All areas within Waterton Lakes National Park except for the park Entrance Road and the Waterton townsite are closed. All events and activities in the national park are also on hold until further notice. All front-country and back-country areas (including trails and water access) are closed and are being assessed for safety hazards due to the on-going Kenow Fire. Highways 5 and 6 and the Entrance Road into the Waterton townsite are now open. There is no stopping at any scenic pull-outs along the Entrance Road at this time. All other roads in the park are closed to the public as we assess and action hazards that are a result of the Kenow Fire. Contact the Information Line (403-859-5109) for more information.

Waterton Lakes National Park is situated in the Rocky Mountains in the far southwest corner of Alberta. This is a dramatic landscape where peaks rise out of prairies. It is home to a string of clear glacial lakes, canyons, waterfalls and an incredible diversity of wildlife, from bighorn sheep to black bears, and wildflowers, including delicate purple lupins and mountain lady’s slipper.

The community of Waterton Park, a collection of shops, hotels and restaurants on the shores of Upper Waterton Lake, makes a popular base for exploration. From there, a network of scenic roads and trails reach into the mountainous surroundings, where exceptional hiking, wildlife watching and more awaits.

A range of hiking trails, including many shorter hikes, reveal both prairie and mountain landscapes. Abundant wildlife and wildflowers, epic scenery and easy access come together in this unique UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Tous les secteurs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton sont fermés, à l’exception de la route de l’entrée du parc et du village de Waterton. Aucun événement ni aucune activité n'aura lieu dans le parc national jusqu'à avis contraire. Tous les secteurs de l’avant-pays et de l’arrière-pays (sentiers et accès aux plans d’eau y compris) sont fermés. Ils font actuellement l’objet d’évaluations afin de repérer les dangers découlant du feu de Kenow qui fait toujours rage. Les routes 5 et 6 ainsi que la route de l’entrée du parc menant au village de Waterton sont maintenant ouvertes. Pour l’instant, il est interdit de s’arrêter aux points de vue ou belvédères le long de la route de l’entrée du parc. Toutes les autres routes du parc sont fermées aux visiteurs pendant que nous évaluons les dangers découlant du feu de Kenow et prenons les mesures qui s’imposent. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez appeler notre ligne d’information au 403-859-5109.

Visitez le parc national des Lacs-Waterton dans l'extrême sud-ouest de l'Alberta, là où les prairies cèdent la place aux sommets escarpés. Le parc est jalonné de lacs, de canyons et de cascades, et abrite une flore et une faune d'une incroyable diversité.

Avec un ensemble de boutiques, d'hôtels et de restaurants, le village de Waterton Park vous invite à la découverte. Situé sur le lac Waterton Supérieur, faites-en votre point de départ vers un réseau de routes et de sentiers pittoresques, où randonnées inoubliables et autres activités d'observation de la faune vous attendent.

Les sentiers sont nombreux et plusieurs sont de courte distance. Choisissez-en un et découvrez toute la beauté de la prairie et des montagnes. Dans ce site exceptionnel, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, vous y verrez une faune et une flore abondante dans un cadre inoubliable et facilement accessible.