Rent a Parks Canada oTENTik

1) Rent a Parks Canada oTENTik

That’s right, you can rent one of five Parks Canada oTENTiks this winter in Riding Mountain National Park. They will be ready to face the cold weather with electric heat, interior lighting, wood stove, USB outlets, and exterior and interior outlets. OTENTiks are the perfect mix of cabin meets tent, making them the perfect option for winter camping, or is it called glamping?


Explore the Park on snowshoes

2) Explore the Park on snowshoes

Bring your own or rent a pair from Friends of Riding Mountain National Park. For short adventures, snowshoe around the Wasagaming Campground or Ominik Marsh. If you’re more adventurous, drive-up to the North side of the Park and explore Kippan’s Mill or Bead Lake.


Winter Adventure Weekend February 8 – 11, 2018
© Austin Mackay

3) Winter Adventure Weekend February 9 – 11, 2018

Play boot hockey, build quinzhees, eat chili, ski trails, make s’mores, cross country ski, enjoy a southern barbeque, or participate in our own version of the Winter Olympics. Activities are always changing, so make sure you visit Riding Mountain National Park or Friends of Riding Mountain for more information.


Fish on the lake
© Austin Mackay

4) Fish on the lake

Kick back and relax with good friends while you fish for pike or walleye. You can pick-up your National Park Fishing Permit and Fishing Regulations Summary at the Administration Office. We hope you brought your Heritage Hot Chocolate to keep warm.


National Park safari

5) National Park safari

Take yourself on your own National Park safari this winter in Riding Mountain National Park. Drive down to the bison enclosure where 40 bison roam the fescue grasslands. You can stretch your legs at the look-out and get a fantastic view of the bison and Riding Mountain’s frozen landscape. Maybe you will get lucky on the drive back and see a moose, fox, lynx, or elk.


Build a quinzhee

6) Build a quinzhee

You can build a quinzhee almost anywhere in Riding Mountain National Park, but the best place is the Aspen day-use area. It seems the locals have chosen Aspen as the best spot to build quinzhees for others to enjoy, maybe it’s because Aspen provides the best view for a sunset.


Ski the Park

7) Ski the Park

Riding Mountain provides cross country ski trails for all levels of ability. You can explore the beautiful Wasagaming campground or the Broadleaf trail 6km loop. If you’re looking for more of a challenge try Cairns Cabin, a 14.4km ski trail to a rustic cabin that offers basic amenities including a wood stove, sleeping loft, table, benches, and outhouse. Remember to reserve Cairns Cabin this winter: reservation.pc.gc.ca  or 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783).


Skate under the lights

8) Skate under the lights

Skate under festive lights and the snow covered trees behind the Parks Canada Visitor Centre. After, start a fire inside the Visitor Centre picnic shelter and roast some hot dogs before you head home.


Northern Lights

9) Northern Lights

Did you know the Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis, are most visible January to March? This winter watch this amazing natural phenomenon reflect off the ice of Clear Lake in Riding Mountain National Park.


Test out a fat bike
© Austin Mackay
10) Test out a fat bike

For the 2018 winter season, fat bikes are now available to rent in Riding Mountain National Park. Bike around the townsite of Wasagaming or on nearby trails. If you have your own, head to Burls and Bittersweet for a new type of cycling adventure.


What’s your favourite winter activity in Riding Mountain National Park? Did we miss anything? Share your stories and photos with us on Twitter and Facebook using the hashtag #RidingNP.

For further information about any of our activities or accommodations, call 204-848-7275 or email rmnp.info@pc.gc.ca.

Before heading outdoors, please review our Winter Visitor Safety tips

Patinez à la belle étoile, faites de la raquette sous les aurores boréales, naviguez dans les sentiers sur un vélo d’hiver, pêchez sur Lac Clear ou glissez à travers la forêt sur vos skis de fond.

Dans la soirée, blottissez-vous près du feu dans votre oTENTik de Parcs Canada et dégustez un repas entre amis dans un confortable abri de cuisine hivernisé.

Il est temps d'explorer la maison de l'hiver, le parc national du Mont-Riding.

Rent a Parks Canada oTENTik

1) Louer une tente oTENTik de Parcs Canada

C’est exact, vous pouvez louer l’une des cinq tentes oTENTik de Parcs Canada cet hiver dans le parc national de Mont-Riding. Ces tentes seront prêtes à affronter le froid de l’hiver avec leur chauffage électrique, un éclairage intérieur, un poêle à bois, des prises USB et des prises intérieures et extérieures. Les tentes oTENTik sont la combinaison parfaite de la tente et de la cabane, faisant ainsi d’elles l’option parfaite pour le camping d’hiver, ou camping d’hiver « de luxe »....


Explore the Park on snowshoes

2) Explorer le parc en raquettes

Apportez vos propres raquettes ou louez-en une paire à l’association Friends of Riding Mountain National Park (en anglais seulement). Pour de petites aventures, faites de la raquette autour du terrain de camping Wasagaming ou du marais Ominik. Pour les excursionnistes plus aventureux, rendez-vous en voiture jusqu’au côté nord du parc et explorez la Scierie Kippan ou le lac Bead.


Winter Adventure Weekend February 8 – 11, 2018
© Austin Mackay

3) Fin de semaine d’aventures hivernales 9 à 11 février 2018

Venez jouer au hockey bottines, bâtir un abri « quinzy », manger du chili, skier sur les sentiers, faire des biscuits « s’mores », faire du ski de fond, vous régaler d’un repas du Sud sur le barbecue ou bien participer à notre propre version des Jeux olympiques d’hiver. Les activités ne cessent de changer, alors assurez-vous de visiter le parc national du Mont-Riding ou l’association Friends of Riding Mountain (en anglais seulement) pour en savoir plus.


Fish on the lake
© Austin Mackay

4) Pêcher sur le lac

Détendez-vous avec de bons amis pendant que vous pêchez le brochet ou le doré jaune. Vous pouvez passer prendre votre permis de pêche de parc national et votre Résumé des règlements sur la pêche au Centre administratif. N’oubliez pas d’apporter votre chocolat chaud à l’ancienne pour vous tenir au chaud!


National Park safari

5) Safari dans le parc national

Faites votre propre safari dans le parc national cet hiver au parc national du Mont-Riding. Rendez-vous en voiture jusqu’à l’enclos de bisons où 40 bisous se promènent paisiblement dans les prairies de fétuque. Dégourdissez-vous les jambes en vous rendant au belvédère d'où vous aurez une vue imprenable sur le panorama glacé du Mont-Riding et les bisons. Qui sait! Peut-être que vous aurez la chance d’apercevoir un orignal, un renard, un lynx ou un wapiti sur le chemin du retour.


Build a quinzhee

6) Bâtir un « quinzy »

Vous pouvez bâtir un abri de neige « quinzy » presque partout dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, mais le meilleur endroit pour le faire est l’aire de fréquentation diurne d’Aspen. Les gens de la région semblent avoir choisi cet endroit comme le meilleur endroit où bâtir les « quinzy » qu’ils laissent là pour que les autres en profitent aussi. C’est peut-être parce qu’Aspen est l’endroit idéal pour admirer les couchers de soleil...


Ski the Park

7) Faire du ski dans le parc

Le Mont-Riding offre des pistes de ski de fond pour tous les niveaux d’habileté. Vous pouvez explorer le magnifique terrain de camping Wasagaming ou faire la boucle de 6 km du sentier Broadleaf. Si vous avez envie d’un plus grand défi, empruntez la piste de ski de 14,4 km qui vous mènera jusqu’à la rustique cabane Cairns, laquelle offre un confort élémentaire : poêle à bois, coin couchage, table, bancs et toilettes extérieures. N’oubliez pas de réserver la cabane Cairns cet hiver : reservation.pc.gc.ca  ou 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783)

Skate under the lights

8) Patiner sous les lumières

Patinez sous les lumières festives et parmi les arbres recouverts de neige derrière le centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada. Puis allumez ensuite un feu à l’intérieur de l’abri de pique-nique du centre d’accueil et faites-y griller quelques saucisses à hot-dog avant de retourner à la maison.


Northern Lights

9) Aurores boréales

Saviez-vous que les aurores boréales sont plus facilement observables de janvier à mars? Cet hiver, admirez ce phénomène naturel incroyable qui sera reflété sur la glace du lac Clear dans le parc national du Mont-Riding.


Test out a fat bike
© Austin Mackay
10) Essayer un vélo d’hiver

Cet hiver 2018, vous pouvez maintenant louer un vélo d’hiver dans le Parc national du Mont-Riding. Promenez-vous à vélo autour du lotissement urbain de Wasagaming ou sur des sentiers à proximité. Si vous avez votre propre vélo d’hiver, empruntez le sentier des Loupes-et-des-Célastres pour faire l’essai de ce nouveau type d’aventure sur roues.

Quelle est votre activité hivernale favorite dans le parc national du Mont-Riding? Avons-nous oublié quelque chose? Partagez avec nous vos photos et vos histoires sur Twitter et Facebook à l’aide du mot-clic #PNriding.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur nos activités ou dispositions d’hébergement, composez le 204 848-7272 ou envoyez un courriel à l’adresse : rmnp.info@pc.gc.ca.

Avant de partir, n’oubliez pas de lire nos conseils pour vous déplacer en toute sécurité en hiver. Consultez le site Sécurité des visiteurs en hiver