Half a billion years in the making – the result of a brilliant coming together of two ancient continents -- the Earth's inner soul: the mantle - exposed to you the way few have seen it.

 

How do you want to experience the Tablelands?

 

Hike it with a Guide


Walk Upon the Earth's Mantle Guided Walk: Tablelands Trail (2h)10:00 am Tues, Thurs, Sat, Sun - Finished for 2017 season. Bilingual Guide
Walk upon the Earth’s mantle - normally found far below the earth's crust. This walk reveals some of the earth shaking ideas that changed how we understand our planet. Parks Canada guides will help you explore this bizarre and beautiful landscape, the glacially carved valleys and the unique plants and vegetation that call the Tablelands their home! This two-hour guided hike will prepare you to better understand the world significant geology of Gros Morne as you explore the park.


Tablelands Intro Introductory Walk: Tablelands Trail (1h) Finished for 2017 season
Don`t have time for the full Tablelands walk? Get the quick scoop on this surreal landscape as you explore the beginning of the trail with a guide. Join an enjoyable and educational introduction to the Tablelands that will set you on your way to understanding the world significant geology of the park.


Reach for the top…of the Tablelands! Special Program: Tablelands Off-Trail Hike (3h) Finished for the 2017 season. Reservations required ($44.00) 
It's not every day that you get a chance to walk upon the Earth's mantle. In this fast paced group hike we invite you to join a Parks Canada guide to explore the steep, rocky slopes of the Tablelands. During this challenging 3 hour off-trail hike, you will experience stunning views of the mountains and sea as you ascend towards the top of the mountain and back down again. Information and reservations: 709-453-2127.

 

Hike it on Your Own

Map of the Tablelands $3 map or $5 waterproof map. Available at the Discovery Centre and the Visitor Centre.
Pick up a map and plan your off trail route to some of the most picturesque landscapes in Gros Morne National Park. Plan a full day hike to the top of the Tablelands or a half-day adventure. Flip the map around and learn about the unique geology and flora on the Tablelands. Makes a great souvenir!


Explora for the Tablelands Smart Phone App: Tablelands Trail (2h).
You're on holidays and you don't want to be on a schedule; Explora is a handy app that allows you to get all of the information you need but at your own time and pace. Like having a tiny park naturalist in your hand to explore all the wonders of the Tablelands. Download the free app or pick up a device at the Discovery Centre – included in your park pass - and hit the trails!

Download the app through App Store or Google Play.

Watch it all Unfold

Gros Morne: An Earth Odyssey Evening Program: Visitor Centre (1h) Finished for 2017 season
Join a zany traveller sent from another galaxy who accepts a mission to learn more about planet Earth by uncovering the reasons for the UNESCO World Heritage designation at Gros Morne National Park. Discover Gros Morne’s unique geology in an out-of-this-world multimedia show!


Take in the views - Pull back the lens to see the beauty of the Tablelands in striking contrast to the surrounding green hills and blue saltwater. The Lookout Trail and the communities of Norris Point and Woody Point offer beautiful and different vistas of the Tablelands – check it out!


Drive the scenic route 431 - The road between Woody Point and Trout River is truly one of the most spectacular you'll see.  What strikes you most is the contrast of colour between the mountains that tower above you. One side is lush green; the other, a brilliant, amber colour - all divided, it would seem, by the yellow line of the highway.

500 millions d’années pour en arriver là. Le résultat de la colossale rencontre de deux anciens continents. L’âme profonde de la Terre. Le manteau, exposé sous vos yeux comme peu l’ont jusqu’ici vu.

 

Comment voulez-vous explorer les Tablelands?

Faites une randonnée en compagnie d’un guide!

Foulez le manteau terrestre Promenade guidée : Sentier des Tablelands (2 heures) terminé pour la saison 2017
Marchez sur le manteau de la Terre – une couche normalement enfouie loin sous la croûte terrestre. Cette randonnée guidée de deux heures vous préparera à bien comprendre la géologie d’importance mondiale du parc national du Gros-Morne. Elle vous dévoilera de plus des idées qui ont changé à tout jamais notre compréhension de la planète. Les guides de Parcs Canada vous aideront à découvrir ce paysage aussi bizarre que magnifique, les vallées sculptées par les glaciers ainsi que la flore atypique qu’abritent les Tablelands.


Introduction aux Tablelands Excursion découverte terminé pour la saison 2017
Vous n’avez pas le temps de faire la longue randonnée des Tablelands? Prenez un raccourci pour découvrir ce paysage surréaliste, en explorant le début du sentier avec un guide. Suivez l’agréable et instructive introduction aux Tablelands, qui vous permettra de comprendre la géologie mondialement réputée du parc.
Vers le sommet… des Tablelands Programme spécial: Tablelands (3 heures) terminé pour la saison 2017 Réservations obligatoires (44 $)
Ce n'est pas tous les jours que vous avez la chance de marcher sur le manteau de la Terre. Dans cette randonnée à rythme rapide, nous vous invitons à vous joindre à un guide de Parcs Canada pour explorer les pentes rocheuses des Tablelands. Au cours de cette randonnée pédestre de 3 heures relativement difficile, vous obtiendrez une vue imprenable sur les montagnes et la mer durant une mémorable ascension et descente de cette unique montagne. Informations et réservations: 709-453-2127.

Faites une randonnée, à votre rythme!


Carte des TablelandsCarte: 3$, ou carte à l’épreuve de l’eau : 5$ En vente au Centre de découverte et au Centre d’accueil
Procurez-vous une carte des Tablelands et planifiez votre trajet vers certains des paysages les plus pittoresques du parc national du Gros-Morne. Planifiez une randonnée d’une journée au sommet des Tablelands ou une aventure d’une demi-journée. Au verso de la carte, consultez les renseignements quant à la géologie et la faune particulières du secteur. Et… gardez-la en souvenir!


˝Explora˝ pour les Tablelands Application pour téléphone intelligent Sentier des Tablelands (2 heures).
Vous êtes en vacances et vous ne souhaitez pas vous soumettre à un horaire fixe? Explora est une application utile qui vous permet, à votre propre rythme, d’en apprendre plus sur la flore et sur la géologie bizarres des Tablelands. C’est comme si vous aviez dans votre poche votre propre guide-naturaliste privé! Téléchargez l’application gratuite ou empruntez un appareil au Centre de découverte (frais de location compris dans les droits du laissez-passer au parc).

Téléchargez l'application à travers le App Store ou Google Play

Des secrets dévoilés


Gros-Morne : Odyssée de la TerreProgramme de soirée : Centre des visiteurs (1 heure) terminé pour la saison 2017
Découvrez la géologie exceptionnelle du parc national du Gros-Morne dans un spectacle multimédia spécial spatial ! Joignez-vous à un voyageur loufoque venu d’une autre galaxie à qui l’on a donné comme mission de se renseigner sur la planète Terre et de découvrir les raisons pour lesquelles l’UNESCO a désigné le parc national du Gros-Morne comme site du patrimoine mondial.

Admirez le panorama - Arrêtez-vous un instant pour admirer toute la beauté des Tablelands, qui contraste de manière saisissante avec le vert des collines avoisinantes et le bleu de l’eau salée. Le sentier Lookout et les communautés de Norris Point et de Woody Point offrent des vues magnifiques et uniques des Tablelands. À ne pas manquer!


Prenez la route scénique 431 - La route 431, qui relie les villages de Woody Point et de Trout River, est l’une des routes les plus spectaculaires de la province. Étonnamment frappante est la couleur contrastante des montagnes qui dominent le lieu. D’un côté, un vert éclatant ; de l’autre côté, une vive couleur orangée. Les montagnes semblent ici séparées, l’on croirait presque, par la ligne jaune de l’autoroute.