This year is your time to connect! Grab a friend, go for a walk then relax and snap a selfie on one of Yoho National Park’s Red Chairs. Parks Canada has placed two sets of red Adirondack chairs at scenic locations in Yoho National Park. While some chairs are easy to find, others require more of an adventure. Each location offers views of exquisite views of nearby mountains, rivers or lakes.

Where to go | When to go | General information | Social media | Trail report


Where to go

Two men enjoy the Red Chairs at Takakkaw Falls Soaking in the view at Takakkaw Falls.

Located near Takakkaw Falls and Yoho Lake, Yoho National Park’s Red Chairs are a great place to enjoy the view. Relax and listen to the sound of water as it thunders over one of Canada’s tallest waterfalls at Takakkaw Falls. Hike a moderate 4 km trail then enjoy the mountain view from alongside the turquoise blue Yoho Lake. 

Takakkaw Falls 

  • Trailhead: Takakkaw Falls parking lot 
  • Location: a few metres east of the pedestrian bridge to the falls 
  • N51º29.751 W116º28.807 

Yoho Lake

  • Trailhead: Takakkaw Falls parking lot or HI-Yoho National Park Whiskey Jack Hostel 
  • Location: 4 km, 295 metres elevation gain 
  • Coordinates to come

When to go

The Yoho Valley Road is open from late June until mid-October. Until late June, many backcountry locations, such as Yoho Lake, are still snow-bound and may be subject to avalanche hazard. July through mid-October is the best time of year to get out and #sharethechair!

General information

Where did the Red Chair idea come from?

A few years ago, our friends at Gros Morne National Park installed 18 sets of chairs around their park. Visitors have been seeking them out and sharing their chair adventures ever since. The program is now growing to include a number of other national parks and national historic sites across Canada including YohoBanffJasper and Kootenay national parks.

Share the chair! 

Connect with friends, family and nature in Yoho National Park. Get out and discover your red chair experience. Don’t forget to snap a photo and #sharethechair on Facebook or Twitter.

Cette année, profitez-en pour vous rapprocher! Partez en promenade avec un ami, détendez-vous et prenez un égoportrait confortablement assis dans l’une des chaises rouges du parc national Yoho. Parcs Canada a installé deux ensembles de fauteuils Adirondack rouges dans des secteurs emblématiques du parc. Certaines chaises sont faciles à repérer, alors que d’autres sont nichées dans des endroits un peu plus isolés. Chaque ensemble de chaises vous offre des vues splendides sur les montagnes, les rivières et les lacs environnants.

Où aller? | Quand profiter des chaises rouges? | Renseignements généraux 
Médias sociaux | Rapport sur l’état des sentiers


Où aller? 

Two men enjoy the Red Chairs at Takakkaw Falls La vue qui s’offre depuis les chaise rouges aux chutes Takakkaw.

Situées près des chutes Takakkaw et du lac Yoho, les chaises rouges du parc national Yoho vous invitent à vous attarder pour admirer le paysage. Détendez vous et écoutez le bruit de tonnerre des chutes Takakkaw, l’une des cascades les plus hautes du pays. Parcourez un sentier de 4 km de difficulté modérée pour profiter de la vue sur les montagnes tout près des eaux turquoise du lac Yoho. 

Chutes Takakkaw

  • Point de départ du sentier : Terrain de stationnement des chutes Takakkaw 
  • Lieu : À quelques mètres à l’est de la passerelle menant aux chutes 
  • N51º29,751 O116º28,807 

Lac Yoho 

  • Point de départ du sentier : Terrain de stationnement des chutes Takakkaw ou auberge Whiskey Jack Hostel (HI et parc national Yoho) 
  • Lieu : À 4 km du point de départ, gain d’altitude de 295 m 
  • Coordonnées à venir

Quand profiter des chaises rouges?

La route de la Vallée-de-la-Yoho est ouverte de la fin de juin à la mi-octobre. Jusqu’à la fin de juin, de nombreuses attractions naturelles de l’arrière-pays, telles que le lac Yoho, sont encore endormies sous la neige et pourraient présenter un risque d’avalanche. La meilleure période pour sortir au grand air et faire l’expérience des chaises rouges s’étend donc de juillet à la mi-octobre.

Renseignements généraux

Où l’idée des chaises rouges est-elle née?

Il y a quelques années, nos amis de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont installé 18 ensembles de chaises un peu partout dans le parc national du Gros-Morne. Depuis, les visiteurs les cherchent et en diffusent des photos sur le Web! Le programme a pris de l’expansion pour englober plusieurs parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux du pays, dont les parcs Yoho, BanffJasper et Kootenay.

Partagez la chaise!

Rapprochez-vous de vos amis, de votre famille et de la nature dans le parc national Yoho. Profitez des grands espaces et vivez votre propre expérience des chaises rouges. N’oubliez pas : prenez une photo et #PartagezLaChaise sur Facebook ou sur Twitter.