Get involved | Volunteer | Past discoveries | Other Bioblitz eventsPartners

What will YOU discover?

Children explore the shoreline of Sidney Island with dip nets.

Want to connect with nature? Want to get your kids outside? Take part in the third annual Parks Canada BioBlitz at Gulf Islands National Park Reserve! This year’s event takes place on the Pender Islands.

During the Bioblitz, you and your friends and family team up with scientists to find as many species as possible within the national park reserve, over a 24-hour period. Discover and learn about nature and support its protection at one of Parks Canada’s special places.

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve BioBlitz 2017

When: June 9 & 10, 2017

Where: North Pender Island and South Pender Island (camping will be available)

Registration: BioBlitz2017GulfIslands.eventbrite.ca


Get involved

A woman and a child examine sea creatures at a touch tank.

Join drop-in activities

Join the drop-in activities and plan an afternoon of fun that works with your family’s schedule. Or pack your camping gear and make it into a weekend of adventure. Lots of hands-on activities and opportunities to see and learn about wild creatures up close.

Participate in a survey

Participate in a species survey with a scientist-led team. Help Gulf Islands National Park Reserve find and identify plants and animals. Add to the species inventory, or make new discoveries!


Volunteer

Bioblitz volunteers photograph species for iNaturalist, an app used to track the species observations.

Volunteer as a Survey Leader

Are you a professional scientist or naturalist with a high level of knowledge of a taxonomic group? Parks Canada needs you to lead species survey groups and educate the public about biodiversity. Your efforts will contribute to the protection of Parks Canada’s heritage places.

Volunteer as a Survey Assistant

 Are you an interpreter, naturalist or student specialist with outdoor education experience or an intermediate knowledge of a taxonomic group? Parks Canada needs you to assist survey leaders and the public on species surveys and possibly lead family activities. Deepen your knowledge by working with experts and share your enthusiasm by interacting with the public.

Volunteer as an Event Photographer

 Are you a professional or amateur photographer? Parks Canada needs volunteers to capture the essence of a BioBlitz. Share your creativity and skills with the world and spread the word about the importance of biodiversity.


Record your discoveries with the iNaturalist app

A person takes a photo of algae with a smartphone.

Parks Canada has been working with partners to support the development of iNaturalist.ca, a bilingual, interactive online record of the amazing variety of life in our country. Anyone in the world can explore the photos, make species identifications or add comments on the website. The result is an exciting network of scientists and the public, creating data to support conservation decisions.

Visit iNaturalist.ca to sign up and download the smartphone app!

Past discoveries

See how past participants identified and discovered plants, animals, and more!


Want MORE Parks Canada BioBlitz action?

Girl with banana slug on her hand, holding up an iPhone photo of the slug

BioBlitz in the Meadow
Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm, Saturday, May 13, 2017

West Coast Quest
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve
Noon Saturday, May 20, 2017 to noon Sunday, May 21, 2017

Or visit: pc.gc.ca/eng/apprend-learn/bioblitz.aspx


Partners

This Parks Canada BioBlitz Event is proudly presented by:

 
This Parks Canada BioBlitz Event is proudly supported by:

INaturalist
www.iNaturalist.ca

Marine Life Sanctuaries Society
mlssbc.com

Pender Island Field Naturalists
pendernaturalists.ca

Victoria Natural History Society
www.vicnhs.bc.ca

Impliquez-vous | Bénévolat | Découvertes antérieures | Autres événements BioBlitz | Partenaires

Et VOUS, que découvrirez-vous?

Munis d’épuisettes, des enfants explorent le littoral de l’île Sidney

Vous voulez vous rapprocher de la nature? Vous voulez amener vos enfants à explorer les grands espaces? Prenez part au troisième relevé BioBlitz annuel de Parcs Canada dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf! L’activité de cette année a lieu aux îles Pender.

Dans le cadre du BioBlitz, vos amis, votre famille et vous-même ferez équipe avec des scientifiques pour trouver le plus grand nombre possible d’espèces dans la réserve de parc national pendant une période de 24 heures. Rapprochez-vous de la nature et contribuez à sa protection dans une aire protégée de Parcs Canada.

Relevé BioBlitz 2017 dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf

Dates : Les 9 et 10 juin 2017

Lieu : Île Pender Nord et île Pender Sud (les participants pourront faire du camping)

Inscrivez-vous aujourd'hui : bioblitz2017ilesgulf.eventbrite.ca

 

Impliquez-vous

Une femme et un bambin examinent des animaux marins dans un bassin de manipulation.

Joignez-vous aux activités sans inscription

Participez aux activités qui ne nécessitent aucune inscription et planifiez un après-midi de plaisir qui cadre avec l’horaire de votre famille. Ou apportez votre équipement de camping et faites-en une fin de semaine d’aventure. Tout un éventail d’activités pratiques et de possibilités de découvrir et d’observer de près des créatures sauvages.

Participez à un relevé

Prenez part à un relevé d’espèces avec une équipe dirigée par un scientifique. Aidez la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf à repérer et à identifier une gamme variée de plantes et d’animaux. Faites de nouvelles découvertes et allongez la liste des espèces recensées!


Bénévolat

Des bénévoles du Bioblitz photographient différentes espèces pour iNaturalist, une application servant à enregistrer les espèces observées.

Faites du bénévolat comme chef des relevés

 Êtes-vous un naturaliste ou un scientifique professionnel? Possédez-vous une connaissance approfondie d’un groupe taxonomique? Parcs Canada a besoin de vous! Venez diriger des relevés d’espèces et sensibiliser le public à la biodiversité. Par vos efforts, vous contribuerez à la protection des aires patrimoniales de Parcs Canada.

Faites du bénévolat comme adjoint aux relevés

 Vous êtes interprète, naturaliste ou stagiaire? Vous possédez de l’expérience dans l’apprentissage en plein air ou une assez bonne connaissance d’un groupe taxonomique? Parcs Canada a besoin de vous! Venez prêter main-forte aux chefs des relevés et aux membres du public pendant les relevés d’espèces et dirigez des activités familiales. Approfondissez vos connaissances en côtoyant des experts et communiquez votre enthousiasme en interagissant avec le public.

Faites du bénévolat comme photographe

 Êtes-vous un photographe professionnel ou amateur? Parcs Canada a besoin de bénévoles capables d’immortaliser l’essence d’une activité BioBlitz. Mettez à profit votre créativité et vos compétences et communiquez au monde l’importance de la biodiversité.


Enregistrez vos découvertes avec l’appli iNaturalist

Personne prenant une photo d’algues à l’aide d’un téléphone intelligent.

Parcs Canada travaille avec des partenaires pour appuyer le perfectionnement d’iNaturalist.ca, une application bilingue interactive qui vous permet de consigner en ligne l’étonnante diversité de la vie dans notre pays. Tous les internautes de la planète peuvent explorer les photos, identifier des espèces ou ajouter des commentaires sur le site Web. Le résultat? Un réseau dynamique de scientifiques et de simples citoyens qui créent des données utiles pour la prise de décisions sur la conservation.

Rendez-vous au site iNaturalist.ca pour vous inscrire et téléchargez l’appli sur votre téléphone intelligent!

Découvertes antérieures

Voici quelques découvertes effectuées antérieurement :


Vous voulez participer à d’AUTRES BioBlitz?

Fille avec une limace terrestre dans la main, tenant une photo de celle-ci sur son iPhone.

BioBlitz dans le pré
Lieu historique national du Canada Fort Rodd Hill
Le samedi 13 mai 2017 de 13 h à 16 h

Quête de la côte Ouest
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim
Du samedi 20 mai 2017 à midi au dimanche 21 mai 2017 à midi

Ou visitez le : pc.gc.ca/fra/apprend-learn/bioblitz.aspx


Partenaires

L'événement BioBlitz est présenté par :

 

L'événement BioBlitz est soutenu par :

INaturalist
www.iNaturalist.ca

Marine Life Sanctuaries Society
mlssbc.com (angl. seulement)

Pender Island Field Naturalists
pendernaturalists.ca (angl. seulement)

Victoria Natural History Society
www.vicnhs.bc.ca (angl. seulement)