When visiting Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, you are in an area where rescue services and medical assistance may take time to reach you in case of an emergency. Ensure that you have the level of training and experience necessary to take responsibility for your safety and the safety of your group.

For general information on how to stay safe when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

Safety is everyone’s responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor center to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

  • Police, Fire, Ambulance: CALL 911 (indicate that you are calling from Canada)
  • Park Offenses or Emergencies: 1-877-852-3100
  • Marine Distress VHF: Channel 16

NOTE: Carry a marine radio if you are planning activities on the water.

Cell phones may not work at all locations in the park due to a variety of environmental factors and your provider’s coverage area. Check with your cell plan provider regarding your coverage. You may pick up a US-based service at some locations. So ensure that 911 operators know you are calling from Canada.

En cas d’urgence, les services de sauvetage et les secours médicaux pourraient mettre du temps à arriver dans la réserve de parc national des Îles Gulf. Assurez-vous que vous possédez le niveau de formation et d’expérience nécessaire pour assumer la responsabilité de votre sécurité.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la façon de rester en sécurité pendant que vous vous amusez à l’extérieur, consultez le site adventuresmart.ca.

La sécurité est l’affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d’efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d’obtenir l’information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d’accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l’information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d’une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d’entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

  • Police, pompiers, ambulance : FAITES LE 911 (précisez que vous appelez du Canada)
  • Infractions dans le parc ou urgences : 1-877-852-3100
  • Communications maritimes de détresse (VHF) : Voie 16

REMARQUE : Conservez une radio maritime à portée de la main si vous planifiez des activités nautiques.

En raison de divers facteurs environnementaux, votre téléphone cellulaire risque de ne pas fonctionner partout dans le parc. Consultez votre fournisseur pour connaître votre zone de couverture. Dans certains secteurs, il se peut que vous entriez en contact avec un service américain. Faites savoir aux standardistes du service 911 que vous appelez du Canada.