This page is where you will find up-to-date information related to the Kenow fire. Please check back regularly.

Latest fire information update

Kenow Fire - Waterton Lakes National Park: September 23, 2017; 13:00

All areas within Waterton Lakes National Park except for the park Entrance Road and the Waterton townsite are closed. All events and activities in the national park are also on hold until further notice. All front-country and back-country areas (including trails and water access) are closed and are being assessed for safety hazards due to the on-going Kenow Fire. Highways 5 and 6 and the Entrance Road into the Waterton townsite are now open. There is no stopping at any scenic pull-outs along the Entrance Road at this time. All other roads in the park are closed to the public as we assess and action hazards that are a result of the Kenow Fire. Contact the Information Line (403-859-5109) for more information.


Updated map of the Kenow Fire as of September 23, 2017
Map of the Kenow Fire

We now estimate that the Kenow Fire covers an area of approximately 38,100 hectares

Frequently asked questions

Where is the fire?

The Kenow Fire firmly established itself in Waterton Lakes National Park on the afternoon of September 11. Adjacent municipalities were alerted that the fire was moving. The wildfire demonstrated extreme fire behaviour for many hours due to high winds and critically dry fuels.

Burning intensified and the fire moved northeast down the Cameron Valley along the Akamina Parkway. Later in the evening, fire became visible from the townsite and then on the north side of Crandell Mountain. The fire began to move north at a high rate of spread through the grasslands along the park’s Entrance Road. Overnight, the fire moved north out of the park and into adjacent lands.

The wildfire is still affecting many back-country and front-country areas in the park.

How large is the fire?

The fire is approximately 38,100 hectares in size.

When will the Kenow fire be extinguished?

The Kenow wildfire will only be extinguished with significant changes in weather and sustained precipitation. Parks Canada will continue to actively manage the fire, including direct and indirect suppression efforts.

How smokey is it?

Smoky conditions can vary daily. More information and air quality advisories can be found here:

How often is information updated?

Updates regarding the Kenow wildfire will be provided daily and as needed when there are significant changes. The most recent updates can be found here on this page.

Is Parks Canada prepared for other wildfires?

The safety of our crews, the public, infrastructure and neighbouring lands is Parks Canada’s top priority. Parks Canada’s initial attack crews remain prepared to detect and respond to wildfires throughout the region and will continue to take immediate action to extinguish any new wildfires.

What can visitors do to help?

Please check Drive BC and Alberta 511 before travelling, and report any wildfires, illegal campfires or suspicious smoke to Banff Dispatch at 403-762-4506.

Is there life after fire?

Fire recycles nutrient stored in live and dead vegetation by converting it into mineral-rich ash. After a fire, pine cones pop open from fire’s heat, releasing their seeds. New growth sprouts from the roots of burned shrubs. Flowers bloom and grasslands are reborn. Animals forage in the lush new growth. Over time, fires create a patchwork of burned and unburned vegetation. This diverse mix of habitats is favoured by wildlife and supports many species.

What other agencies are involved in this incident?

Parks Canada is working closely with wildfire and emergency management partners in the region in responding to the Kenow Fire, including:

  • Alberta Wildfire
  • Alberta Emergency Management Agency
  • Pincher Creek Emergency Services
  • Cardston County Emergency Services
  • RCMP
  • B.C. Wildfire Service
  • Calgary Fire Department
  • City of Lethbridge
  • Town of Coaldale
  • Town of Taber
  • Municipal District of Willow Creek

Area closures

  • The Evacuation Order has been lifted and the park has been re-opened to residents, leaseholders, business owners as well as members of the public, but with significantly reduced services. At this time, only the Entrance road, Chief Mountain Road, and the community of Waterton are open. All other roads and areas in the park remain closed for safety reasons. Due to the high intensity of the fire, there are a large number of danger trees, rock falls, and other hazards that remain throughout the park.
  • The Calgary Forest Protection Area south of Highway 532 is no longer under a forest area closure. For more information visit: http://srd.web.alberta.ca/calgary-area-update
Map of open and closed areas in Waterton Lakes National Park

The areas highlighted in green are open to the public and the areas in red are closed until further notice.

Air quality reports

Nearby wildfires are causing smoky conditions.

Check the current air quality statement for Crowsnest Pass, Pincher Creek and Waterton Lakes National Park.

Provincial governments are responsible for air quality reports. For air quality and air quality advisories:


Road reports

For current information about road closures, alternate routes and more, check:

Vous trouverez l’information la plus récente sur le feu de forêt Kenow sur cette page. Veuillez la consulter régulièrement.

Dernières nouvelles sur le feu

Feu du mont Kenow – parc national des Lacs-Waterton: septembre 23, 2017; 13:00

Tous les secteurs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton sont fermés, à l’exception de la route de l’entrée du parc et du village de Waterton. Aucun événement ni aucune activité n'aura lieu dans le parc national jusqu'à avis contraire. Tous les secteurs de l’avant-pays et de l’arrière-pays (sentiers et accès aux plans d’eau y compris) sont fermés. Ils font actuellement l’objet d’évaluations afin de repérer les dangers découlant du feu de Kenow qui fait toujours rage. Les routes 5 et 6 ainsi que la route de l’entrée du parc menant au village de Waterton sont maintenant ouvertes. Pour l’instant, il est interdit de s’arrêter aux points de vue ou belvédères le long de la route de l’entrée du parc. Toutes les autres routes du parc sont fermées aux visiteurs pendant que nous évaluons les dangers découlant du feu de Kenow et prenons les mesures qui s’imposent. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez appeler notre ligne d’information au 403-859-5109.


Carte à jour sur le feu du mont Kenow, 23 septembre
Carte du feu du mont Kenow

Nous estimons que le feu de Kenow s'étend maintenant sur environ 38,100 hectares

Foire aux questions

Où le feu brûle-t-il ?

Le feu du mont Kenow s’est établi fermement dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton pendant l’après-midi du 11 septembre. Les municipalités avoisinantes ont été alertées du fait que le feu était en mouvement. Plusieurs heures de vents forts et une végétation extrêmement sèche ont occasionné un comportement du feu d’une intensité extrême.

Le feu s’est intensifié et s’est déplacé vers le nord-est, dans la vallée Cameron, le long de la promenade Akamina. Plus tard en soirée, on pouvait apercevoir le feu du village de Waterton et du côté nord du mont Crandell. Le feu s’est propagé très rapidement à travers les prairies, le long de la route d’entrée du parc. Au cours de la nuit, le feu s’est déplacé vers le nord, à l’extérieur des limites du parc pour atteindre les terres avoisinantes.

Le feu de forêt touche toujours plusieurs secteurs du parc, tant en arrière-pays qu’en avant-pays.

Quelle est la superficie du feu du mont Kenow?

Le feu du mont Kenow s’étend sur environ 38 100 hectares.

Quand le feu du mont Kenow sera-t-il éteint?

Le feu du secteur du mont Kenow s’éteindra une fois que le temps aura changé et que des précipitations surviennent, et ce, de façon significative. Parcs Canada continuera de le combattre activement en effectuant des opérations de suppression directe.

Qu’en est-il de la fumée?

L’état de la fumée peut varier chaque jour. Voici les liens qui renvoient aux avis sur la qualité de l'air et à d’autres renseignements :

À quelle fréquence ces informations sont-elles mises à jour?

Des mises à jour sur la situation du feu du mont Kenow sont fournies chaque jour où selon l’évolution de la situation. Pour les dernières mises à jour : www.pc.gc.ca/waterton-feu-kenow

Dans quelle mesure est-ce que Parcs Canada est prêt à affronter ce feu?

La sécurité du grand public, de nos équipes, des infrastructures du parc et des terres avoisinantes constitue toujours la plus grande priorité de Parcs Canada. Les équipes d’attaque initiale de Parcs Canada sont prêtes à détecter et à combattre les feux de forêt dans la région. Elles continuent de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour éteindre tout nouveau feu de forêt qui pourrait se déclarer.

Comment les visiteurs peuvent-ils aider?

Les visiteurs sont tenus de respecter l’interdiction de faire du feu en vigueur. Veuillez consulter les sites Drive BC et Alberta 511 avant de partir en voyage et signaler les feux échappés, les feux de camp illégaux et la fumée suspecte au Service de répartition Banff en composant le 403-762-4506.

La vie peut-elle reprendre après un feu?

Le feu recycle les nutriments de la végétation vivante ou morte en les transformant en cendres riches en minéraux. Après un incendie, les cônes des conifères qui ont éclaté sous la chaleur libèrent leurs graines. Les racines des arbustes calcinés produisent de nouvelles pousses. Les fleurs s’ouvrent et la prairie renaît. Les animaux broutent les jeunes pousses fraîches. Au fil du temps, le feu crée une mosaïque de plantes brûlées et non brûlées. La faune privilégie ces habitats diversifiés, et de nombreuses espèces viennent y vivre.

Avec quelles autres organisations Parcs Canada collabore-t-elle?

Dans sa lutte contre le feu du mont Kenow, Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration plusieurs organisations régionales responsables de la gestion des urgences et des feux de forêts dont :

  • Alberta Wildfire
  • Alberta Emergency Management Agency
  • Les services d’urgences de de Pincher Creek
  • Les services d’urgences de Cardston County
  • La Gendarmerie royale du Canada
  • B.C. Wildfire Service
  • Le service d’incendie de la ville de Calgary
  • La Ville de Lethbridge
  • La municipalité de Coaldale
  • La municipalité deTaber
  • Municipal District of Willow Creek

Zones fermées

  • L’Ordre d’Évacuation a été levé et le parc a été rouvert aux résidents, locataires, propriétaires d’entreprises ainsi qu’au grand public,  mais avec des services considérablement réduits. À l’heure actuelle, seules la route d’entrée, la route Chief Mountain, et la communauté de Waterton sont ouverts au public. Pour des raisons de sécurité, toutes les autres routes ou secteurs du parc demeurent fermés. À cause de l’intensité élevée du feu, un grand nombre d’arbres dangereux, d’éboulements de roches et d’autres dangers demeurent dans le parc.
  • La zone forestière protégée de Calgary au sud de la route 532 n’est plus fermée. Pour de plus amples renseignements, rendez-vous à http://srd.web.alberta.ca/calgary-area-update (en anglais seulement).
Carte des secteurs ouverts et fermés du parc national des Lacs‑Waterton

Les secteurs indiqués en vert sont ouverts au grand public, tandis que ceux indiqués en rouge sont fermés jusqu’à avis contraire.

Rapports sur la qualité de l’air  

Les feux de forêt causent de la fumée.

Consulter le bulletin spécial sur la qualité de l'air en vigueur pour Crowsnest Pass, Pincher Creek et le Parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Les gouvernements provinciaux et Environnement Canada sont responsables des avis sur la qualité de l’air. Pour obtenir des renseignements et des avis sur la qualité de l’air :


Rapport sur l’état des routes

Pour obtenir l’information la plus récente sur les fermetures de route, les parcours de rechange et plus encore, veuillez consulter :