people.

Each summer, on the banks of a beach where a river meets a sea, a small community is established on the edge of the park. This is Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station. Here, Inuit elders and youth from Nunatsiavut and Nunavik stay together with visitors, researchers, and Parks Canada staff. In addition to the daily excursions to the park and programming offered at “base camp,” Parks Canada facilitates opportunities for shared experiences between all guests, inspiring profound personal experiences.

Le parc national des Montagnes Torngat est la patrie traditionnelle des Inuits du Labrador et du Nunavik. Les Inuit ont voyagé et vécu parmi les fjords profonds, les hautes montagnes et les grandes vallées de cette terre depuis des siècles, suivant les sentiers migratoires de la baleine, de l'ours polaire et du caribou.

Les visiteurs du parc ont l'occasion de découvrir ce paysage à couper le souffle avec les Inuits. Les excursions dans le parc par avion, par mer ou à pied approfondissent la compréhension des visiteurs sur les liens entre la nature sauvage majestueuse de cet endroit spécial et les traditions culturelles durables de son peuple.

Chaque été, sur les rives d'une plage où une rivière rencontre une mer, une petite communauté est établie au bord du parc. C'est le camp de base et la station de recherche de la montagne Torngat. Ici, les aînés et les jeunes inuits de Nunatsiavut et du Nunavik restent avec les visiteurs, les chercheurs et le personnel de Parcs Canada. Outre les excursions quotidiennes dans le parc et les émissions proposées au «camp de base», Parcs Canada facilite les possibilités d'expériences partagées entre tous les invités, inspirant des expériences personnelles profondes.