From grasslands to glaciers, panoramic mountain vistas to narrow canyons, Kootenay National Park is a land of unique juxtapositions. Every twist and turn along the 94-kilometre highway from the Alberta border to the tranquil village of Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia, offers a new surprise.

Short trails lead to natural treasures such as the Paint Pots, where Indigenous peoples collected naturally occurring pigments from sacred ochre-beds, and Numa Falls, where the Vermilion River carves a path between glistening black rock walls. Adventurous hikers have their choice of backcountry campgrounds as they trek the 55-kilometre Rockwall Trail, while families can enjoy some modern comforts at Redstreak Campground or take a relaxing soak in the steaming hot springs.

In summer, brilliant fields of fuchsia fireweed mark where naturally occurring wildfires once raged. These sites provide important habitat for bears, lynx and moose and offer visitors a vivid snapshot of the forest’s regeneration process.

Dans le parc national Kootenay, prairies et glaciers, panoramas et canyons étroits se mêlent de façon inattendue. À chaque virage, la route de 94 km qui longe la frontière de l’Alberta jusqu’au paisible village de Radium Hot Springs, en Colombie-Britannique, réserve une nouvelle surprise.

Promenez-vous dans les courts sentiers qui mènent à des trésors naturels comme les Paint Pots, des lits d’ocre sacrés dans lesquels les Autochtones récoltaient des pigments, ou les chutes Numa, où la rivière Vermilion sculpte la roche pour se frayer un passage entre les parois noires et luisantes du canyon. Si vous êtes un randonneur aventureux, vous choisirez peut-être l’un des emplacements de camping d’arrière-pays qui bordent le sentier de 55 km de la Paroi-Rocheuse. En famille, profitez des commodités modernes qu’offre le terrain de camping Redstreak ou prélassez-vous dans les sources thermales.

L’été, admirez les champs d’épilobes aux vives couleurs fuchsia à l’endroit même où des feux de forêt ont autrefois fait rage. Ces milieux offrent un habitat essentiel aux ours, aux lynx et aux orignaux. Venez percer le secret du processus de régénération des forêts.