This year is your time to connect! Grab a friend, go for a walk then relax and snap a selfie on one of Kootenay National Park’s Red Chairs. Parks Canada has placed two sets of red Muskoka chairs at scenic locations in Kootenay National Park. While some chairs are easy to find, others require more of an adventure. Each location offers views of exquisite views of nearby mountains, rivers or lakes.

Where to go | When to go | General information | Social media | Trail report


Where to go 

Two friends enjoy the view Soaking in the view from the red chairs.

Kootenay National Park’s Red Chairs are a great place to enjoy the view. Relax in a landscape shaped by fire and erosion as you admire the turquoise, glacial waters and startling canyon walls of Marble Canyon. Watch for sheep as you walk up the Juniper Trails across the Radium Hot Springs pools to take in the view from this newly reclaimed area. 

Marble Canyon: 

  • Trailhead: 86km North of the village of Radium Hot Springs, or 17km South of Castle Junction, on the Banff Windermere Parkway/Hwy 93S 
  • Location: Follow the trail for 0.7km to the 4th bridge. 
  • N51º11.396 W116º07.599 

Radium Hot Pools (Juniper Trail): 

  • Trailhead: Across the Banff Windermere Parkway (93S) from the Radium Hot Springs Pools 
  • Location: 350m up the trail 
  • N50º38.140 W116º02.452

When to go

The Kootenay National Park Red Chairs are accessible all year. In the winter, be sure to wear appropriate footwear, as the trails are not maintained.

General information

Where did the Red Chair idea come from?

A few years ago, our friends at Gros Morne National Park installed 18 sets of chairs around their park. Visitors have been seeking them out and sharing their chair adventures ever since. The program is now growing to include a number of other national parks and national historic sites across Canada including Kootenay, BanffJasper and Yoho national parks.

Share the chair!

Connect with friends, family and nature in Kootenay National Park. Get out and discover your red chair experience. Don’t forget to snap a photo and #sharethechair on Facebook or Twitter.

Cette année, profitez-en pour vous rapprocher! Partez en promenade avec un ami, détendez-vous et prenez un égoportrait confortablement assis dans l’une des chaises rouges du parc national Kootenay. Parcs Canada a installé deux ensembles de fauteuils Adirondack rouges dans des secteurs emblématiques du parc. Certaines chaises sont faciles à repérer, alors que d’autres sont nichées dans des endroits un peu plus isolés. Chaque ensemble de chaises vous offre des vues splendides sur les montagnes, les rivières et les lacs environnants.

Où aller? | Quand profiter des chaises rouges? | Renseignements généraux | Médias sociaux | Rapport sur l’état des sentiers


Où aller? 

Two friends enjoy the view La vue qui s’offre depuis les chaises rouges.

Les chaises rouges du parc national Kootenay sont un excellent prétexte pour s’arrêter et profiter des panoramas. Détendez-vous dans un décor façonné par le feu et l’érosion tout en admirant les eaux glaciaires turquoise et les impressionnantes parois du canyon Marble. Guettez les mouflons en parcourant le sentier des Genévriers, tout près des piscines des sources thermales Radium Hot Springs, et profitez de la vue depuis ce secteur nouvellement ramené à son état d’origine. 

Canyon Marble 

  • Point de départ du sentier : À 86 km au nord du village de Radium Hot Springs ou à 17 km au sud de Castle Junction, sur la promenade Banff Windermere/route 93 Sud 
  • Lieu : Suivez le sentier sur 0,7 km jusqu’au quatrième pont. 
  • N51º11,396 O116º07,599 

Piscines des sources thermales Radium Hot Springs (sentier des Genévriers) 

  • Point de départ du sentier : En face des piscines des sources thermales Radium Hot Springs, de l’autre côté de la promenade Banff Windermere (route 93 Sud) 
  • Lieu : À 350 m du point de départ du sentier 
  • N50º38,140 O116º02,452

Quand profiter des chaises rouges? 

Les chaises rouges du parc national Kootenay sont accessibles à longueur d’année. En hiver, il faut porter des chaussures appropriées, car les sentiers ne sont pas entretenus.

Renseignements généraux 

Où l’idée des chaises rouges est-elle née?

Il y a quelques années, nos amis de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont installé 18 ensembles de chaises un peu partout dans le parc national du Gros-Morne. Depuis, les visiteurs les cherchent et en diffusent des photos sur le Web! Le programme a pris de l’expansion pour englober plusieurs parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux du pays, dont les parcs Kootenay, BanffJasper et Yoho.

Partagez la chaise! 

Rapprochez-vous de vos amis, de votre famille et de la nature dans le parc national Kootenay. Profitez des grands espaces et vivez votre propre expérience des chaises rouges. N’oubliez pas : prenez une photo et #PartagezLaChaise sur Facebook ou sur Twitter.