An adult and a child fishing in Bennett Lake
© Parks Canada

Fish play important ecological roles: they prey on other aquatic life, control insect populations and are a critical food supply for fish-eating wildlife like loons. Problems such as acid rain, over fishing, inappropriate stocking and competition with non-native species have stressed our aquatic ecosystems.

Aquatic species are five times more likely to become extinct than terrestrial species! Once numerous in the now closed Point Wolfe and Upper Salmon Rivers; the endangered Inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic Salmon is a case in point. Research in our lakes points to small trout populations, living in nutrient poor systems, some suffering genetically from fishing pressure.

Today Parks Canada promotes native fish species and overall integrity of aquatic habitats. Research, management programs and your participation by observing fishing regulations, aim to ensure the preservation of Brook Trout and ecosystems upon which they depend.  

Bennett and Wolfe Lakes are the only water open
to fishing in Fundy National Park of Canada.

Other systems are closed to protect salmon or small,
vulnerable populations of Brook Trout.

Season

Bennett Lake is open to trout fishing from the Saturday of Victoria Day long weekend in May to September 15. Wolfe Lake will be open to trout fishing from June 6 to September 15.

National Park Fishing License

In an effort to manage the sport fishery, a National Park Fishing Licence is required to fish in all national parks. Daily and Seasonal licenses can be purchased at Bennett Lake and at the park’s Visitor Reception Centre. The only exception is that a person under 16 years of age may fish for trout without a license if accompanied by a person 16 years of age or older who is the holder of a valid National Park Fishing License. The catch of the person under the age of 16 must be included in the daily catch and possession limit of the license holder.

Catch limit

The total park-wide daily catch limit is 5 (five) Brook Trout. Of this daily catch, a maximum of 2 (two) Brook Trout may be caught in Wolfe Lake. Fundy National Park encourages catch and release fishing.

Do not fish off the dam at Bennett Lake.
Respect fishing regulations and protect vulnerable fish.

By reporting your catch you contribute to fisheries management. Park Wardens, whose duties include fish protection, may require you to present your equipment, permit, bait, or fish when fishing or in possession of fishing equipment in a National Park.

Canada's National Parks Act

General Fishing Regulations

Help protect Brook Trout by adhering to the following regulations:

  • Purchase a national park fishing permit. 
  • To improve survival of released fish; angling is permitted only with a barbless hook or a fishhook where the barbs have been pinched to the shaft of the hook. 
  • Fly-fishing is the only angling method permitted at Wolfe Lake.

Don't:

  • Fish with or possess within 100 meters of Park waters natural bait and chemical attractants. 
  • Use lead tackle (sinkers, jigs, lures, and flies) under 50 grams. Lost lead can poison birds such as loons, ducks and geese. 
  • Use lures with more than 2 gang hooks or a line capable of catching more than one fish at a time. 
  • Fish with more than one line at a time. 
  • Fish in closed waters. 
  • Leave your fishing line unattended. 
  • Fish from one hour after sunset to one hour before sunrise. 
  • Allow your catch to spoil or to be wasted. 
  • Sell, trade or barter any fish caught. 
  • Add to population stress by introducing non-native species of fish by placing live fish or fish eggs in any park water or transfer them between bodies of water. 
  • Place any food for fish in park waters.

Other regulations aimed at protecting fish populations may apply. To learn more, please enquire at the Visitor Reception Centre or with a Park Warden.

Get involved in monitoring brook trout at Fundy National Park!

Did you know that Fundy National Park’s Resource Conservation personnel monitor brook trout populations as an indicator of freshwater ecosystem health? As part of our ongoing population monitoring program, we are conducting a creel census to examine brook trout health and abundance in Bennett and Wolfe Lakes, and are asking anglers to report their catches to help us in these efforts. Creel census forms are attached to Fundy National Park’s fishing guide but additional forms may be found at any park kiosk or at the Bennett Lake boat rentals.

Un adulte et un enfant qui pêchent dans le lac Bennett
© Parcs Canada

Les poissons jouent des rôles écologiques importants : ils se nourrissent d’autres organismes aquatiques, luttent contre les populations d’insectes et constituent une réserve de nourriture essentielle aux espèces sauvages piscivores comme les huards. Toutefois, des problèmes comme les pluies acides, la surpêche, l’ensemencement inapproprié et la compétition avec les espèces non indigènes ont exercé un stress sur nos écosystèmes aquatiques.

Les espèces aquatiques courent cinq fois plus de risques d’extinction que les espèces terrestres. Le saumon atlantique de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy, poisson en voie de disparition autrefois nombreux dans les rivières Point Wolfe et Upper Salmon, où il est maintenant interdit de pêcher, en est un bon exemple. Des recherches menées dans nos lacs révèlent la présence de populations de petites truites vivant dans des plans d’eau pauvres en nutriments, certaines ayant subi des mutations génétiques découlant de la pression de la pêche.

Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada valorise les espèces de poisson indigènes et l’intégrité générale des habitats aquatiques. La recherche, les programmes de gestion et l’observation des règlements sur la pêche visent à s’assurer de la préservation de l’omble de fontaine et des écosystèmes desquels il dépend.

Le lac Bennett et le lac Wolfe sont les seuls endroits où il est permis
de pêcher dans le parc national du Canada Fundy.

La pêche est interdite dans les autres plans d’eau afin de protéger
le saumon ou les petites populations vulnérables d’ombles de fontaine.

Saison

Il est permis de pêcher la truite dans le lac Bennett du samedi de la fête de la Reine en mai jusqu’au 15 septembre. Il est permis de pêcher la truite dans le lac Wolfe du 6 juin au 15 septembre.

Permis de pêche des parcs nationaux

Afin que la pêche sportive soit bien gérée, il est obligatoire de posséder un permis de pêche des parcs nationaux pour pêcher dans tout parc national. On peut se procurer des permis quotidiens et saisonniers au lac Bennett et au centre d’accueil du parc. Seule une personne âgée de moins de 16 ans peut pêcher la truite sans permis si elle est accompagnée d’une personne âgée de 16 ans ou plus titulaire d’un permis de pêche des parcs nationaux valide. La prise de la personne âgée de moins de 16 ans doit être incluse dans la limite quotidienne de prise et de possession du titulaire du permis.

Limite de prise

La limite quotidienne de prise dans le parc est de cinq ombles de fontaine. De cette prise quotidienne, un maximum de 2 (deux) ombles de fontaine peut être pris au lac Wolfe. Le parc national Fundy encourage la pêche avec remise à l’eau.

Ne pas pêcher du haut du barrage du lac Bennett.
Respecter le règlement sur la pêche et protéger les poissons vulnérables

En signalant leur prise, les pêcheurs contribuent à la gestion des pêches. Les gardiens de parcs, qui doivent entre autres choses protéger les poissons, peuvent leur demander de présenter leur équipement, permis, appât ou poisson lorsqu’ils pêchent ou sont en possession de matériel de pêche dans un parc national.

Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada

Règlement général sur la pêche

Il faut aider à protéger l’omble de fontaine en respectant le règlement qui suit :

  • Se procurer un permis de pêche des parcs nationaux. 
  • Afin de prolonger la survie des poissons relâchés, on ne peut pêcher à la ligne qu’avec un hameçon dont les ardillons ont été enlevés ou serrés contre la tige de l’hameçon. 
  • La seule méthode de pêche permise au lac Wolfe est la pêche à la mouche.

Ne pas :

  • Pêcher avec tout appât naturel ou attractif chimique ou posséder un tel appât dans un rayon de 100 mètres des eaux d’un parc. 
  • Utiliser des articles en plomb (lests, turluttes, leurres et mouches) pesant moins de 50 g. Le plomb perdu peut empoisonner des oiseaux comme les huards, les canards et les oies. 
  • Utiliser des leurres à deux hameçons multiples ou une ligne de pêche capable de prendre plus d’un poisson à la fois. 
  • Pêcher avec plus d’une ligne à la fois. 
  • Pêcher dans des eaux où cela est interdit. 
  • Laisser sa ligne de pêche sans surveillance. 
  • Pêcher entre une heure après le coucher du soleil et une heure avant le lever du soleil. 
  • Laisser sa prise se gâter ou se perdre. 
  • Vendre, échanger ou troquer du poisson. 
  • Ajouter au stress de la population en introduisant des poissons vivants ou des oeufs de poisson fécondés non indigènes dans les eaux d’un parc ou en en transférant d’une nappe d’eau à une autre. 
  • Déposer, dans les eaux d’un parc, de la nourriture pour les poissons.

D’autres règlements visant à protéger les populations de poissons peuvent s’appliquer. Pour en savoir davantage, prière de se rendre au centre d’accueil ou d’aller voir un gardien de parc.

Prenez part à la surveillance de l'omble de fontaine au parc national Fundy!

Saviez-vous que le personnel de la conservation des ressources du parc national Fundy surveille la population de l'omble de fontaine comme indicateur de la santé de l'écosystème aquatique? Dans le cadre de notre programme de longue durée de suivi de la population, nous menons un recensement de pêche pour examiner la santé et l'abondance de l'omble de fontaine dans les lacs Bennett et Wolfe, et dans le but de nous aider avec ces efforts nous demandons aux pêcheurs de nous fournir de l'information au sujet de leurs prises. Des formulaires de recensement de pêche sont disponibles à n'importe quel kiosque du parc ou au centre de location de bateau du lac Bennett.