Gros Morne National Park is 1,805 square kilometres of wilderness on Newfoundland’s west coast. It stretches inland from the Gulf of St. Lawrence coastline through lowlands where waterways snake towards the Long Range Mountains and Tablelands. The flora and fauna are an exceptional mixture of temperate, boreal, and Arctic-alpine.

Natural beauty and a unique, geological showcase earned Gros Morne UNESCO World Heritage status in 1987. You can see clearly on display evidence of the forces that shaped our planet, from shifted tectonic plates to rare expanses of exposed earth’s mantle.

A roadway passes through the park’s varied terrain and coastal villages that host lively festivals and cultural events. While Gros Morne can be experienced on easy guided walks and a scenic boat trip through Western Brook Pond, the more adventurous can head out on their own, hiking to mountain tops or kayaking in summer, backcountry skiing and snowshoeing in winter.

Le parc national du Gros-Morne s’étend du côté ouest de Terre-Neuve, sur 1805 km2 de terres sauvages. Il va de la côte du golfe du Saint-Laurent jusqu’aux basses terres où des voies navigables serpentent à travers les vénérables monts Long Range et les Tablelands. La flore et la faune regroupent une variété exceptionnelle d’espèces tempérées, boréales et arctiques-alpines.

La beauté naturelle du parc du Gros-Morne et ses caractéristiques géologiques uniques lui ont valu le titre de site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1987. La richesse de sa géologie témoigne clairement des forces qui ont façonné notre planète, comme le phénomène des plaques tectoniques et les rares étendues visibles du manteau terrestre.

Une route traverse les reliefs variés et les villages côtiers du parc qui accueillent, chaque année, des festivals et événements culturels animés. Vous pouvez choisir une randonnée guidée et facile ou une excursion panoramique en bateau sur l’étang Western Brook. Vous aimez l’aventure ? Lancez-vous seul à l’assaut des sommets ou explorez l’arrière-pays en kayak, l’été, et en skis ou en raquettes, l’hiver.