Steeped in Nuu-chah-nulth culture dating back thousands of years, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is your gateway to the rugged west coast of Vancouver Island. Activities range from a one-hour interpretive walk to the hike of a lifetime along the legendary West Coast Trail. Try surfing, Canadian style, explore tidal pools teeming with sea life or enjoy a tranquil paddle among the emerald waters of the Broken Group Islands.

Commercial activities

Guided activities and tours are available in all units of the park by licensed commercial operators. Park business licenses require operators to follow environmental best practices and meet accepted safety standards. Click here for the complete list of approved services and operators.

Accommodation options and other services are found adjacent to the park in the villages. For more information, contact the Chambers of Commerce.

Kayaking or canoeing with custodial groups*

Interim restrictions have been implemented for custodial groups kayaking or canoeing in Pacific Rim's marine waters. Please contact the park prior to arrival for information and appropriate permits.

*A custodial group means a group affiliated with an institution, where at least one person is below the age of majority and a minor is unaccompanied by his/her parent or guardian.

Prohibited activities

The Canada National Parks Act ensures that everything in our national parks, from the smallest tide pool creature to the largest tree, receives protection. Park regulations assist with preserving visitor enjoyment and safety as well as protecting the natural and cultural resources in the park. The following activities are prohibited in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve:

  • Collecting natural (e.g., wildflowers, rocks, mushrooms, berries) or cultural objects (e,g., First Nation or early settlers artifacts)
  • Hunting
  • Motorized off-road travelling
  • Paragliding
  • Parachuting
  • Use of personal watercraft, (e.g., Sea Doos, Jet Skis, etc.) or water skiing equipment
  • Kite flying in the Long Beach North and Incinerator beaches (along the airport approach way)
  • Activities involving aircraft, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs, or drones) except with a Restricted Activity Permit

Featured

  • Two hikers walking along the beach with lighthouse in background on the West Coast Trail.

    ​Take the hike of a lifetime: West Coast Trail

    On the bucket list of any serious hiker, the 75-kilometre West Coast Trail follows the one-time survival route of unlucky shipwreck victims through old-growth forests, past wide-open beaches and across suspension bridges spanning rivers and streams.

  • Two young men carrying surf boards along a road with the rainforest in the background.

    ​Catch a wave: West Coast surfing at Pacific Rim

    For a once-in-a-lifetime surfing experience, leave the bikinis and board shorts behind and suit up in neoprene to catch some waves off Canada’s west coast. Beaches offer year-round surfing for beginners and experts alike.

  • Tseshaht Beach keeper drawing a whale in the sand in the Broken Group Islands for two visitors.

    Immerse yourself in Nuu-chah-nulth culture

    Make your visit to Pacific Rim National Park Reserve the cultural experience of a lifetime with interpretive walks, storytelling and interactive displays hosted by park partners, the Nuu-chah-nulth people, who have lived here for centuries.

All activities

Reflet de la culture nuu-chah-nulth remontant à plusieurs milliers d'années, la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim est le moyen idéal de découvrir la côte ouest escarpée de l'île de Vancouver. Vous pourrez profiter de diverses activités, notamment d'une promenade d'interprétation d'une heure et d'une randonnée inoubliable sur le sentier légendaire de la Côte-Ouest. Venez surfer à la canadienne, explorer les bassins creusés par la mer grouillant de vie marine, ou naviguer paisiblement sur les flots d'un vert émeraude de l'archipel Broken Group.

Activités commerciales

Des activités et des excursions guidées sont offertes par des exploitants commerciaux autorisés dans tous les secteurs du parc. Pour obtenir un permis d'exploitation commerciale dans le parc, les exploitants doivent respecter des pratiques environnementales exemplaires et les normes de sécurité reconnues. Cliquez ici pour voir la iste complète des services et exploitants approuvés.

On trouve divers types d’hébergement et d’autres services dans les villages à côté du parc. Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec les chambres de commerce.

Kayak ou canot avec des groupes encadrés*

Des restrictions provisoires ont été mises en place pour les groupes de jeunes encadrés par un adulte* qui font du kayak ou du canot en mer à la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. Pour en savoir plus et pour obtenir les permis appropriés, veuillez communiquer avec nous avant votre arrivée.

*Les groupes encadrés par un adulte sont affiliés à un établissement ou à un organisme et comprennent au moins une personne mineure n’étant pas accompagnée par un parent ou un tuteur. 

Activités interdites

La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada veille à ce que tout ce qui se trouve dans nos parcs nationaux, de la plus petite créature de bâche au plus grand arbre, soit protégé. Le règlement du parc aide à assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et à protéger les ressources naturelles et culturelles du parc. Les activités suivantes sont interdites dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim : 

  • Collecte d’objets naturels (p. ex., fleurs, roches, champignons, petits fruits) ou culturels (p. ex., artefacts des Premières Nations ou des colons de la première heure)
  • Chasse
  • Déplacements par véhicule automobile hors route
  • Parapente
  • Parachute
  • Utilisation de motomarine (p. ex., Sea Doo, Jet Ski, etc.) ou d’équipement de ski nautique
  • Cerf-volant sur les plages Long nord et Incinerator (approche de l’aéroport)
  • Activités impliquant un aéronef, y compris les véhicules aériens sans pilote (UAV, ou drones), sauf avec un permis d’activité restreinte

En vedette

  • Deux randonneurs marchant le long de la plage sur le Sentier de la Côte-Ouest avec le phare en arrière-plan.

    Le sentier de la Côte-Ouest

    Long de 75 km, le sentier de la Côte-Ouest suit celui autrefois emprunté par les victimes de naufrage, serpentant dans les anciennes forêts, longeant les grandes plages et traversant les ponts suspendus surplombant rivières et ruisseaux.

  • Deux jeunes hommes transportant des planches de surf le long d’une route avec la forêt pluviale en arrière-plan.

    ​Surfez sur la côte ouest dans la Pacific Rim

    Pour vivre une expérience de surf inoubliable, enfilez votre combinaison en néoprène pour venir flirter avec les vagues de la côte ouest canadienne. Que vous soyez débutant ou chevronné, vous pouvez surfer toute l'année sur les plages du parc.

  • Gardien de la plage Tsehaht, dans l’archipel Broken Group, dessinant une baleine dans le sable pour deux visiteurs.

    Plongez au cœur de la culture des Premières Nations Nuu-chah-nulth

    Vivez une expérience culturelle inoubliable dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim en participant aux activités offertes par les partenaires du parc, le peuple nuu-chah-nulth : promenades d'interprétations, récits et expositions interactives.

Toutes les activités