Family-friendly hikes in Glacier National Park and the surrounding area lead visitors through valleys of towering trees and into alpine meadows offering breathtaking views.

Experience B.C.’s famous old-growth forests with a leisurely stroll around Hemlock Grove Boardwalk, a barrier-free trail that passes beneath soaring ancient hemlocks. Relax in the cool shade of the tall trees on a hot day or warm up in a log cabin on a cold day at Hemlock Grove Picnic Area.

Witness the transition from cedar-hemlock rainforest to subalpine spruce and fir, all within Glacier Park. Meeting of the Waters Trail takes you on a 30-minute loop that includes a bridge over the meeting point of Asulkan Brook and the Illecillewaet River.

If you prefer a taste of mountain trekking, Glacier Park’s 20-minute Rockgarden Trail will take you along a boardwalk, up rock staircases and through hillsides strewn with moss and lichen-covered boulders. The top of the trail offers a sweeping one-of-a-kind view of the Selkirk Mountain wilderness. (Wear appropriate footwear, and leave your pet behind.)

Des arbres extraordinaires !

 

Empruntez les sentiers de randonnée familiale du parc national des Glaciers, et laissez-vous mener à travers des vallées d’arbres géants et dans des prairies alpines qui vous en mettront plein la vue.

Venez découvrir les célèbres forêts anciennes de la Colombie-Britannique le long du trottoir de bois du sentier de la Prucheraie, un sentier accessible qui passe sous des pruches anciennes. La journée est très chaude ? Détendez-vous dans l’ombre fraîche de ces grands arbres. En saison froide, réchauffez-vous dans un chalet en bois rond, près de l'aire de pique-nique du sentier de la Prucheraie.

Admirez la forêt pluviale de cèdres et de pruches qui laisse place aux épinettes et aux sapins subalpins. Suivez le sentier de la Rencontre-des-Eaux, une boucle de 30 minutes qui traverse un pont à la jonction du ruisseau Asulkan et de la rivière Illecillewaet.

Vous préférez la marche en montagne ? Optez pour le sentier du Jardin-de-Rocailles. En 20 minutes, il vous emmènera le long d’une promenade en bois, vous fera monter des escaliers de roche, puis traverser des flancs de collines parsemés de mousse et de roches recouvertes de lichen. Au sommet, soyez ébloui par le panorama unique et sauvage de la chaîne Selkirk. (Portez des chaussures appropriées et n’emmenez pas votre animal de compagnie.)