The forests of Gros Morne National Park face serious threats to their long-term health. Parks Canada has, through its ecosystem monitoring program, surveyed the extent of the damage and determined intense moose browsing to be the main cause.

Moose were introduced to Newfoundland over 100 years ago. In the absence of predators, and with an abundant food supply, their numbers increased dramatically. Today, moose populations in the national park are greater than the forests can support; forest diversity is in decline.

This website provides information about Parks Canada’s approach to forest health management in Gros Morne National Park in Newfoundland and Labrador. It also explains how Canadians can get involved in helping to restore the health of these forests.

La santé des forêts dans les parc nationaux du Gros-Morne est sérieusement menacée. Dans le cadre de son programme de surveillance des écosystèmes, Parcs Canada a observé l’étendue des dommages et a conclu que le broutage intensif par les orignaux en était la principale cause.

Les orignaux ont été introduits à Terre-Neuve il y a plus de 100 ans. En l’absence de prédateurs et grâce à une nourriture abondante, ils se sont multipliés à un rythme effréné. Aujourd’hui, les forêts n’ont plus la capacité de nourrir ces populations d’orignaux devenues trop importantes; leur biodiversité est en déclin.

Ce site Web décrit l’approche adoptée par Parcs Canada pour gérer la santé de la forêt dans les parc nationaux du Gros Morne, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il explique également comment les Canadiens peuvent contribuer à cette gestion en faisant leur part pour restaurer la santé de ces forêts.